ZH-HANS
Home » 葡萄酒如何陈年:不同类型葡萄酒的陈年潜力

葡萄酒如何陈年:不同类型葡萄酒的陈年潜力

众所周知,葡萄酒的品质经过陈年会不断提升。这种情况时有发生,但并不总是如此。许多类型的葡萄酒需要在年轻新鲜时饮用,购买后无需进行额外的陈年。

因而我们如何得知哪些葡萄酒需要陈年及其相应陈年时间?只需谨记一点:口感丰富的葡萄酒需要陈年。一般来说,这些葡萄酒至少在橡木桶中熟成了一段时间,因此其结构更为饱满,单宁更为细腻。某些葡萄由于单宁、酸度和芳香物质等含量较高,由其酿制的葡萄酒可能更适合陈年。一款葡萄酒结构越复杂,其品质则越容易随着时间的推移而不断提升。如果一款葡萄酒结构十分简单,则应即刻饮用,因为其品质非但不会随着时间的推移而提升,反而可能会下降。

那么让我们来看看哪些不同类型的葡萄酒可以进行陈年,及其最佳开瓶时间。

Wine Ageing Chart: Infographic

黑皮诺

勃艮第

勃艮第红葡萄酒因其浓郁的芳香、极高的酸度、橡木桶陈年和酒体结构,可陈年数十年之久。确切的陈年时间取决于葡萄酒年份和准确的产区,但一般而言,村庄级勃艮第红葡萄酒的陈年时间为2至5年,一级葡萄园勃艮第红葡萄酒的陈年时间为5至15年,而特级葡萄园勃艮第红葡萄酒的陈年时间则为10至25年,在某些情况下甚至更为长久。

俄勒冈州

俄勒冈州以生产黑皮诺(Pinot Noir)葡萄酒而闻名,但一般而言,这些葡萄酒的风格虽与勃艮第葡萄酒相似,但其陈年价值却远远不及勃艮第葡萄酒。俄勒冈黑皮诺葡萄酒的最佳陈年时间为3年,在此之后其酸度便开始下降,其口感可能会过于成熟。而Dusky Goose酒庄生产的葡萄酒则是一个特例,其葡萄酒需经过数年时间的陈年才会上市,大约在4年后方可开瓶。

赤霞珠

波尔多

与勃艮第葡萄酒相似,波尔多葡萄酒的陈年潜力很大程度上取决于其年份、产地和质量。超级波尔多葡萄酒,以及某些右岸产区如圣埃美隆产区生产的葡萄酒,较之其他等级酒庄的葡萄酒,熟成更快,且开瓶时间更早。一般而言,价格较为实惠的超级波尔多葡萄酒只需陈年几年即可,而许多三级、四级和五级酒庄的葡萄酒则需要陈年5至10年方可饮用。作为世界上最昂贵的葡萄酒之一,某些一级酒庄波尔多葡萄酒应至少陈年10至15年,很多葡萄酒因其富含单宁,酸度较高,浓郁厚重,因而需要更为长久的陈年期。

加利福尼亚州

加州赤霞珠葡萄酒口感浓郁,风格强劲,但由于加州气候更为温暖,因而其陈年时间通常短于波尔多葡萄酒。温暖的气候有助于葡萄充分成熟,并使单宁顺滑细腻,因而加州赤霞珠陈年5至10年便可开瓶品尝。当然,这些葡萄酒还可经历更长的陈年期,一些上等生厂商酿造的葡萄酒可能需要15至20年的陈年期,但其酸度和单宁结构无法与波尔多葡萄酒相比。

霞多丽

勃艮第

与勃艮第红葡萄酒类似,勃艮第白葡萄酒的陈年潜力也取决于其年份和质量。一般而言,白葡萄酒的陈年潜力低于红葡萄酒,但勃艮第白葡萄酒在此方面是一个特例。该地区出产的特级葡萄园白葡萄酒,尤其是夏布利葡萄酒可陈年10至15年,甚至更久。要想进行长期陈年,葡萄酒具有较高酸度这一点至关重要,因此年份较差的白葡萄酒更适合陈年。

