如何在印尼推广葡萄酒:实用指南

如何在印尼推广葡萄酒:实用指南

您可能听说过印尼是亚洲大型市场之一的说法。作为一名葡萄酒商人,您可能也想了您在该地区推广产品的空间,但您想必也听说过,印尼可是穆斯林国家。等等,这可怎么办呢?我们给您一个温馨小贴士,并非您听到的所有事情都是真的。因此我们将在本文中展示基于事实的概述,并附带一个实用指南。

印尼概况

如何在印尼推广葡萄酒:实用指南
Credit: Alex Block

1. 印尼并非宗教国家

正解。尽管大部分印尼人为穆斯林,具体百分比为87.2%。此外,在伊斯兰法律中,像葡萄酒这样的酒精饮料被视为哈拉姆(haram)——即禁止饮用。但您可能也得考虑到这点:印尼总人口为2.64亿,即便只是12.8%的非穆斯林人口就有约3400万。当然了,并非2.3亿穆斯林人口都是有效的信徒,更别说抵制酒精饮料的情况了。

此外,除非您生活在遵循伊斯兰教法的亚齐省,不然印尼法律都是非宗教性质的。也就是说饮酒并不违法,不能仅仅因为饮酒就依法起诉任何人。

然而,斋戒月期间的情况有些不同。在这个地区,有些宗教群体倾向于采用非法形式禁止销售与饮用酒精饮料,甚至扫荡低级酒吧和台球俱乐部。然而,这些地方可能并不是您的目标市场。一些地区也可能实施当地法规,规定酒吧及俱乐部的营业时间,依不同地区而定,有些此类场所在斋戒月期间甚至面临强制性暂停营业。

温馨小贴士:斋戒月并非推广及销售葡萄酒的好时期。

2. 印尼是东南亚发展迅猛的经济体之一。

在印尼,葡萄酒被视为奢侈品,您也可能对在一个非发达国家销售葡萄酒有所疑虑。然而,印尼2019年的经济增长率为5.1%,跃为东南亚发展迅猛的经济体之一。更多中产阶级晋升为中上层阶级,而更多中上层阶级则成为上层阶级。此外,2018年该地区城市化率已达55.33%。在消费者层面来讲,这意味着两点:更高的购买力以及对城市生活方式更为熟悉。就葡萄酒商人而言,这意味着一点:更多机遇。

3. 印尼人十分看重社会地位

您可能已经了解到,这一特点在东方文化中很稀松平常。他们十分在意外界对其的看法,非常注重看似令人尊敬的形象。那么,还有比拥有明显经济实力更能提升社会地位的办法吗?还有比购买奢侈品的能力更能体现经济实力的标志吗?

我们的观点仅供参考。社会地位并非是漂亮的房子、酷炫的车、各种名牌以及无数次的异国旅行。对更为中上层阶级的群体而言,身份标志包括装满昂贵酒类的玻璃酒柜。也包括在一些场合下饮用葡萄酒,比如浪漫的烛光晚餐或是欢乐的家庭聚会。

4. 关于欧盟—印尼贸易战的一些看法

如何在印尼推广葡萄酒:实用指南
Credit: Tom Fisk

2019年年末,路透社发表了一篇文章,标题为“贸易争端升级,欧洲酒类在印尼全面下架”总的来说,这篇文章叙述了以下内容。当欧盟断定棕榈油并不环保,应逐步排除其作为运输燃料,作为最大棕榈油生产国的印尼感到了威胁,并开始禁止从欧洲进口酒精饮料和奶制品。然而,印尼贸易部对此予以否认,并辩称,推迟发放进口许可证是出于市场偏好。

如果您是欧洲葡萄酒商人,这一消息可能令人担忧。也可能令您感到疑惑。这是否是官方禁令呢?既然贸易战从2017年就已开始,那么为何直到2018-2019年期间,我们还能轻易在印尼获得欧洲葡萄酒呢?因此我们得出了几个观点。

