Brand StoryItalytpl_newsletterTuscanyWine

班菲酒庄出品的蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗——托斯卡纳最佳风土的完美展现

说起品尝后便令人难以忘怀的葡萄酒,蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗当属其一。作为意大利最早的保证法定产区之一,托斯卡纳地区历史悠久,生产意大利最为著名和最受喜爱的葡萄酒之一。在世界上最经典的葡萄酒中,布鲁奈罗丰富的香气和口味、长期的陈酿潜力及精细的酿酒过程堪称一绝。

在托斯卡纳的葡萄酒生产商中,班菲酒庄以其多种多样的葡萄酒风格和卓越品质脱颖而出。无论您的预算多少或打算举办何种活动,班菲酒庄都会为您提供适合的葡萄酒。我们今天要重点介绍的是其充满风土特色的布鲁奈罗葡萄酒,展示出地域的丰富性及布鲁奈罗保证法定产区内不同土质的性能。

班菲酒庄简介

最初的班菲酒业成立于1919年,是美国最著名的进口商之一。Giovanni F. Mariani Sr.出生于美国,其在父亲早年去世后,便搬至意大利与家人团聚。Giovanni后来返回美国,创立了班菲酒业(Banfi Vintners),其两个儿子John和Harry Mariani与其共同经营家族生意。1978年,蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗保证法定产区成立的前两年,兄弟俩在托斯卡纳中心区建立了班菲酒庄,实现了自己回归本源的梦想。

作为家族企业,无论是班菲的葡萄园还是酿酒厂,质量和可持续发展都至关重要。酒庄目前的主人致力于严格遵循生态、道德和社会责任标准,以为子孙后代创造最佳发展条件。

蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗

至少从14世纪开始,蒙达奇诺便一直是葡萄酒生产中心,用当地的红葡萄酿造一种当地人称之为布鲁奈罗的红葡萄酒,该词来源于布鲁诺(布朗)。这种葡萄实际上是一种桑娇维塞葡萄,桑娇维塞在整个地区,甚至整个意大利都赫赫有名,基安蒂、布鲁奈罗、蒙达奇诺红葡萄酒及托斯卡纳地区的许多混酿红葡萄酒皆以桑娇维塞酿制而成。

蒙达奇诺的气候温暖干燥,十分有利于桑娇维塞的生产,因气候原因,病害减少,葡萄可完全自然成熟,进而软化此种葡萄品种中的单宁。该地区土壤类型丰富,包括石灰岩、粘土、片岩、火山土和泥灰土,因而造就了各种不同的地块和蒙达奇诺地区略有不同的风土地貌。对于不了解这一术语的人而言,风土(terroir )这一法语词汇仅代表葡萄酒的产地。然而,一个地区内的每个葡萄园都拥有自己的特性,即使两个葡萄园毗邻而建,其所生产的葡萄酒风格也略有不同。

布鲁奈罗葡萄酒的酿制过程耗时较久,葡萄皮需经过长时间的浸渍来充分萃取单宁和色泽,同时软化单宁,避免单宁过于强烈。布鲁奈罗葡萄酒需陈年5年才能上市,其中在橡木桶中至少2年,在瓶中需4个月以上。珍藏级布鲁奈罗则需陈年6年。

班菲酒庄极具风土特色的布鲁奈罗葡萄酒

班菲酒庄出品的蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗——托斯卡纳最佳风土的完美展现

虽然班菲生产多种不同的布鲁奈罗葡萄酒,但其中一些最受人青睐的产品皆来自单一园或该地区的特定区域。多年来,班菲酒庄与米兰大学展开合作,选择适应性最强的桑娇维塞品种和地理位置最佳的葡萄园,对这些布鲁奈罗特酿的发展历程进行研究。

班菲酒庄推出的蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗采用不同葡萄园的葡萄混酿而成,是布鲁奈罗葡萄酒的绝佳代表,而Poggio alle Mura和Poggio all’Oro特酿则展示出班菲庄园内特定区域之间可能存在的差异。

班菲酒庄山顶之城蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗葡萄酒

班菲酒庄出品的蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗——托斯卡纳最佳风土的完美展现

此款酒在大型和小型橡木桶中陈年2年,在发售前还需在瓶中进一步陈年。酿造此款葡萄酒的葡萄来自班菲酒庄(古称Poggio alle Mura城堡)周围的葡萄园。该名字意为“山顶要塞”,在班菲酒庄葡萄酒的标志中有所显示,展现出坐落于山顶之上的华丽要塞城堡俯瞰周围乡村的美好画面。

