台湾的葡萄酒饮用概况

台湾葡萄酒业内幕信息

台湾这个小岛处处是宝。台湾位于中国以东180公里,人口约2300万,是一个重要且不断壮大的葡萄酒市场。台湾是亚洲前五名的葡萄酒市场。据欧睿国际预计,台湾的葡萄酒消费量在未来几年将稳定增长,2021年有望超过2500万升。

自上世纪90年代以来,台湾的葡萄酒市场已经有了长足发展,当时喝葡萄酒成为富商们社会地位的象征。当代葡萄酒爱好者正在逐步寻找新的酒款,不再局限于象征身份的旧世界酒款和追求昂贵的标价。

台湾的葡萄酒饮用概况

台湾目前的葡萄酒市场在年轻精英女性消费者的推动下呈上升趋势,过去的七年中,葡萄酒饮用量稳步增长了8.5%。

爱喝酒的台湾人习惯以葡萄酒配餐。 餐厅是台湾最受欢迎的饮酒场所。比起西式酒吧,台湾人更喜欢去餐厅享受夜生活。台湾文化中,美食和葡萄酒息息相关,在这个背景下,葡萄酒越发盛行。

台湾的葡萄酒饮用概况

葡萄酒业的发展得益于当地人对其日渐增长的兴趣和越发流行的葡萄酒活动,比如台北葡萄酒展、台北国际酒展和台中国际酒展。这些活动为葡萄酒爱好者们探索不同种类的葡萄酒、独特的葡萄品种和全球产区提供了机会。

台湾民意基金会(TPOF)最近的一项研究表明,有54%的台湾成年人至少偶尔会喝点酒。在这些饮酒人士中,30.8%首选葡萄酒,而啤酒的饮用率仍然很高(30.6%),利口酒次之( 29.4%)。 45.8%的台湾人无饮酒习惯,而剩余0.2%保留回答。

如下统计数据显示,台湾仍然是世界上葡萄酒消费最少的国家之一(与烈酒和啤酒相比)。

人均葡萄酒消费量,亚洲市场,升/年

你经常喝以下哪种饮料?

Source: Statista

台湾的市场规模有多大

台湾人口超过2300万,是亚洲最强劲的葡萄酒市场之一。自2010年以来,台湾的葡萄酒消费量年增长8.6%,2018年台湾葡萄酒和烈酒的进口额达到8.85亿美元,与2017年相比增长了2%。

台湾葡萄酒年进口额

葡萄酒偏好

台湾的饮酒人士特别偏爱静止葡萄酒。

红葡萄酒曾经占有80%以上的市场份额。产自波尔多,由赤霞珠和西拉等酿造的强劲葡萄酒仍然很受欢迎,但由于许多年轻的饮酒人士更喜欢喝白葡萄酒,强劲型葡萄酒的人气正在下降。白葡萄酒占市场总额的10%。流行的白葡萄品种包括霞多丽、长相思和雷司令。台湾人对低度葡萄酒和起泡酒的需求也在快速增长。

甜葡萄酒在台湾很受欢迎,例如举世闻名的托卡伊贵腐酒。这是新兴葡萄酒市场的一个典型特征。桃红葡萄酒仍然称得上是当之无愧的利基产品。 白葡萄酒和桃红葡萄酒在35岁以下的人群中最受欢迎。

和新世界的葡萄酒比,旧世界的葡萄酒销售情况如何呢

台湾的葡萄酒消费者仍然偏爱在行业有地位且高品质的欧洲葡萄酒。意大利、西班牙和法国葡萄酒是最受欢迎的葡萄酒,特别是产自勃艮第、波尔多、罗纳河谷和法国香槟区的酒款。

智利和阿根廷葡萄酒在台湾消费量最高。大量年轻的葡萄酒引用人士倾向于选择新世界葡萄酒,例如来自智利、阿根廷、南非、澳大利亚、新西兰和美国的葡萄酒。

尽管欧洲葡萄酒仍然是台湾市场的主要进口产品,由于零售商对销售的激励,经济下滑时期相对低价的新世界葡萄酒的销售却有所增长。

出口到台湾的葡萄酒每升的价格如何?

