ZH-HANS
Wine 101 - What is Wine
Home » 葡萄酒是什么?

葡萄酒是什么?

葡萄酒是由什么制成的?

葡萄酒是由葡萄发酵酿成的酒精饮料。也有由水果发酵酿成的果酒或叫乡村酒。然而,传统意义上的葡萄酒就是指由酿酒葡萄酿制而成的。

我们吃的葡萄和酿酒葡萄有什么不同?

你吃的葡萄与酿酒葡萄品种不同。大多数葡萄酒都是用酿酒葡萄酿造的而鲜食葡萄则是蓝布鲁斯科葡萄或其他品种。

两者之间有许多不同之处。鲜食葡萄产量高、果粒大、果皮薄、糖度和酸度低,总体风味较轻淡。酿酒葡萄果粒比鲜食葡萄小,产量偏低、果皮厚、糖分和酸度高,总体味道浓郁。这也是葡萄酒结构和风味的来源。

葡萄酒构成元素

现代葡萄酒酿造由许多要素组成,共同创造出最终的产品。

葡萄

只有好葡萄才能酿出好酒!虽然本地品种至今仍在种植,但自那时起,葡萄藤被运往世界各地,每天都有新的葡萄品种被培育出来以适应在想要的气候和地区生长。

酵母

葡萄和所有水果都含有酵母,当葡萄汁暴露在空气中时,酵母会开始发酵。虽然一些酿酒师还在使用本土酵母,但大多数酿酒师已选择使用商业化的精选酵母产品了。

酵母产生的副产品会产生某些的风味,以及突显葡萄酒的不同方面。酿酒师可以根据自己的需要选择特定的商业酵母来实现自己想要的结果。

葡萄在采摘期间的酸度是非常重要的。这是一款平衡葡萄酒最重要的方面之一,这也有助于陈酿。一些新世界酿酒厂为了创造自己想要的葡萄酒,在酿酒过程中会添加酸。

而在大多数旧世界葡萄酒产地,使用酸性添加剂是违法的,所以葡萄种植者不得不特别关注葡萄园里葡萄的生长情况,一旦酸度达到最高时就要采摘。

单宁

单宁自然存在于葡萄皮和葡萄籽中,也存在于用来陈酿葡萄酒的橡木桶和橡木片中。单宁味苦,与葡萄酒颜色一致。它增添了葡萄酒的特质和酒体,并使其更好地陈酿。

单宁含量高的葡萄酒会让你的口腔感觉干燥和粘稠。红葡萄酒由于是带皮发酵的,故而单宁含量比白葡萄酒要高得多。

添加剂

现代酿酒师在酿酒过程中使用添加剂已成惯例。虽然这些添加剂中有些在一些地区是非法的,但在大多数新世界国家却是标准做法。

在葡萄酒发酵过程中添加酶是为了阻止本地酵母中的有害酶超过有益酶。就像商业酵母一样,使用培养酶已经让酿酒师得益良多。

硫磺作为抗氧化保护剂被添加到葡萄酒中。有机葡萄酒或不含硫的葡萄酒老化速度太快,寿命短,而且氧化速度比含硫葡萄酒快得多。

阿拉伯树胶是葡萄酒酿造中常用配料,用来保持葡萄酒香气,让它们闻起来香味浓郁。

加入多糖是为了保持葡萄酒的单宁、色泽和风味;可以有更长的陈酿时间。

澄清剂

遗憾的是,很多葡萄酒都不是素食。几个世纪以来,用动物副产品来澄清和过滤葡萄酒是一种常见的做法。现代仍然使用蛋清、明胶、膨润土作澄清剂,这有助于葡萄酒过滤。

加入澄清剂后,葡萄酒必须经过大型过滤机过滤掉澄清剂及所有其他颗粒。

单一品种葡萄酒与混合葡萄酒

与普遍的看法相反,在某种程度上几乎所有的葡萄酒都是混合的。在大多数葡萄酒产地,法律允许在单一品种葡萄酒中可以混入高达15%的另一种葡萄酒,且还能被称为由主要葡萄酿造的单一品种葡萄酒酒。

这些单一品种葡萄酒混合了少量其他葡萄酒,是为了创造一个特质以及修复小缺陷,比如在酸度低的葡萄酒中加入高酸度的葡萄酒。

受欢迎的混合酒,如罗纳或波尔多混合酒,含有多种不同的葡萄品种。这使得酿酒师能创造出独特的葡萄酒,将他们渴望的葡萄酒风味和特质突显出来。

不同口味的葡萄酒

葡萄酒具有多种特质,这些对葡萄酒的整体品质都非常重要。酿制精良的葡萄酒具有平衡的特质。

酸度

葡萄酒的酸度起着非常重要的作用。大多数葡萄酒都是酸性的。当你喝完葡萄酒后,根据唾液量你就知道该酒的酸度了。酸的口感清爽、清新,并经常带有柑橘类水果或未成熟水果的风味。