此款葡萄酒呈现明亮的宝石红色,散发红李、烟草、黑甘草、香草、草本的芬芳,略带焦糖风味,在小橡木桶中酿制而成。具有新鲜红色水果、红李、肉桂和烘焙香料的绝佳风味。本人之前品尝过2015年份的Poggio alle Mura,当年整个欧洲气候都很暖和,其口感令人惊艳,但仍需进行长期陈年。单宁紧致,但当葡萄酒开启后,单宁便开始软化,酸度清新。让此款酒在瓶中继续陈年5年,其口感便会趋于丝滑、柔顺、芳香,酒体饱满且结构优雅。

布鲁奈罗可与牛排完美搭配,尤其是经典托斯卡纳菜肴佛罗伦斯大牛排( Bistecca alla Fiorentina)。此种搭配固然完美,但并不是唯一选择。就个人而言,本人钟爱布鲁奈罗与野猪肉或鹿肉的搭配。布鲁奈罗所带有的略显年代感的薄荷及草本芬芳,可与野味及佐以番茄或番茄酱的菜肴完美搭配。肥美的肉质可有助于软化布鲁奈罗中强烈的单宁,并展示出其丰富的层次。

可持续的葡萄酒生产

对于班菲酒庄而言,其葡萄园的卓越品质还体现于可持续农业和酿酒方法的使用,对土地生物多样性的保护,以及循环用水。为了在葡萄酒中彰显这片土地的自然特征,班菲酒庄致力于减少合成农药和化肥的用量,竭尽全力推崇环保理念。班菲庄园中只有三分之一的土地用于种植葡萄,剩余土地都用于种植橄榄、李子、小麦和松露,或者留作大面积的草地,供鹿、野猪和野鸡栖息生长。此种动植物群的多样性可避免土壤养分流失,并有助于减少森林砍伐造成的温室效应。

同时,班菲庄园致力于未来的葡萄酒生产发展,已建立两个实验葡萄园。通过这些地块来探索气候变化对葡萄树和葡萄生产正在产生及持续产生的影响,以便顺利迎接我们的星球和生长环境未来将遭遇的变化。在如今这个不断发展的世界中,各大酿酒商也在不断寻求可持续环保生产的方法,班菲庄园乐于将其研究成果与世界各地的葡萄园进行分享。

深入探索

班菲酒庄出品的蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗——托斯卡纳最佳风土的完美展现

如果您对班菲庄园深感兴趣,可对其出产的其他葡萄酒进行深入探索。班菲庄园还生产其他几款托斯卡纳葡萄酒,如由赤霞珠和品丽珠酿制的基安蒂经典和超级托斯卡纳混酿葡萄酒阿斯卡,以及由桑娇维塞、美乐和赤霞珠混酿而成的仙庭。这些葡萄酒可让您更深入了解托斯卡纳地区的各个不同产区和各种葡萄品种,从而了解托斯卡纳的丰富多样性。

一般而言,托斯卡纳红葡萄酒同样是佐餐的绝佳选择,其酸度较高,带有泥土味,风味极佳。红肉与野味可与该类葡萄酒完美搭配,尤其是牛肉、野猪肉、鹿肉和野鸡肉。佐以番茄酱和意大利香草的菜肴同样可彰显出布鲁奈罗、基安蒂和托斯卡纳混酿葡萄酒中的红色水果及干香草风味。

班菲酒庄出品的蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗——托斯卡纳最佳风土的完美展现

此外,班菲酒庄在意大利北部的皮埃蒙特地区也生产葡萄酒。皮埃蒙特班菲酒庄采用皮埃蒙特葡萄酿造了多种葡萄酒,包括由布拉凯多酿造的桃红起泡酒Rosa Regale,以及经典阿奎多姿桃(Dolcetto d ‘Acqui)和阿斯蒂的巴贝拉(Barbera d ‘Asti)红葡萄酒,以及嘉维白葡萄酒。班菲酒庄因其对葡萄酒生产品质和细节的重视已在意大利北方声名鹊起,其皮埃蒙特葡萄酒拥有与托斯卡纳葡萄酒同样的卓越品质。

Rosa Regale尤其适合假日聚会,如宾客尤其钟爱红葡萄酒,其可作为香槟或普罗塞克的替代选择。此款微微起泡的半甜型葡萄酒可与甜点完美搭配,尤其是红色水果和黑巧克力甜点,与开胃菜搭配也是不错的选择。尽管布拉凯多是我最喜爱的葡萄之一,但近年来其已不再受欢迎,如今其重回餐桌,班菲酒庄可谓功不可没。

结语

班菲庄园秉承托斯卡纳葡萄酒生产的优良传统,并对品质和高标准予以高度重视,令整个皮埃蒙特庄园受益匪浅。该酒庄一如既往地追求可持续生产,酿造展现其独特风土特色的葡萄酒佳品。通过布鲁奈罗及其他高端葡萄酒款,对班菲庄园的葡萄酒进行了解,感受意大利葡萄酒酿造的最佳品质!