首先,印尼政府采用配额制,因此禁令无需是官方的。政府只是未发放欧洲葡萄酒的配额,作为提高其谈判地位的一种策略。其次,由于2018年的配额已发放,因此我们还能轻易在该地区购买到欧洲葡萄酒。此外,这一配额已保证了直至大约2019年年中的库存量。到2019年底,许多进口商的欧洲葡萄酒库存已经所剩无几,从那时起,黑市开始再次崛起。任何带有2019年份的新进欧洲葡萄酒,显然都来自黑市。

退一步说,印尼政府目前已将此案提交世界贸易组织(WTO),待其解决。因此,在印尼政府和欧盟通过谈判达成协议前,这可能只是个暂时的问题。这也是我们所希望的。需要记住的几点是:

如果您是一位欧洲葡萄酒商人,请再坚持一段时间,在一切尘埃落定之前,请不要做出任何有关以印尼市场未目标的决定。还有许多其他东南亚国家有待开发,例如,您可以把目标对准泰国或越南。马来西亚则需谨慎选择,因为马来西亚是棕榈油的另一生产大国。不过,到目前为止,他们的反应较为温和,而且还没有颁布任何针对欧洲葡萄酒的禁令。最后,如果您是来自欧洲以外(尤其是澳大利亚)的葡萄酒商人,这可能是您的大好机会!

5. 印尼酒精饮料法规

印尼酒精饮料的采购、分销和销售由印尼贸易部(Ministry of Trade)根据2019年第25号部级法规进行管理。其中包括三大类别的酒精饮料:A类:任何含5%酒精或乙醇(C2H5OH)的饮品;B类:任何酒精度为5%至20%的饮品;C类:任何酒精度为20%至50%的饮品。葡萄酒属于B类。

根据这一规定,酒精饮料的经销商、销售者和进口商在开展业务前必须获得贸易许可证。在印尼,B类和C类饮料的生产、进口和分销由地方政府管控。可以进口A类、B类、C类酒精饮料的企业是经部长批准为酒精饮料注册进口商的企业。经销商和进口商均不允许零售,此外,其都须有两年或两年以上的饮料经销的经验。

在符合旅游法规的要求下,三星级或更好的酒店、酒吧、餐厅可以出售酒精饮料,免税商店也包括在内。他们须持有出售酒精饮料的贸易许可证。此外,这些地方不能靠近礼拜场所、教育机构和医院,并且不得向21岁及以下的消费者售卖酒精饮料。

在印尼推广葡萄酒的实用指南

1. 瞄准城市地区

由于葡萄酒被视作奢侈品,所以最好的目标人群是中上层阶级、上层阶级、外国游客和葡萄酒爱好者群体。向三星、四星以及五星酒店中分销您的产品。您可以把雅加达、泗水、万隆、巴厘巴板、万鸦老和望加锡等作为目标城市。

2. 瞄准巴厘岛市场

如何在印尼推广葡萄酒:实用指南
Credit: Cassie Gallegos

巴厘岛对外国游客极富吸引力,这里是文化、美食、美景的天堂。2019年,巴厘岛接收外国游客数量约750万。这些外国游客是您葡萄酒产品合适的目标受众,作为一个葡萄酒商人,您应该把巴厘岛作为优先市场。

3. 锁定节假日时期

节日和庆祝活动总少不了葡萄酒的影子,因此,节假日是推广产品,增加销量的好时机之一。一些非常适合推广您葡萄酒的节假日是新年前夕、春节和圣诞节,人们购买葡萄酒用于家庭庆祝活动。情人节也是个推广葡萄酒的好时机,浪漫晚餐和美味葡萄酒简直是天作之合。您甚至可以在拥挤的商场里组织节日主题的活动和展览,以推广和推销您的产品。请记住,打折和搭卖套餐总是奏效的。

4. 开设属于您的酒廊

在雅加达这样的大都市,一些葡萄酒经销商都以开设酒廊作为开端。这些酒廊成了上层阶级们享受闲情逸致或与他人聚会谈天的新选择。酒廊会提供上等牛排等精致美食用以搭配葡萄酒。其还利用热点、特权会员卡和送货服务等专属特色吸引客户。

5. 为客户提供培训

一些大型经销商也将开展葡萄酒教育和品酒活动。通过为客户提供培训,他们将成为您的忠实用户,您的客户群也将有所拓展,并有更多的机会获得新客户。

6. 社交媒体推广

印尼是全世界拥有大量网民的国家之一。截至2017年11月,印尼共有1.433亿活跃网民,其中29.63%每日上网时间为4-7个小时,26.48%每天上网时间超过7个小时。由于印尼禁止通过电视广告推广酒精饮料,社交媒体推广是向顾客近距离推广葡萄酒的绝佳途径之一。建立官方账号、开展赠送活动、采用影响着营销增加销量!