加利福尼亚州

一般而言,由于加州气候温暖,因而加州霞多丽无需进行长期陈年。此类葡萄酒的酸度并不高,其经过强烈的苹果酸-乳酸发酵,而拥有了众所周知的黄油风味。对于大多数陈年超过4-5年的加州霞多丽,即使产自知名生产商,我个人也并不中意。

桑娇维塞

基安蒂

许多人认为基安蒂是一种廉价的佐餐葡萄酒,即开即饮,但产自基安蒂经典产区的葡萄酒,尤其是珍藏特级精选葡萄酒,品质上乘,至少具备中期的陈年潜力。桑娇维塞葡萄本身便富含单宁,酸度极高,但基安蒂上等葡萄酒在生产过程中在橡木桶中经过了额外的熟成期,因而其拥有普通基安蒂所没有的长久生命周期。根据其年份,品质绝佳的经典基安蒂珍藏可陈年10至15年,而经典基安蒂特级精选的陈年期则更长久。在此过程中葡萄酒会发展出第三类香气,在基础的果香中散发一种美味纯朴的香气。

蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗

另一款由桑娇维塞酿制的葡萄酒——蒙达奇诺的布鲁奈罗则需10年以上的陈年期方可饮用,在橡木桶中至少熟成2年。其浓郁的香味将逐渐淡化,散发出一股花香、黑巧克力和坚果的混合芬芳香气,而苦涩的单宁也变得细腻柔滑,在保持了其优雅与结构的同时,摒除了苦涩味道。经过陈年的布鲁奈罗确实堪称口感尚佳的精品。

内比奥罗

巴罗洛

少数葡萄酒在陈年之前我绝不会品尝,此款葡萄酒便是其中之一。年轻巴罗洛所含有的酸度和单宁之辛辣,会破坏你的味蕾。在开瓶之前,巴罗洛葡萄酒需陈年至少10至15年,然而,并非所有收藏家都拥有足够的空间将葡萄酒陈年如此之久。上等葡萄酒则需陈年20多年才能展现其最佳品质。如果你想要饮用年轻的巴罗洛葡萄酒,务必搭配佐餐,如此便可以淡化强烈的酒味。

巴巴莱斯科

与巴罗洛产区相邻,巴巴莱斯科产区的葡萄酒同样以内比奥罗葡萄酿制而成,但其风味总体比巴罗洛葡萄酒略微柔和。记住,我说的是略微哦!此款葡萄酒仍需进行长期的陈年方能充分展示其潜力和所有口感上的细微差别。与巴罗洛相比,巴巴莱斯科的单宁含量略低一些,但这些葡萄酒在开瓶前至少要经过7至10年的陈年期,在此之后仍可继续熟成数十年。

西拉

隆河谷

此类葡萄酒主要由西拉、歌海娜和慕合怀特混酿而成,葡萄比例因产区而异,而隆河谷北部产区的葡萄酒可能由100%的西拉酿制而成。其陈年能力将取决于其质量水平,以及葡萄酒产自隆河谷北部或是南部。产自隆河谷南部的葡萄酒通常需要3至4年的陈年期方可开瓶,而隆河谷北部以西拉为主酿造的葡萄酒则需要10年及以上陈年期才能充分展示其潜力,尤其是著名生产商生产的葡萄酒。

澳大利亚

尽管澳大利亚西拉葡萄酒和法国西拉葡萄酒由同一种葡萄酿制而成,但其陈年潜力普遍较低。大多数澳大利亚西拉葡萄酒应在年轻和果味浓郁时进行饮用,经过5至7年以上的陈年期,其品质并不会得以提升。但某些优质酒庄生产的葡萄酒则除外,尤其是产自巴罗萨河谷的葡萄酒,其理想窖藏时间为10年,而年份最好的葡萄酒在此基础上还能保存多年。