Cedar Stoltenow

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

相关文章

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
接收最新消息

订阅我们的时事通讯

注册即可获得最新的葡萄酒新闻和小窍门,以及特别优惠和大师课程邀请。

Brand StoryItalytpl_newsletterTuscanyWine

Banfi’s Terroir-driven Brunello di Montalcino Showcases the Best of Tuscany

Brunello di Montalcino is one of those wines that you remember forever. As one of the very first DOCGs in Italy, this region of Tuscany has historic significance, and produces one of the best known and most loved Italian wines of all time. Among the classic wines of the world, Brunello definitely deserves to be recognized for its complex aromas and flavors, long ageing potential, and intricate winemaking process.

Among Tuscan wine producers, Banfi stands out for its range of wine styles and the excellent quality of its wines across different price points. Whatever your budget or type of event, Banfi has a wine for you. Our focus here though will be specifically on their terroir-driven, Brunellos, which showcase the richness of the area and the capabilities of different sites within the Brunello DOCG.

Intro to Banfi

The original Banfi Vintners was founded in 1919, and was one of the most prominent importers in the United States. Giovanni F. Mariani Sr. was born in the US but moved to Italy to stay with family following the death of his father at an early age. Giovanni would later return to the US to found Banfi Vintners, and his two sons, John and Harry Mariani joined him in running the family business. In 1978, just two years prior to the establishment of the Brunello di Montalcino DOCG, the brothers realized their dream of returning to their roots by founding Banfi in the heart of Tuscany.

As a family company, quality and sustainability are very important to Banfi, in both their vineyards and their winery. The current owners strive to maintain rigorous standards of ecological, ethical, and social responsibility, to ensure that they leave things in the best condition possible for future generations.

Brunello di Montalcino

Montalcino has been a center of wine production since at least the 14th century, making red wines from the local red grape, locally called Brunello, derived from the word Bruno (brown). This grape is actually a form of the Sangiovese grape, well known throughout the region, and indeed all of Italy, for Chianti, Brunello, Rosso di Montalcino, and many of the Tuscan region’s red blends.

Montalcino’s warm and dry climate lends itself perfectly to Sangiovese production, as the climate reduces disease pressure and brings the grapes to full ripeness levels, which are necessary to avoid harsh tannins in this grape varietal. The region has a complex mix of soils, including limestone, clay, schist, volcanic soil, and marl, which provides a variety of different plots and slightly different terroirs within Montalcino. For those of you who are not familiar with the term, terroir is a French word expressing the idea that wine reflects the place from which it came. Each vineyard within a region will have its own properties and produce a slightly different style of wine than even the vineyard right next door.

The winemaking process for Brunello takes time, as the wine spends extended time on the skin to extract tannin and color, as well as help to soften the tannins, which can be too aggressive otherwise. Brunello also requires significant ageing before it can be released – 5 years is mandatory before release, including at least 2 years in oak and 4 months in bottle. A Brunello Riserva will require 6 years of ageing.

Banfi’s Terroir-driven Brunello Wines

Banfi Brunello Di Montalcino Castello Banfi

While Banfi makes several different Brunello wines, some of their most interesting offerings come from single-vineyards or specific zones within the region. Many years of research have gone into the development of these special Brunello cuvées, as Castello Banfi worked with the University of Milan to select the most adapted Sangiovese clones and the best vineyard sites with which to produce these wines. 

Castello Banfi Brunello di Montalcino offers a good introduction to Brunello, using a blend of grapes from different vineyard site, while the Poggio alle Mura and Poggio all’Oro cuvées will give you a look at the variation possible between specific sites within the Banfi estate.

Castello Banfi Poggio alle Mura Brunello di Montalcino

Banfi Poggio Alle Mura Brunello Di Montalcino

The Poggio alle Mura cuvée itself is aged 2 years in oak, a combination of large and small barrels, with further ageing in bottle before release. The grapes that go into this wine come from the vineyards surrounding the castle of Poggio alle Mura, the historic name for Castello Banfi. The name refers to a “fortified hilltop”, which you can see in the logo on Banfi’s wines, depicting a gorgeous fortified castle set on top of a hill, looking out over the surrounding countryside.

