ZH-HANS
Wine 101 - New Latitude Wines
Home » 新纬度-亚洲葡萄酒

新纬度-亚洲葡萄酒

这是一批新的葡萄酒产地

以前,葡萄酒产地分两类:旧世界和新世界葡萄酒。两者之间有许多不同之处。而现在第三类叫做新纬度葡萄酒产地、这包括亚洲部分地区、美国南部、北非以及南美洲北部的部分地区。

旧世界和新世界葡萄酒产地

首先,让我们来定义一下旧世界和新世界的葡萄酒。旧世界葡萄酒是指葡萄酒的产地是酿酒和酿酒葡萄的起源地。这些国家包括法国、意大利、葡萄牙、西班牙、德国、奥地利、匈牙利和其他欧洲国家。

新世界葡萄酒是指葡萄酒的产地是酿酒技术和酿酒葡萄进口的国家和地区。这些国家包括美国、澳大利亚、新西兰、南非、智利、阿根廷、加拿大和其他国家。

显然,旧世界葡萄酒酿造国和新世界葡萄酒酿造国的纬度都相对一样,确切地说在30˚-50˚之间。这是种植葡萄的理想纬度,与世界其他地区相比,这里的温度最适合。大多数葡萄需要150到170天的有效积温或者天气温度要超过50度、这样葡萄树就可以生长、开花、结果。

一些葡萄品种能够经受严冬,而另一些品种则喜欢较温暖的冬天。当然,葡萄不能在非常炎热和潮湿的气候(热带气候)或过于干燥和土壤养分缺乏的气候(沙漠)中茁壮成长。

新纬度葡萄酒

新纬度葡萄酒被认为是种植在纬度50˚以上或30˚以下的地区和国家的葡萄酿造的葡萄酒。这些区域属于热带气候或非常干燥气候,因此很难种植葡萄,然而泰国、缅甸、印度尼西亚、越南和许多其他国家都依然迎难而上种植了葡萄。

接近纬度30˚指标的国家比其他国家更容易种植葡萄。那些低于纬度30˚指标的地区往往太热,要不就是雨水过多或过少。

热带气候给酿酒师带来了很多难题。因为在如此多的雨水及湿度条件,葡萄酒被真菌和霉菌毁坏的风险很高。在一些地区,气候条件达不到葡萄树进入休眠期的要求。而只有在冬天,葡萄树才能进入休眠期,这时叶子脱落,为下一季储存养分。

在北纬50˚以上地区种植的葡萄,由于气温太低,一年中大部分时间葡萄树都处于休眠状态,没有充足的阳光使葡萄完全成熟。

对新纬度葡萄酒厂来说,最大的挑战是驯化葡萄树在恰当的季节葡萄生长进入成熟期。如果没有驯化好,这些葡萄可能会在雨季就要采摘,此时差不多是北美的冬天。

低纬度葡萄酒

低纬度葡萄酒是葡萄酒界新近出现的现象,因而是该面对在低纬度种植葡萄的新挑战了,虽然人类已经在世界许多地区种植了葡萄。种植者正在提高他们控制气候的能力,使他们的葡萄树适应新的环境。

科学家们一直致力于培育葡萄品种,能够在在曾经以为的恶劣环境下能成功种植。这一点在一些新世界的葡萄酒产地可以证实,比如纽约,那里种植的葡萄就不那么对霜冻和极寒敏感。

杀虫剂、除草剂和杀菌剂带来的后果会影响低纬度葡萄酒的酿造。与其他葡萄酒产地相比,低纬度很多地方有不同种类的害虫和蚜虫,一些潮湿地区还极易受真菌和霉菌问题困扰。

即使那些雨水似乎很多的产地,也早已利用灌溉来阻止葡萄树进入休眠期。葡萄树不休眠,就会继续结葡萄,一些产地已成功获得两次丰收。而其他产地则试图强迫他们的葡萄树进入休眠期,以种植品质更高的葡萄,并保护土壤中的矿物质。

泰国

泰国位于东南亚,其葡萄酒已开始受到国际社会的关注。鲜食葡萄种植于20世纪60年代,以后便推广到酿酒葡萄种植。在这种热带气候下种植葡萄面对的困境是腐烂、真菌和霉菌,然而,白马拉加却在漂浮的葡萄园里取得了成功,采摘的葡萄用独木舟运回陆地。