法国葡萄酒在高价区中占据主导地位。特别富裕的消费者对法国波尔多和勃艮第产区的葡萄酒需求量仍然很大。

每升葡萄酒的均价法国最高,为12.13美元,其次是美国,为11.27美元。意大利葡萄酒的平均价格为每升7.32美元,澳大利亚为每升5.35美元,智利为每升4.21美元。

葡萄酒如何分销?

在台湾,线上销售酒精饮料是非法的。顶级陈酿葡萄酒通常直接出售给消费者。而价格较低的葡萄酒则通过葡萄酒零售店、超市和餐厅销售。

好市多、家乐福和大润发出售一系列价格合理的进口葡萄酒。一些酒类专卖连锁店可以满足更多有识之士的需求,但是很多店主倾向于根据利润而不是客户满意度来推荐产品。

在台湾的BYO(“自带”)文化中,20至40岁的年轻消费者(尤其是女性)占主导地位,即大部分消费者在店外购买葡萄酒随后在店内饮用。在年轻人经常光顾的餐厅中,由于价格合理,新世界的葡萄酒越来越受欢迎。

台湾葡萄酒当前的市场趋势是什么?

消费者的饮酒习惯和方式在很大程度上受到报刊和社交媒体的影响,例如《醇鉴》和《葡萄酒观察家》等葡萄酒出版物。以葡萄酒为主题的超人气漫画《神之水滴》(Kami no Shizuku)也影响了台湾的葡萄酒文化。漫画迷们特意寻找书中精选的葡萄酒酿造年份,并造访欧洲的酿酒厂。

“一半台湾人士缺乏正常代谢酒精所需的基因”

斯坦福大学的一家研究机构发现,大约一半台湾人缺乏正常代谢酒精所需的基因。东方人士普遍缺乏这种基因,其中中国人占35%,日本人占30%,而韩国人占20%。这可能会影响到台湾的葡萄酒销售。

有报道称红葡萄酒有益于心脏之后,红葡萄酒的销售一度十分火爆。但是根据斯坦福大学的研究,该信息不适用于缺乏代谢酒精的基因的台湾人,相反,他们喝了红葡萄酒以后会脸红、患上呼吸道疾病,甚至增加罹患癌症的风险。

最近在台湾销售的葡萄酒质量方面的丑闻层出不穷,消费者越来越偏向于购买更为有机的葡萄酒。因此,在葡萄酒行业中的声誉很重要,屡获殊荣的葡萄酒和酿酒厂最受欢迎。

台湾的酒类饮品总销量

酒智在《2017-2018全球葡萄酒指南》中写到,台湾的人均消费量现在为1升,可与中国和韩国相提并论,因此,消费者的地位已将台湾从“新兴市场”转变为“成长市场”。

台湾是一个值得关注的葡萄酒市场,虽然年轻但发展迅速。在不到20年的时间里,市场稳健成长。现在,支撑着这个市场的是一代越来越追求精致生活的葡萄酒饮用人士,他们已经准备好拓宽其葡萄酒知识面和品酒技能。红葡萄酒仍然占据着市场的主导地位,但是白葡萄酒和起泡酒正在逐渐获得认可,尤其在35岁以下的人群中。

Debra Meiburg,《台湾葡萄酒贸易指南》作者,将台湾市场概括为“一个非常独特,稳健,如饥似渴的市场……台湾人随和,无拘无束,容易相处,因此,我鼓励大家考虑做这个市场。”

来源:

  • https://app.gourmettravellerwine.com/editions/oct-nov-18/article/asian-jeremy.html
  • https://www.euromonitor.com/wine-in-taiwan/report
  • https://www.thedrinksbusiness.com/2018/03/wine-is-preferred-tipple-in-taiwan/
  • https://www.statista.com/statistics/920788/taiwan-regular-beverage-consumption/
  • https://www.export.gov/article?id=Taiwan-Wine-and-Spirits
  • https://topics.amcham.com.tw/2018/01/taiwans-growing-thirst-wine/
  • https://www.wineaustralia.com/exporting/by-market/export-market-guide-taiwan
  • https://www.austrade.gov.au/Australian/Export/Export-markets/Countries/Taiwan/Industries/Wine
  • https://truetaiwan.blogspot.com/p/drinking.html
  • https://www.decanter.com/wine-news/cult-wine-themed-manga-comic-drops-of-god-gets-english-translation-release-426998/#BIjcfziGGF3vb4Uh.99
  • https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/health-news/around-half-of-taiwans-population-lack-a-gene-required-for-metabolising-alcohol-10464725.html
  • https://www.wineintelligence.com/global-compass-2017-18/
  • https://www.globalwinemeetings.com/resources/report-pdfs/20160105_Whitepaper_Taiwan_EN_final.pdf
  • https://www.wineintelligence.com/time-for-taiwan/
  • https://www.grapewallofchina.com/2008/06/03/wine-word-guy-wittich-20-years-in-taiwan/
  • https://www.asiaimportnews.com/2017/02/21/wine-market-in-taiwan/
  • https://www.statista.com/statistics/949164/taiwan-wine-import-value/
  • https://www.adelaide.edu.au/press/titles/global-wine-markets

Jessica

作者 杰西卡(Jessica)

杰西卡是居住于托斯卡纳地区的葡萄酒专家。国际知名意大利葡萄酒记者前助理,曾协助其组织多次品酒会并处理相关英文翻译工作。之后杰西卡便步入葡萄酒批发销售大门。她工作经历丰富,因此对葡萄酒行业有着更为广泛的见解。目前也从事葡萄酒文案创作,与读者一起共享她关于葡萄酒的独到见地。

Jeden komentarz

Leave a Reply
  1. 台灣人確實很少喝酒,我想我們大部分喜歡喝的都是啤酒&高粱等。
    會品西方酒品 (葡萄酒、香檳、調酒)等,大都是喝氣氛、喝感覺,此類會以調酒為主沒錯。
    覺得分析得滿到位的呢!

发表评论

头像

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Loading…

0
中国葡萄酒产区的璀璨群星正在冉冉升起

中国葡萄酒产区的璀璨群星正在冉冉升起

中国人春节偏爱喝葡萄酒的六大理由

中国人春节偏爱喝葡萄酒的六大理由

Taiwanese Wine Industry Insider

Taiwanese Wine Industry Insider

There’s an awful lot to like about the small island nation of Taiwan. Positioned 180 km east of China, with a population of approximately 23 million, Taiwan is an important and growing market for wine.

Taiwan is among the top five wine markets in Asia, with Euromonitor expecting Taiwan’s wine consumption to increase steadily in the coming years, surpassing 25 million litres in 2021.

Taiwan’s wine market has developed considerably since the 1990s when drinking wine was a mark of status for wealthy businessmen. Modern-day wine aficionados are progressively seeking out varieties that offer more than just old-world standing and a hefty price tag.

Wine drinking in Taiwan 

The current wine market in Taiwan is being propelled forward by sharp young, female consumers, and wine drinking in Taiwan has risen solidly in the past seven years by 8.5 %. 

Taiwanese wine drinkers are accustomed to drinking wine around a meal. Drinking in restaurants is popular and the most commonly accepted way to drink wine in Taiwan. Taiwanese would prefer a night out in a restaurant over a western bar. Food and wine go hand in hand in the Taiwanese culture, and wine is growing in popularity in this context. 

Taiwanese Wine Industry Insider

The wine industry profited from the growing interest and popularity of local wine events such as the Wine & Gourmet Taipei Festival, the Taipei Wine & Spirits Festival and the Taichung International Wine Exhibition. These events provide wine enthusiasts with the chance to discover different varieties of wine and unique grape types and growing regions around the world.