The resulting wine is a vibrant ruby red, with aromas of red plums, tobacco, black liquorice, vanilla, herbs, and a hint of caramel, from the use of small oak barrels. Flavors of bright fresh red fruit, red plum, cinnamon, and baking spices dance on the palate. I last tasted the 2015 vintage, which was generally warm across Europe, and the 2015 Poggio alle Mura was gorgeous, but still very, very young. The tannins are tight, though they begin to soften as the wine sits open, and the acidity is refreshing. Give this wine another 5 years in bottle and it will begin to mellow out to something silky, smooth, and aromatic, with a full body and a lovely, graceful structure.

The obvious pairing for Brunello is, of course, steak, particularly the traditional Tuscan dish Bistecca alla Fiorentina. While this is a great pairing, it is by no means the only one. Personally I love Brunello with cinghiale (wild boar) or with venison. The savory, herbal qualities in Brunello, especially one with a bit of age, are an excellent match for game meats, and dishes incorporating tomatoes or tomato sauce. Rich cuts of meat help to soften the strong tannins in Brunello and reveal some of its other complex layers.

Sustainable Wine Production

For Banfi, another aspect of showcasing the remarkable properties of their vineyards includes using sustainable farming and winemaking methods, encouraging the biodiversity of their land, and recycling water. To allow the natural hallmarks of the land to shine within the wines, Banfi strives to limit the amount of synthetic pesticides and fertilizers, trying to be as respectful of the natural environment as possible. Only one-third of Banfi’s estate is actually under vine, with the rest devoted to olive, plum, wheat, and truffle production, or left as large meadows, providing land for deer, wild boar, and pheasants. This variety of flora and fauna ensures that the soil is not depleted of nutrients, and helps to reduce the greenhouse effect of deforestation.

The estate is also working to prepare the future of wine production, with two experimental vineyards. These plots are dedicated to exploring how climate change is and will continue to impact vines and grape production, so that we can learn to prepare for future changes to our planet and the growing environment. Banfi’s findings can then be shared with vineyards around the world, as winemakers search for ways to continue environmentally-friendly production in a changing world.

Further Exploration

If the Banfi Brunellos have impressed you, consider exploring further with some of their other wines. Banfi produces several other Tuscan wines, such as Chianti Classico and Super Tuscan blends Aska, made from Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc, and Centine, made from a blend of Sangiovese, Merlot, and Cabernet Sauvignon. These wines will give you more insight into the Tuscan region as a whole, across the different winemaking areas and different grape varietals, which will help you understand the great diversity within Tuscany. 

Tuscan reds in general are also great food wines, with their high acidity and earthy, savory profiles. Red meat and game are some of the best options for pairing with these wines, especially beef, boar, venison, and pheasant. Dishes with a tomato-based sauce and Italian herbs also bring out the red fruit and dried herbal characteristics within Brunello, Chianti, and Tuscan blends.

Banfi Le Rime Toscana

If you wish to explore even further, Banfi produces wines from the Piemonte region in Northern Italy. Banfi Piemonte makes several wines from Piemonte grapes, including Rosa Regale, a sparkling red wine made from Brachetto, as well as traditional reds Dolcetto d’Acqui and Barbera d’Asti, and white Gavi. The quality and attention to detail that Banfi brings to wine production have quite obviously traveled north, and their Piemonte wines are every bit as elegant and refined as their Tuscan offerings.

Rosa Regale in particular is an excellent choice for holiday gatherings, as an alternative to Champagne or Prosecco, especially if you have a very dedicated crowd of red wine drinkers. This lightly sparkling, semi-sweet wine is a great pairing with desserts, red fruit, and dark chocolate desserts especially, or even as an apéritif. Brachetto had fallen out of favor in recent years, though it is one of my favorite grapes, and Banfi has been instrumental in bringing this type of wine back to the table.

Conclusion

Banfi has a proud tradition of Tuscan wine production and has brought their focus on quality and high standards to the Piemonte estates as well. This winery has always placed importance on sustainable production and making wines that showcase the terroir and speak for themselves. To experience Italian winemaking at its best, explore Banfi wines, through Brunello and beyond!

Cedar Stoltenow

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Close
Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends, plus special offers and invitations to MasterClasses.