这种葡萄厚厚的果皮有助于应对大量的降雨和湿度,还能经得起短期休眠,成熟也较慢,非常适合热带气候。

印尼

即使印尼气候不适宜,以及受伊斯兰教影响葡萄酒饮用者不多,但该国葡萄酒产量和质量都有所提高。然而,在葡萄汁常常进口的情况下,酿酒葡萄的种植也有了增加。

他们现在种植麝香葡萄家族的各种品种。厚皮白葡萄适合温暖和潮湿的气候。虽然这里的大部分葡萄酒都是供本地消费,但很快就会在国际市场上看到他们的身影。

印度

印度是第一个成功拥有葡萄酒产业的亚洲国家之一,但在葡萄根瘤蚜泛滥之后,人们开始集中种植鲜食葡萄和葡萄干葡萄。即使这样,我们看到种植酿酒葡萄已经有了很大的增长。

在这样一个幅员辽阔、气候多样、区域各异的国家,适合葡萄种植的区域很多。大多数葡萄园集中在马哈拉施特拉邦和卡纳塔克邦,这里气候有时候一年还能采摘两次。

中国

中国是亚洲最大的葡萄酒生产国,最近在国际上得到了认可。这里酿造的葡萄酒大多用于国内消费,在国际市场上难觅踪影。

著名的酿酒产地有:北京、烟台、张家口、吉林、山西和宁夏。红、白葡萄酒均有酿造,尤其是法国品种。

新纬度葡萄酒正在崛起,并在国际上得到了积极的认可。随着新产地的开发以及专门克隆葡萄品种以应对环境,葡萄酒产量将会增加,一旦国内需求得到满足,这些葡萄酒进入国际市场的未来可期。

高纬度葡萄酒

高纬度地区的葡萄酒大多产自斯堪的纳维亚国家,与低纬度地区的葡萄种植者相比,他们面临着截然相反的困境。这些地区很难获得足够的阳光,且葡萄树有可能会被冻坏,尤其在严寒的冬天。在这里劳动力成本很高,因而葡萄酒也非常昂贵。

在这里酿造葡萄酒也有好处。种植葡萄几乎没有发生霉菌、霉病、真菌和昆虫问题的风险,因而抗寒葡萄品种的开发早已迅速增加。

丹麦

丹麦是第一个开始酿造葡萄酒的斯堪的纳维亚国家,现在有50多个种植园。他们专注于酿造白葡萄酒、甜酒和汽泡酒。最多的品种有雷司令(Riesling)、白皮诺(Pinot Blanc)和米勒吐尔高(Muller Thurgau)。

丹麦一直专注于提高葡萄酒产业内的旅游业,甚至有一条葡萄酒之路,尽管其中大部分集中在国内范围。

瑞典

瑞典主要种植梅洛、朗多、黑皮诺和霞多丽。在所有高纬度产地中是酿造红葡萄酒最多的国家。和丹麦一样,生产成本很高,所以葡萄酒非常昂贵。

瑞典葡萄酒酿造商面临的一个特定问题是,他们无法在酒庄合法销售葡萄酒。葡萄酒必须卖给政府经营的酒类商店。因而不可能开发任何类型的葡萄酒旅游产业。

奇怪的是,瑞典有相当多的葡萄酒培训中心,他们非常重视对葡萄酒从业人员的培训。

挪威

与大多数高纬度国家相比,这里种植的葡萄品种更多,几乎所有的白葡萄品种这里都种。雷司令(Riesling)、米勒吐尔高(Muller Thurgau)、白皮诺(Pinot Blanc)和威代尔(Vidal)是最受欢迎的。一些种植者已经成功地培育出可以在室内种植的葡萄树。

挪威也是世界上最北端的葡萄种植地。波恩·伯格姆(Bjorn Bergum)在北纬61.2˚种植葡萄。

葡萄酒行业正在经历一些非常有趣的变化,并的确将葡萄酒带至从未触及的地方。低纬度和高纬度葡萄酒在商店和整个葡萄酒市场常见只是时间问题。

科学家和农学家正在努力培育能够抵抗这些纬度问题的葡萄,使葡萄种植者能够年复一年地获得好收成。

克里斯蒂娜

克里斯蒂娜2016年毕业于中央华盛顿大学,获得全球葡萄酒研究理学学士学位。大学期间,她曾在法国学习和旅游,暑假曾在阿拉斯加工作。毕业后她在华盛顿她最喜欢的酒庄工作了几年,为追寻其他的生活目标,她搬去了阿拉斯加。从那以后,她一直在享受着观光和钓鱼的乐趣,同时继续她作为葡萄酒业的作家兼顾问的职业生涯。

添加评论

先入手吧!