甜度

葡萄酒可以是极干的,也可以是非常甜的。传统的葡萄酒是干型或半干型,晚收葡萄酒和甜酒除外。甜度能增加葡萄酒酒体。果味为主的果酒常与甜葡萄酒混淆。

单宁

单宁也会使你的口腔变干,因而常与葡萄酒的干度相混淆。单宁有苦味和草本味。单宁、酸度平衡良好的葡萄酒可以陈酿很好。大多数白葡萄酒的单宁含量都很低,你可以根据喝过以后口腔的干燥程度和粗涩感,测试红葡萄酒中的单宁含量。

酒精度

一般来说,白葡萄酒的酒精度比红葡萄酒低,一些甜酒的酒精度则能高达40%。大多数白葡萄酒的酒精度在8-11%之间,而大多数红葡萄酒的酒精度在11-13%之间。

通过喝下葡萄酒然后呼气来测试酒精含量度。灼烧感的程度能有助于你准确指出酒精度。

酒体

通常酒体类型完全取决于葡萄的品种和酿酒师葡萄酒做法的影响。葡萄酒的酒体常与牛奶的脂肪含量作比较,酒体轻盈的葡萄酒给人的感觉就像在喝脱脂牛奶,而口感醇厚酒体饱满的葡萄酒会让人感觉像是在喝全脂牛奶。

酿酒师是做什么的?

用鲜食葡萄酿制葡萄酒是可行的,只是淡而无味。葡萄本身已天然拥有酿酒所需要的一切(酵母和糖),而大部分酿酒师自己调控这些因素。

他们使用特制的商业酵母来帮助他们引导葡萄酒向他们想要的方向进行,在一些国家和地区,如果他们想要更高酒精度或更甜的葡萄酒,可以添加糖。酿酒师控制着葡萄的生长、采摘、酒里加什么以及为什么加、混合不同的葡萄酒、过滤、装瓶、以及更多。

克里斯蒂娜

克里斯蒂娜2016年毕业于中央华盛顿大学,获得全球葡萄酒研究理学学士学位。大学期间,她曾在法国学习和旅游,暑假曾在阿拉斯加工作。毕业后她在华盛顿她最喜欢的酒庄工作了几年,为追寻其他的生活目标,她搬去了阿拉斯加。从那以后,她一直在享受着观光和钓鱼的乐趣,同时继续她作为葡萄酒业的作家兼顾问的职业生涯。

添加评论

先入手吧!

注册邮箱,你将会收到亚洲葡萄酒最新的新闻动态、特价优惠及品酒邀请资讯。
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

加入亚洲新世界葡萄酒、啤酒和烈酒爱好者社区吧。

What is Wine?

What is wine made from?

Wine is an alcoholic drink made from fermented grapes. There are also fruit wines, or country wines, that is made from fermented fruits. However, wine in the traditional sense is made from wine grapes.

What are the differences in the grapes we eat and wine grapes?

What are the differences in the grapes we eat and wine grapes?

The grapes that you eat are different breeds than wine grapes. Most wine grapes are Vitis Vinifera species while table grapes are made from Vitis Lambrusca or other species.

There are many differences between the two. Table grapes have high production, are large in size, have thin skins, have less sugar and acidity, and overall less flavor. Wine grapes yield less per vine, are smaller than table grapes, have thicker skins, more sugar and acidity, and overall more flavor. This is what gives wine structure and flavor.

Elements that compose the wine

Elements that compose the wine

Modern-day winemaking consists of many elements that create the final product. 

Grapes

You must have good grapes to make good wine! While indigenous species are still used today, vines have since been transported all over the world and new grapes are being cultivated daily in order to grow in the desired climate and region.

Yeast

Grapes and all fruits naturally contain yeast that begins to ferment the juice when it is exposed. While some winemakers still choose to utilize indigenous yeasts, the production of commercial selected yeast is what the majority of winemakers choose to use.

Yeasts produce byproducts that produce certain flavors and accentuate different aspects of the wine. Winemakers are able to choose specific commercial yeasts based on their desired outcome for that varietal.

Acid

The acidity of the grape during harvest is extremely important. It is one of the most important aspects of a balanced wine and helps with the aging. Some New World wineries will add acid during the winemaking process in order to create their desired wines.