7. 打造新类别

为了扩大你的市场,您可以考虑打造一些其他的类别。首先是价格更为低廉的类别。销量最好的葡萄酒类别,其价格居于20万至50万印尼盾之间(15美元至35美元)。

其次你可能想要打造的是圣餐葡萄酒。印尼总共有61000个教堂,其中大约有11000个天主教教堂,这些教堂每天或每周都举行弥撒。若是您的价格不错,它们会成为十分忠实的客户。

最后一种是无酒精类别。由于便利店、超市和大型超市禁止售卖酒精饮料,一些酒精饮料生产商,尤其是啤酒生产商开发了无酒精类别。这可能是您深入店铺,获得新市场的好时机。

8. 时刻关注法律、法规及政治动向

这一点对您事业的可持续发展性尤为重要。酒精饮料产业是个棘手的领域,您总不希望颗粒无收,甚至是遭遇牢狱之灾对吧?灵活变通、学习知识、了解规则、入乡随俗并充分利用。

您的看法是?

Judith

作者 Judith

Judith在艺术之都日惹市享受甜蜜生活,是一名业余葡萄酒爱好者。她喜欢尝试新风味,并乐在其中。最近,她正沉迷于一个新爱好,就是使用多种当地热带水果、香料及根茎自酿葡萄酒。

Jeden komentarz

Leave a Reply
  1. wow,由於亞洲人現在生活和宗教的連結性比較弱,因此從來沒想過葡萄酒銷量vs.宗教與地區之間的關係!很棒的分享!

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Loading…

0
全球10大极具性价比的葡萄酒产区

全球10大极具性价比的葡萄酒产区

意大利陳醋脆果肉

意大利陳醋脆果肉

How to Market Wine in Indonesia, Practical Guide

How to Market Wine in Indonesia, Practical Guide

You may have heard that Indonesia is one of the biggest markets in Asia. As a wine marketer, you may also want to know your chances of marketing your products there, but you’ve also heard that — wait, what? — Indonesia is a Muslim country. As a kind reminder, not everything you hear is true. So here it is, a fact-based overview for you, with a practical guide as a bonus. 

An Overview of Indonesia

How to Market Wine in Indonesia, Practical Guide
Credit: Alex Block

1. Indonesia is not a religion-based country

Yes, the majority of the Indonesian population is Muslim, 87.2% to be exact. And yes, in Islamic law alcoholic drinks such as wine are considered haram — prohibited to be consumed. But you might want to consider this: the population of Indonesia is about 264 million. Even the small 12.8% of non-Muslims is roughly 34 million people. And of course, not all of the 230 million Muslim population are actively religious, let alone resistant to an alcoholic beverage. 

Moreover, unless you live in the Aceh province with its Sharia law, Indonesian law is secular. This means that drinking alcohol is not illegal, and no one can be legally charged for merely drinking alcohol.

Things are a little bit different in Ramadhan, though. There are some religious communities who are prone to unlawfully banning the sale and consumption of alcoholic drinks, and even perform sweeps of low-class bars and billiards clubs — however, these places might not be your target market. Some regions might also implement local regulations on the operating hours of bars and clubs, and depending on the area, some are even forced to temporarily close during the Ramadhan. 

A kind note: Ramadhan is not a suitable time to promote and sell wine.   