A recent study by the Taiwan Public Opinion Foundation (TPOF) declared that 54% of Taiwanese adults drink at least occasionally and amongst these drinkers, 30.8% preferred wine, beer drinking was still high up there (30.6%) and liquor shadowed behind at (29.4%). 45.8% of Taiwanese do not drink at all and 0.2% of those questioned refused to answer.

Taiwan is still one of the world’s least wine consuming countries (compared to spirits and beer) as indicated in the data from Statista below.

Wine Consumption per Capita, Asian markets, litres/year

Which of the following beverages do you regularly consume?

Source: Statista

What is the market size in Taiwan

With a population of more than 23 million, Taiwan is one of the strongest wine markets in Asia. Since 2010, the consumption of wine in Taiwan has grown by 8.6% annually and Taiwanese imports of wine and spirits have reached $885 million in 2018, up to two percent compared to 2017.

Annual import value of wine in Taiwan

Wine preferences

Wine drinkers in Taiwan show a particular preference for still wines. 

Red wine once held over 80% of the market share. Strong wines such as Bordeaux, Cabernet Sauvignon and Shiraz are still popular,  but with many younger wine drinkers preferring to drink white wines, it is declining in popularity. White wines represent 10% of the total market share. Popular white wine varieties include Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, and Riesling. Demand for light and sparkling wines is also enjoying rapid growth among Taiwanese.

Sweet wines are popular in Taiwan, such as world-famous Tokaj wine. This is a typical feature of a new wine market. Rosé wines remain a very niche product. White wines and rosé wines are most popular with those aged under 35.

How do the sales of Old World wines perform compare to New World wines

Taiwanese wine consumers still prefer European wines which are considered important and high quality. Italian, Spanish and French wines are solid favorites -specifically Burgundy, Bordeaux, Cotes du Rhone, and Champagne.

Chilean and Argentine wines are the most-consumed wines in Taiwan. Amongst younger wine drinkers, there has been a considerable swing towards New World wines such as those from Chile, Argentina, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and the USA. 

While European wines remain the major import into the market, the economic dip saw an increase in sales of lower-priced New World wines as retailers attempted to encourage sales.

Price per litre of wine exported into Taiwan?

France reigns supreme in the premium price division. There remains a strong demand for French wine from Bordeaux and Burgundy amongst particularly prosperous consumers.

The average price per litre is led by the French at US$12.13 and followed by the USA at US$11.27. Italy’s average price per litre is US$7.32 while Australian wines sell for US$5.35 per litre and Chilean wines at US$4.21.

How is wine distributed?

Online sales of alcohol beverages are illegal in Taiwan. Prestigious vintages are usually sold directly to consumers. And lower-priced wines are sold by wine retail shops, supermarkets, and restaurants.

Costco, Carrefour, and RT-Mart offer a range of imported wines at competitive prices. There are several specialty liquor store chains that cater to more informed drinkers, but many of the owners tend to recommend products based on revenue instead of customer satisfaction. 

Taiwan is dominated by BYO culture amongst young adult consumers aged 20-40 (especially women), which means a large percentage of wine is bought off-premise and is then consumed on-premise. In restaurants that are frequented by young people, wines from the New World are gaining in popularity due to reasonable pricing.

What are the current issues market trends for wine in Taiwan?

Consumer drinking inclinations and patterns are greatly influenced by the press and social media, namely wine publications such as Decanter and Wine Spectator. The immensely popular wine-themed comic book Kami no Shizuku (Drops of God) also has influenced wine drinking in Taiwan. Fans of the comic purposely seek out wine vintages featured in the books and travel to the wineries in Europe featured.

“Half of the population of Taiwan lacks a gene that is required to properly metabolize alcohol”

A Stanford University research institute discovered that around half the population of Taiwan lacks a gene that is required to properly metabolize alcohol. Deficiency is common in the east, with 35 percent lacking the gene in China, 30 percent in Japan, and 20 percent in South Korea. This could affect wine sales in Taiwan.