丹魄

里奥哈

里奥哈葡萄酒在上市前已历经了漫长的陈年期,但仍可窖藏多年,尤其是那些珍藏特级珍藏葡萄酒。由于其已在橡木桶中进行了长期陈年,里奥哈葡萄酒逐渐发展出一种强烈的第三类香气,散发出泥土、干皮革、干香草和某些坚果的香气。单宁含量丰富且细腻,葡萄酒口感顺滑。如果你喜欢果味浓郁的葡萄酒,饮用年轻的里奥哈葡萄酒即可,但一般而言,其经过10至15年的陈年后会变得复杂浓郁,而特级珍藏则需要20年。

杜罗河岸

这是“另一款”西班牙丹魄葡萄酒,与里奥哈葡萄酒相比,此地区出产的葡萄酒总体上口感更为浓郁,更有嚼劲,果味更浓。陈年潜力较为相似,且杜罗河岸产区出产的葡萄酒在上市前也要经过漫长的窖藏陈年期,但葡萄酒的熟成过程并不相同。此地区出产的葡萄酒保留了浓郁果香,且随着时间的推移,口感更为醇厚强劲,而里奥哈葡萄酒的口感则会随着陈年而变得更加柔和。

长相思

波尔多

传统上,波尔多白葡萄酒由长相思和赛美蓉混酿而成,并在橡木桶中进行了陈年。这一过程提升了葡萄酒的陈年潜力,在5至10年乃至更久之后,葡萄酒会变得更为复杂醇厚。在特殊的年份里,某些特殊生产商可酿造出能陈年数十年的葡萄酒,但这些葡萄酒会具有浓郁的坚果风味,尤其受到某些收藏家的喜爱。

加利福尼亚州

加州长相思种类繁多,其陈年潜力也取决于具体种类。其中一些种类与赛美蓉混酿而成,并经橡木桶陈年,从而提升了陈年潜力;而其他种类则具有新鲜的柑橘类水果味和青草味,可直接饮用。此类葡萄酒无法一概而论之,大家应对生产商及其酿造技术风格加以考虑,以确定开瓶前的具体陈年时间。

新西兰

新西兰长相思以其鲜活的新鲜度和明快的酸度而颇受赞赏,并不适合长期陈年。当你打开一瓶经过5年陈年的新西兰长相思进行品尝时,你可能会非十分失望。在其年轻时进行饮用,冰镇后口感更佳!

对于多种多样的葡萄酒陈年过程而言,以上研究只是冰山一角,但希望借此可让大家对最常见葡萄酒类型的陈酿潜力有所了解。随着大家对葡萄酒饮用和陈年的深入了解,对于自己所钟爱的某类葡萄酒的陈年程度,大家会逐渐形成自己的观点,因为这也是一种个人喜好。大家可以多买几瓶葡萄酒,在不同阶段进行开瓶品尝,以确定自己最喜爱的某一阶段的口味。尽情品尝吧!

Cedar

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

2评论

先入手吧!

注册邮箱,你将会收到亚洲葡萄酒最新的新闻动态、特价优惠及品酒邀请资讯。
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

加入亚洲新世界葡萄酒、啤酒和烈酒爱好者社区吧。

EN
Home » How to Age Wines: Ageing potential for different wine styles

How to Age Wines: Ageing potential for different wine styles

According to conventional wisdom, wine improves with age. This is often, but by no means always, the case. There are many styles of wine which are meant to be consumed young and fresh, without additional ageing after purchase.

So how do we know which wines can be aged and how long to age them? A good rule to remember is that a wine needs to be complex to age well. Generally these wines have spent at least some time in oak, which adds structure and softens the tannins in red wines. Certain grapes may lend themselves better to ageing, due to high levels of tannin, acid, aromatics, etc. The more different aspects there are to a wine, the more it has the capacity to develop with time. If a wine is very simple, it should be drunk straight away, as it will not change much with time and may in fact get worse.