It is unlawful in most Old World wine regions to use acid additives, so the grape growers have to be especially mindful of what is happening in the vineyard and harvest when the acid is highest in the grapes.

Tannins

Tannins are naturally occurring in the skins and seeds of plants. They are also found in the oak barrels and chips used to age wine. They taste bitter and contain the color that you see in the wines. Tannins add character and body to wine and allow them to age well.

High tannins wines will make your mouth feel dry and sticky. Red wines have much higher amounts of tannins than white wines because they are fermented with the skins on. 

Additives

Modern winemakers routinely use additives during the winemaking process. While some of these additives are illegal in some regions, they are standard practice in most New World countries. 

Enzymes are added to wines during fermentation in order to prevent bad indigenous yeast from growing and overtaking the beneficial yeast. Just like with commercial yeasts, enzymes have become cultivated to have different benefits for winemakers.

Sulfur is added to wine as an anti-oxidative preserver. Organic wines or wines that are free of sulfur will age too quickly, have a shorter lifespan, and oxidate much faster than wines with sulfur added.

Gum arabic has been a common ingredient in the making of wine in order to preserve aromas and make them smell richer. 

Polysaccharides are added in order to preserve the wines tannins, color, and flavor; allowing it to age longer. 

Fining Agents

Unfortunately, many wines are not vegan. The use of animal parts as ingredients for fining and filtering wine has been a common practice for centuries. Egg whites, gelatin, and bentonite clay are still modern day fining agents that help to filter your wine.

After fining agents are used, wines are forced through large machine filters that take out these fining agents and any other particles. 

Single Varietal vs. Blended Wines

Contrary to popular belief, almost all wines are blends to some extent. In most wine regions, you can legally have up to 15% of another varietal in wine and still call it a single varietal of the dominant grape. 

These single varietal wines have a bit of other wine blended into it to create a character and fix small flaws, like adding a highly acidic wine to one that lacks acidity.

Popular blends like Rhone or Bordeaux blends have multiple different grape varieties in them. This allows winemakers to create unique wines that accentuate flavors and characteristics that they desire their wine to have. 

Different tastes of wines

Different tastes of wines

Wine has a variety of characteristics that are all very important to the overall quality of the wine. A wine that is well-made will have balanced characteristics.

Acidity

The acidity in a wine plays a very important role. Most wines are fairly acidic. You can tell how much acidity is in wine by how much you salivate after you drink it. The acidity will take crisp, zesty, and often create citrus or unripe fruit flavors. 

Sweetness

Wines can range from bone dry to very sweet. Traditionally wines are made to be dry or off-dry with the exception of late-harvest and dessert wines. Sweetness can add body to a wine. A wine that is fruit forward is often confused with a sweet wine. 

Tannins

Tannins can often be confused with the dryness of the wine because they dry out your mouth. They can taste bitter and herbaceous. Wines that have a good balance of tannins and acidity can age well. While most white wines are very low in tannins, you can test the amount of tannins in red wine by how much they dry out your mouth and the feeling of roughness it leaves behind in your mouth.

Alcohol

Typically, white wines have a lower alcohol level than red wines and some dessert wines can have up to 40% alcohol. Most white wines are in the 8-11% alcohol range while most red wines are in the 11-13% range. 

You can test the amount of alcohol by swallowing the wine and then breathing out. The level of burning sensation will help you to pinpoint the alcohol level.

Body

The level of body wine has is typically entirely dependent on the varietal of grape and the influence the winemaker’s practice has on the wine. The body of wine can typically be compared to the fat levels in milk. Light body wines will feel like you are drinking skim milk, while rich and full body wines will feel like you are drinking whole milk.

What does a winemaker do?

Making wine from table grapes would work, it would just be very diluted and bland. While grapes have everything they need to naturally make wine (yeast and sugar), most winemakers control these factors themselves. 

They use special commercial yeasts that will help them steer the wine in the direction they want and in some countries and regions they can add sugar if they desire higher alcohol or sweeter wine. Winemakers control the growth of the grapes, harvest, what is added to the wine and why, blending of different wines, filtering, bottling, and much more. 

What do you think?

Christina

Written by Christina

Christina graduated from Central Washington University in 2016 with a Bachelor of Science in Global Wine Studies. Amidst her studying and traveling to France, she worked in Alaska during the summers of her college years. After graduating and working in Washington at her favorite wineries for a couple years, she made the move up to Alaska to pursue other life goals. She has since been enjoying the views and the fishing while continuing her career in the wine industry as writer/consultant.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0
What Are New Latitude Wines | Asian Wines

New Latitudes Wines