Sales of red wine have boomed in the past after it was reported that red wine was good for the heart, but this information does not apply to Taiwanese with the deficiency according to the Stanford research, and instead, they can experience flushed faces, respiratory problems and even an increased risk of cancer when they drink.

There have been numerous scandals regarding the quality of wine sold in Taiwan recently, and wine consumers are paying more attention to buying wines with less artificial ingredients in them. Reputation in the wine industry is therefore important and award-winning wines and wineries are the most popular. 

The Total Sales of Taiwan’s Alcoholic Beverage

Wine Intelligence’s 2017-2018 Global Compass report, indicates that Taiwan’s per capita consumption is now 1L, which is comparable to that of China and South Korea, therefore the consumer status has moved Taiwan from an ‘emerging market’ to a ‘growth market’.

Taiwan is a young, but quickly developing wine market that warrants attention. In less than 20 years the market has grown steadily. It is now sustained by a generation of increasingly sophisticated wine drinkers that are ready to broaden their wine knowledge and tasting skills. Red wine still dominates the market, but white wines and sparkling wines are gradually gaining recognition, especially with the under 35’s.

Debra Meiburg, author of Guide to the Taiwanese Wine Trade, sums up the Taiwanese market as  “a very unique, robust, eager market … Taiwanese people are easygoing and relaxed and easy to deal with, so I encourage you all to consider this market.”

Sources:

  • https://app.gourmettravellerwine.com/editions/oct-nov-18/article/asian-jeremy.html
  • https://www.euromonitor.com/wine-in-taiwan/report
  • https://www.thedrinksbusiness.com/2018/03/wine-is-preferred-tipple-in-taiwan/
  • https://www.statista.com/statistics/920788/taiwan-regular-beverage-consumption/
  • https://www.export.gov/article?id=Taiwan-Wine-and-Spirits
  • https://topics.amcham.com.tw/2018/01/taiwans-growing-thirst-wine/
  • https://www.wineaustralia.com/exporting/by-market/export-market-guide-taiwan
  • https://www.austrade.gov.au/Australian/Export/Export-markets/Countries/Taiwan/Industries/Wine
  • https://truetaiwan.blogspot.com/p/drinking.html
  • https://www.decanter.com/wine-news/cult-wine-themed-manga-comic-drops-of-god-gets-english-translation-release-426998/#BIjcfziGGF3vb4Uh.99
  • https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/health-news/around-half-of-taiwans-population-lack-a-gene-required-for-metabolising-alcohol-10464725.html
  • https://www.wineintelligence.com/global-compass-2017-18/
  • https://www.globalwinemeetings.com/resources/report-pdfs/20160105_Whitepaper_Taiwan_EN_final.pdf
  • https://www.wineintelligence.com/time-for-taiwan/
  • https://www.grapewallofchina.com/2008/06/03/wine-word-guy-wittich-20-years-in-taiwan/
  • https://www.asiaimportnews.com/2017/02/21/wine-market-in-taiwan/
  • https://www.statista.com/statistics/949164/taiwan-wine-import-value/
  • https://www.adelaide.edu.au/press/titles/global-wine-markets

What do you think?

Jessica

Written by Jessica

Jessica is a wine specialist based in Tuscany. After working as assistant to an internationally acclaimed Italian wine journalist, organizing tastings and translating work into English, she moved into wholesale wine sales. This experience gave her a wider perspective of the international wine industry and new insights to explore in her writing, which she now enjoys sharing with readers.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0
Chinese Wine Regions | Wine Map and Regional Guide of China

Wine Producing Regions of China, A Group of Rising Stars

6 Reasons Why Chinese People Prefer to Drink Wine During the Spring Festival

6 Reasons Why Chinese People Prefer to Drink Wine During the Spring Festival