注册邮箱,你将会收到亚洲葡萄酒最新的新闻动态、特价优惠及品酒邀请资讯。
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

加入亚洲新世界葡萄酒、啤酒和烈酒爱好者社区吧。

EN
Wine 101 - New Latitude Wines
Home » New Latitudes Wines

New Latitudes Wines

New Latitude Wines are made from grapes grown in regions and countries above the 50° latitude and below the 30° latitude in both hemispheres. 

They are separated into two categories: High Latitude Wines, which are produced in regions located above the 50° latitude; and Low Latitude Wines, which are produced in regions located below the 30° latitude.

These regions have a tropical or very dry climate, or struggle to get enough sunlight and have harsh winters that make it hard to grow grapes. Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, China, Norway, Denmark, and many other countries have taken on the challenge of cultivating grapes under these new latitudes.

A new group of wine regions

Previously, wine regions were part of one of two categories. Old World or New World wines. There are many differences between the two. However, there is now a third category called New Latitude wine regions. This includes parts of Asia, southern United States, northern Africa, as well as part of northern South America.

Old World and New World wine regions

To begin, let’s define the old world and new world wines. Old world wines are from wine regions where winemaking and wine grapes first originated. These countries include France, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Germany, Austria, Hungary, and other European countries.

New world wines are from countries and regions where wine grapes and winemaking practices were imported. These countries include the United States, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Chile, Argentina, Canada, and others.

You will notice, both old world and new world wine countries are in relatively the same latitudes 30-50 degrees to be exact. This is the ideal latitude to grow grapes and it presents the least amount of challenges compared to other parts of the world. Most grapes need about 150 to 170 growing degree days or days that are over 50 degrees. This allows the vines to grow, flower, and set the fruit.

Some grape varieties are able to withstand harsh winters while others prefer more mild winters. Of course, grapes are not able to thrive in climates that are very hot and humid (tropical climate) or those that are too dry and have nutrient deficient soils (deserts).

New Latitude Wines

New Latitude Wines are made from grapes grown in regions and countries above the 50° latitude and below the 30° latitude in both hemispheres. 

They are separated into two categories: High Latitude Wines, which are produced in regions located above the 50° latitude; and Low Latitude Wines, which are produced in regions located below the 30° latitude.

These regions have a tropical or very dry climate, or struggle to get enough sunlight and have harsh winters that make it hard to grow grapes. Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, China, Norway, Denmark, and many other countries have taken on the challenge of cultivating grapes under these new latitudes.

Countries close to the 30-degree mark can grow grapes easier than other countries. Those below the 30-degree latitude mark are often too hot and have either too much or too little water.

Tropical climates invite many challenges to winemakers. Because there is such an abundance of water and humidity, there is a high risk for fungus and mildew damage. In some areas, the climate doesn’t allow the vines to go into their dormant phase. This is what happens in the winters when the vines go to sleep, shed their leaves, and store their nutrients for the next season.

Those growing above 50 degrees latitude have too cold of a temperature. The vines are dormant most of the year and there is not enough sun to fully ripen the grapes.

The biggest challenge for new latitude wineries is to train the vines to enter their reproductive cycle, when the grapes grow, during the right season. If not, the grapes could be ready to harvest during monsoon season, which would be equivalent to North America’s winter.

Low Latitude Wines

Low latitude wines are the newest phenomenon in the world of wine. While we have executed the growing of grapes in many regions of the world, it is time to take on a new challenge. Growers are increasing their ability to control their climate and adapt their vines to new environments.

Scientists have been working to cultivate grapes that are able to grow successfully in what used to be considered harsh environments. You see this in some New World wine regions such as New York, where grapes are cultivated to not be so susceptible to frost and extremely cold temperatures.

The effects that pesticides, herbicides, and fungicides have is pertinent to the production of low latitude wines. Many of these places have different pests and aphids than other wine growing regions and some humid areas are extremely susceptible to fungus and mold issues.

Even areas that seem to have lots of water already are using irrigation in order to take advantage of vines not going dormant. Some areas are able to successfully have two harvests because the vines do not go dormant they continue to grow grapes. Others are trying to force their vines to have a dormancy period in order to grow higher quality grapes and conserve the minerals in the soil.