2. Indonesia is one of the fastest-growing economies in Southeast Asia

Wine is considered a luxury in Indonesia, and you might have doubts about selling wine in a so-called underdeveloped country. But in 2019, the economic growth of Indonesia was 5.1%, making it one of the fastest-growing economies in Southeast Asia. More of the middle-class has elevated to the upper-middle-class, and more of the upper-middle-class has elevated to the upper-class. Additionally, by 2018 the urbanization rate had reached 55.33%. This means two things for consumers: higher purchasing power, and increased familiarity with the urban lifestyle. For wine marketers, it means only one thing: greater opportunity. 

3. Indonesians care a lot about social status

You might already know that this trait is quite common in Eastern culture. You care a lot about what people say about you, and you take great care to seem impressive. And what more impressive way to elevate your social status than by having obvious economic power? What more obvious sign of your economic power than your ability to purchase luxury items?  

FYI, it’s not just about nice houses, nice cars, name-brands, or a long list of exotic traveling experience. In more moderate upper-class communities, the status marker includes having a glass cabinet full of expensive drinks. It also includes drinking wine on occasion, whether for a fancy romantic dinner or a festive family gathering. 

4. A little perspective on the EU-Indonesia Trade War 

How to Market Wine in Indonesia, Practical Guide
Credit: Tom Fisk

At the end of 2019, Reuters published an article titled “European Liquor Off the Menu in Indonesia as Trade Row Escalates.” In summary, the article stated the following. When the EU concluded that palm oil was not environmentally friendly and should be phased out as a transportation fuel, Indonesia, as the top palm oil producer, felt threatened and started banning the importation of alcoholic beverages and dairy products from Europe. However, the Indonesian Ministry of Trade denied this and argued that the delay in granting import licenses was instead due to market preferences. 

If you are a European wine marketer, this news might be concerning. You might also get a little bit confused. Is the ban official? And since the trade war has been going on since 2017, why could European wine still be easily found in Indonesia as late as 2018-2019? Some perspective is needed here. 

First, since the Indonesian government employs a quota system, the ban doesn’t need to be official. The government is simply not releasing the quota for European wine as a strategy to elevate its bargaining position. Second, European wine could still easily be found because the quota for 2018 had already been released, and had secured a good amount of stock until around mid-2019. By the end of 2019, many importers were running low or out of stock of European wines, and at that point the black market began to rise again. Any new European wine with vintage 2019 is clearly coming from the black market. 

To say the least, the case has currently been brought by the Indonesian government to the World Trade Organization (WTO) to be settled. Therefore, this could be just a temporary issue until the Indonesian government and the EU reach a deal through the negotiations — that’s what we hope for. These are some notes to keep in mind, though:

If you are a European wine marketer, hold on for a little while longer, and don’t make any decisions regarding targeting the Indonesian market until everything is settled. There are many other Southeast Asian countries that you could target – Thailand or Vietnam, for instance. Be careful with Malaysia, though, as Malaysia is another big producer of palm oil. However, their reaction so far has been softer and there isn’t any kind of ban yet on European wine. Lastly, if you are a wine marketer from outside of Europe—especially Australia—this might be your big chance!    

5. Alcoholic Drink Regulation in Indonesia

The procurement, distribution, and sale of alcoholic beverages in Indonesia is regulated by the Ministry of Trade through ministerial regulation No. 25 of 2019. There are 3 classes of alcoholic beverages: Class A includes any beverages that contain up to 5% ethyl alcohol or ethanol (C2H5OH); Class B includes any beverages that contain between 5% and 20% alcohol; Class C contains between 20% and 50% alcohol. Wine is classified as Class B. 

According to this regulation, the distributor, seller, and importer of alcoholic beverages need to have a trade permit prior to doing business. The production, importation, and distribution of Class B and Class C beverages in Indonesia are controlled by the regional government. Those who can import alcoholic beverages of Class A, B and C are companies that have been authorized as registered importers of alcoholic beverages by the minister. Neither distributors nor importers are permitted for retail, and both distributors and importers must have at least two years of experience in beverage distribution.  

Places that are allowed to sell alcoholic beverages are 3-star or better hotels, bars, and restaurants that meet the requirements according to tourism laws, as well as duty-free shops. They must have a trade permit to sell alcoholic beverages. These places also cannot be close to places of worship, educational institutions, or hospitals. Alcoholic beverages can only be sold to consumers who are 21+.   