So let’s look at some of the different types of wine that can age well, and how long we should keep them before opening.

Wine Ageing Chart: Infographic

Pinot Noir

Burgundy

Burgundy reds can age for decades due to the intense aromatics, high levels of acid, oak ageing, and structure within the wines. The exact amount of time one should age the wine depends on the vintage and the exact appellation in question, but as a rule of thumb one should age Village level Burgundy reds for 2-5 years, Premier Cru level for 5-15 years, and Grand Cru Burgundy for 10-25 years, or longer in some cases.

Oregon

Oregon is known for producing Pinot Noir wines that closely resemble the Burgundian style, but in general I find these wines much less ageworthy than their French counterparts. Oregon Pinots may benefit from up to 3 years of ageing, but after this time the acid levels start to drop and the wines may taste overripe. One exception would be the producer Dusky Goose, whose wines are only released after several years of ageing, and start to open up after about 4 years.

Cabernet Sauvignon

Bordeaux

Similar to Burgundy, the ageing potential of Bordeaux wines is very dependent on vintage, appellation, and quality level. The Bordeaux Superior wines, as well as certain Right Bank appellations such as Saint Emilion, tend to develop faster and are ready to open sooner than the classified growths. In general, give less expensive Bordeaux Superior wines a couple years of ageing, while many 3rd, 4th, and 5th Growths require 5-10 years of ageing to be accessible. The First Growths of Bordeaux, some of the most expensive wines in the world, should be aged 10-15 years at least, and many will benefit from even lengthier ageing periods due to their intense tannins, high acid, and density.

California

Cabernet Sauvignon from California is an intense and powerful wine, but generally requires less ageing than Bordeaux wines due to the warmer climate. The warmth helps ripen the grapes fully and softens the tannins, so that these wines can be opened and appreciated within 5-10 years. Of course the wines will continue to develop even longer, 15-20 years are possible for some of the best producers, but they do not have the same acid levels and tannin structure as Bordeaux wines.

Chardonnay

Burgundy

As with Burgundy red wines, the ageing potential of the region’s whites is determined by the vintage and quality level of the wines. In general, white wines have less potential for ageing than reds, but the whites of Burgundy are special in this regard. Grand Cru white wines from the area, and the wines of Chablis in particular, can age for 10-15 years and even longer. It is crucial that the wines have very high levels of acid to sustain long ageing, so whites from a cooler vintage are better for ageing.

California

California Chardonnays in general do not benefit from extended periods of ageing because of their warm climate provenance. The acid levels in these wines are not high enough and they undergo intense malolactic fermentation to achieve the buttery style for which they are known. I do not really enjoy most California Chardonnays with more than 4-5 years ageing, even from well known producers.

Sangiovese

Chianti

Many people think of Chianti as a cheap table wine, made for immediate consumption, but wines from Chianti Classico, especially Riserva or Gran Selezione wines, are extremely well made wines that have at least medium-term ageing potential. The Sangiovese grape naturally has high levels of tannin and acidity, but the extra time spent in oak for the upper tiers of Chianti production really gives the wine a longevity that simpler Chiantis don’t have. Keep a well made Chianti Classico Riserva for 10-15 years, depending on the vintage, and G.S. even longer. Tertiary flavors will develop that add a savory, rustic quality to the underlying fruit.

Brunello di Montalcino

Another Sangiovese expression, a good Brunello di Montalcino requires at least 10 years of ageing to be accessible, and undergoes a minimum of 2 years ageing in oak. The intensity of aromas and often aggressive tannins soften out to a beautiful array of potpourri, dark chocolate, and nutty flavors, while the tannins maintain elegance and structure, without being too assertive. An aged Brunello is truly a drinkable art-piece.