Thailand

Located in Southeast Asia, Thailand has been starting to gain international attention for its wine. Table grapes were plants in the 1960s and that has since expanded into wine grapes. Rot, fungus, and mildew are struggles of growing grapes in this tropical climate, however, Malaga Blanc has been successful on the floating vineyards where picked grapes are transported back to land by canoe.

The grapes thick skins help cope with the heavy amounts of rainfall and humidity. The grapes are also able to withstand a shorter dormancy period and are slower to ripen, being a good fit for a tropical climate.

Indonesia

Despite a climatical challenge and lack of wine drinkers due to the Muslim influences, Indonesia has seen an increase in the amount and quality of wine produced. Often, the grape juice is imported, however, there has also been an increase in the planting of Vitis Vinifera.

They are planting a variety of members from the Muscat family. A thick-skinned white grape that is compatible with warmer and damper climates. While most wine production from here is for local consumption, we are sure to see some in the international markets soon.

India

India was one of the first Asian countries to have a successful wine industry until the phylloxera epidemic hit. After that there was a focus on growing table grapes and raisins, however, we have seen a large increase in the planting of wine grapes.  

Being such a huge land mass with a large variety of climates and regions, there are many areas suitable for vines. The climate can also produce two yields a year in some cases. Most vineyards are concentrated in Maharashtra and Karnataka.

China

China is the top producer of wine for all of Asia and has been recently recognized on an international scale. Most wine produced here is used for domestic consumption and it is rare to find Chinese wines on the international market.

Notable wine-producing regions include Beijing, Yantai, Zhangjiakou, Jilin, Shanxi, and Ningxia. Red and white wine is produced here, especially French varietals.

New latitude wines are on the rise and being positively recognized on an international scale. As new regions are developed and grapes are specially cloned to deal with the environments, wine production will increase. Once the domestic demand is satisfied, expect to see these wines on the international market.

High Latitude Wines

High latitude wines, which are mostly grown in Scandinavian countries, have the opposite struggles than those of Low Latitude grape growers. These regions struggle to get enough sunlight and have the potential of frozen vines in, especially harsh winters. It is also very expensive to produce wine here because the cost of labor is high.

There are also benefits to producing wine here. The development of cold-resistant grapes has increased dramatically and there is little to no risk of issues with mold, mildew, fungus, and insects.

Denmark

Denmark was the first of the Scandinavian countries to start producing wine and is now home to more than 50 growers. They focus on the production of whites, dessert wines, and sparkling wines. Riesling, Pinot Blanc, and Muller Thurgau are the most produced wines.

There is even a wine trail in Denmark and they have been focused on increasing tourism within their wine industry, although most of it is focused on a domestic scale.

Sweden

Sweden focuses on growing Merlot, Rondo, Pinot Noir, and Chardonnay. It produces the most reds out of all the high latitude regions. Like Denmark, the cost of production is high so the wines are quite expensive.

A unique challenge that Swedish wine producers face is the fact that they cannot legally sell wine at the wineries. Wine must be sold to government-run alcohol shops. This makes the ability to have any sort of wine tourism industry quite impossible.

Oddly enough, Sweden is home to quite a few wine education centers and they have a large focus on educating their workers in the wine industry.

Norway

Riesling, Muller Thurgau, Pinot Blanc, and Vidal are some of the most popular grapes grown here. It is almost all white grapes grown here and they have more variety than most high latitude countries. Some growers have successfully cultivated vines to be grown indoors.

Norway is also home to the northernmost grown grapes in the world. Bjorn Bergum grows grapes at 61.2 degrees north.

The wine industry is going through some very interesting changes and literally taking wine where it has never been before. It is only a matter of time until these low and high latitude wines are seen in stores and a regular thing in all wine markets.

Scientists and agriculturalists are working hard to cultivate grapes that are resistant to the challenges of these latitudes and allow grape growers to have successful harvest year after year.

Christina

Christina graduated from Central Washington University in 2016 with a Bachelor of Science in Global Wine Studies. Amidst her studying and traveling to France, she worked in Alaska during the summers of her college years. After graduating and working in Washington at her favorite wineries for a couple years, she made the move up to Alaska to pursue other life goals. She has since been enjoying the views and the fishing while continuing her career in the wine industry as writer/consultant.

2 comments

Get it first!

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends in Asia, plus special offers and wine tasting invitations.
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

Join the New Wine & Spirits Lovers Community in Asia.