Practical Guide to Marketing Wine in Indonesia

1. Target the Urban Area

Since wine is considered to be a luxury, the best markets to target are the upper-middle-class and upper-class, foreign tourists, and wine lover communities. Distribute your products to the 3, 4, and 5-star hotels. Some of the urban areas you can target are Jakarta, Surabaya, Bandung, Balikpapan, Manado, and Makassar.  

2. Target Bali 

How to Market Wine in Indonesia, Practical Guide
Credit: Cassie Gallegos

Bali is such an alluring paradise for foreign tourists: the culture, the food, the panorama. In 2019, about 7.5 million foreign tourists visited Bali. These foreign tourists are a suitable target market for your wine products, and as a wine marketer, you should put Bali in your list of priority markets.

3. Take advantage of the holiday season

Wine is associated with festivities and celebrations, so promoting your products in holiday seasons is one of the best ways to increase sales. Some of the most suitable holidays to promote your wine for family celebrations are New Year’s Eve, Chinese New Year, and Christmas. Valentine’s Day is also a good time to promote your wine, as wine is the perfect company for romantic dinners. You can even organize holiday-themed events and exhibitions in crowded malls to promote and market your products. Remember, discounts and bundle packages always work! 

4. Open your Wine Lounge

In a megapolitan like Jakarta, some of the wine distributors are beginning to open wine lounges. These lounges become a new option for the upper-class as a comfortable place to hang out or meet up. In these lounges, fancy meals such as premium steaks are served to pair with the wine. They also attract customers with exclusive features such as hotspots, privileged member cards, and delivery services.  

5. Educate your Customers

Some of the big distributors will also develop wine education and wine tasting programs. By educating customers, you will maintain their loyalty, expand your community, and have more opportunities to gain new customers. 

6. Promote your products through social media

Indonesia is one of the countries with the highest number of Internet users in the world. As of December 2017, 143.3 million Indonesians were active Internet users. 29.63% of this number access the Internet for 4-7 hours daily, while another 26.48% use the Internet for more than 7 hours a day. As the promotion of alcoholic beverages through TV ads is banned, social media promotion is one of the best ways to promote your wine to customers, right in the palms of their hands. Make official accounts, carry out give-away programs, and use influencer marketing to increase your sales!

7. Create New Variants

To expand your market, there are some other variants that you could consider creating. The first is cheaper variants. The wine variants with the highest sales numbers are those in the range of IDR 200,000 – IDR 500,000 (USD 15 – USD 35). 

The second variant you might want to create is a sacramental wine. There are about 11,000 Catholic churches and a total of 61,000 churches in Indonesia, who hold a mass every day or every week. These churches can be very loyal customers if you can give them a good offer.

The last variant is a 0% alcohol variant. As alcoholic beverage sales are banned from convenience stores, supermarkets, and hypermarkets, some alcoholic beverage—especially beer—producers have invented 0% alcohol variants. This might be your chance to penetrate the general stores and gain new markets.  

8. Keep yourself up-to-date on the laws, regulations, and political situation

This is very crucial for the sustainability of your business. The alcoholic beverage industry is a tough business, and you don’t want to end up failing, or—even worse—in jail, right? Be flexible, be literate, and understand the rules. Get along with it, to get the most out of it.

What do you think?

Judith

Written by Judith

A casual wine lover who enjoys a sweet life in the artistic city of Yogyakarta. She likes to have fun exploring new tastes. Recently picked a new hobby of brewing homemade wine using various local tropical fruits, spices, and roots.

Comments

Leave a Reply
  1. Good read, Judith. Seems like Indonesia’s wine market is somewhat similar to what we have in the Philippines. Thanks for putting all these data together. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0
10 Best Value Wine Regions Around the World

10 Best Value Wine Regions Around the World

Crispy Pork Fillet Stuffed with peach tossed in black vinaigrette pineapple sauce

Crispy Pork Fillet Stuffed with peach tossed in black vinaigrette pineapple sauce