Nebbiolo

Barolo

This is one of the few wines that I won’t even attempt to drink until it has had time to age. A young Barolo has searing acidity and tannins which will strip your palate. Most Barolos would benefit from at least 10-15 years of ageing before opening, though not all collectors have the space to age wines this long. The best will fully develop only after 20+ years. If you open a young Barolo, make sure to serve it with food, which can help soften the intensity.

Barbaresco

The next-door neighbor of Barolo, Barbaresco is made with the same Nebbiolo grape, but is generally slightly softer than Barolo. Remember, I said slightly! This wine still requires some significant ageing to fully showcase its potential and reveal all of its nuances. Tannin levels are a bit lower in Barbaresco than in Barolo, but these wines still benefit from at least 7-10 years of ageing before opening, and will continue to evolve for decades.

Syrah/Shiraz

Rhône Valley

These wines are made of a blend of predominantly Syrah, Grenache, and Mourvèdre, though proportions vary depending on the appellation, and Northern Rhône wines may be 100% Syrah. Ageing capabilities will depend on the quality level, and whether the wines are from the Northern or Southern Rhône. Wines from the South are often ready to open after 3 or 4 years, whereas the Syrah-dominant wines from the North can require 10 or more years to fully reveal their potential, especially those from legendary producers.

Australia

Though Australian Shiraz is the same grape as French Syrah, the ageing potential is generally lower. Most Australian Shiraz is meant to be consumed young and fruity, and will not improve beyond 5-7 years. The exceptions are certain premium producers’ wines, particularly from the Barossa Valley, whose wines can ideally be cellared for 10 years, and in the best vintages will keep for many years beyond that.

Tempranillo

Rioja

Wines from Rioja have already undergone extensive ageing prior to release, but will also keep for many years in your cellar, particularly those at the Reserva and Gran Reserva levels. Due to the ageing process and extended time in oak, I find that Rioja wines evolve towards strong tertiary flavors of earth, dried leather, dried herbs, and some nuttiness. The tannins are soft and rich, and the wines are smooth. If you prefer more fruit-forward wines, drink your Rioja young, but it gains in complexity for 10-15 years in general, and a great Gran Reserva will evolve for 20 years.

Ribera del Duero

The “other” style of Tempranillo in Spain, the wines from this region are overall denser, chewier, and more richly fruity than Rioja wines. Ageing potential is much the same, and Ribera del Duero wine also undergoes extensive cellar ageing before release, but the wines develop differently. The wines from this region retain more of their fruit profile and gain in power over time, while Rioja softens more with age.

Sauvignon Blanc

Bordeaux

Traditionally, white wines from Bordeaux contain a blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, and receive some ageing in oak barrels. This extends the ageing potential of these wines, which will gain in complexity for 5-10 years and beyond. In exceptional vintages, exceptional producers can make wines that will age for decades, but the wines develop much more nutty flavors, very appreciated by certain collectors.

California

California Sauvignon Blanc comes in a range of different styles, and the ageing potential will depend on the style in question. Some are blended with Semillon and touched by oak, which extends their ageing potential, while others are all fresh citrus fruit and grassiness, meant for more immediate consumption. For these wines, it is hard to generalize, and one should pay attention to the producer and technical winemaking style to ascertain how long to wait before opening the wine.

New Zealand

Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand is most appreciated for its zippy freshness and bright acidity, and is not suited for long term ageing. You will likely be quite disappointed if you open a 5-year-old bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Consume young and chilled for maximum flavor!

This is just a start to the complex study of ageing wine, but hopefully this gives you an idea of ageing potential for the most common wine styles. As you continue your journey in consuming and ageing wine you will start to develop your own feeling for the amount of age that you prefer on certain types of wine, because it’s also a personal preference. Try buying multiple bottles of a wine and opening a bottle at several different stages of development to see at what point you enjoy it the most. Happy tasting!

Cedar

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Add comment

Get it first!

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends in Asia, plus special offers and wine tasting invitations.
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

Join the New Wine & Spirits Lovers Community in Asia.