Learn About Winetpl_newsletterWine

葡萄酒瓶尺寸指南

选择自己喜爱的葡萄酒。观察其在杯中所呈现出的颜色,享受其特殊芬芳,品尝其风味与口感,感受其悠长余味。如果您能将一瓶相当于10杯葡萄酒的葡萄酒瓶一把握于手中,感觉怎么样?那20杯呢?或100杯?或200杯?

虽然不确定您珍爱的葡萄酒是否有大瓶装,但可以肯定的是,令人深感不可思议的大瓶葡萄酒确实存在(虽然750毫升的葡萄酒已令人心满意足)。继续阅读此篇关于酒瓶尺寸的文章,沉浸于葡萄酒魅力的同时,对圣经中的国王和著名历史人物有所了解。 

葡萄酒瓶尺寸完整指南 | 学习葡萄酒知识

短笛瓶或小瓶装

为引起大家的兴趣,我们先从小瓶装开始介绍。187.5ml瓶装的葡萄酒正好相当于一杯葡萄酒。此种酒瓶被称为“短笛瓶”或“小瓶装”,如您想要独饮,或在购买标准装之前先行品尝以进行新品测试,可选择此种尺寸。其通常用来容纳香槟。

半瓶装

如果和好友促膝谈心,或和伴侣浪漫相约,一瓶375ml的葡萄酒为最佳选择。此种尺寸被称为半瓶装,相当于2.5杯葡萄酒。

半升装或珍妮装

三人聚会时,选择500ml的半升装或珍妮装即可。其相当于3杯葡萄酒。

标准装

此为最为常见的酒瓶尺寸。750ml装,相当于5杯葡萄酒,是用餐的完美标配。

一升装

一升装的酒瓶相当于7杯葡萄酒。尺寸比标准装略大,同样是佐餐的完美之选。

马格南大酒瓶

此款1.5升装的酒瓶相当于10杯葡萄酒,堪称情场失意时借酒消愁的不二之选。开个玩笑!在拉丁语中,“马格南”代表“大”的意思,此种尺寸仍便于携带与倾倒,但小瓶葡萄酒与之相比,堪称小巫见大巫。马格南瓶适用于庆祝场合。大尺寸酒瓶的使用也暗藏一些陈年相关的秘诀,待下文详述。

耶罗波安瓶或双马格南瓶

3升装的耶罗波安瓶或双马格南瓶相当于20杯葡萄酒,因而在庆祝场合,此种尺寸绝对是不二之选。出于酿酒方面的考虑,与小瓶相比,葡萄酒在大瓶中的陈年速度更为缓慢,陈年潜力更为深厚。酒瓶越大,酒液与软木塞瓶口处的氧化空气接触的比例越小。此种空隙意味着葡萄酒损耗。此款酒瓶以圣经中的国王耶罗波安而命名,其为公元前930-909年以色列北部的统治者。

犹太王瓶、玛士撒拉瓶和亚述王瓶

罗波安是所罗门王的儿子之一,公元前931 – 913年任以色列国王。此款以其名字命名的4.5升装酒瓶相当于30杯葡萄酒。6升装的玛士撒拉瓶则以诺亚的祖父玛士撒拉而命名,他活了969岁,死于《旧约》大洪水的前一天。此款酒瓶相当于40杯葡萄酒,同样适用于聚会场合。需要注意的是,此种酒瓶在波尔多也称之为皇室瓶。毫无疑问,我们接下来将介绍的是需两人抬起进行倒酒的亚述王瓶。其容量为9升,相当于60杯葡萄酒(或一整箱标准瓶葡萄酒)。此款酒瓶以古亚述王的名字而命名。

珍宝王瓶、巴比伦王瓶和光之王瓶

巴尔萨泽此人颇为传奇。他不仅是以没药前来礼拜圣婴耶稣基督降生的东方三贤士之一,同时也是马其顿的国王。以其名命名的珍宝王瓶容量为12升,相当于80杯葡萄酒。而15升的巴比伦王瓶则相当于100杯葡萄酒。这位伟大的国王是新巴比伦王国在位时间最长的君主,在位时间约为公元前605-562年。

光之王瓶、所罗门瓶、君主瓶或巨人瓶

梅尔基奥是波斯国王,也是礼拜圣婴耶稣基督降生的东方三贤士之一。其送的贺礼为金子。以其命名的18升光之王瓶相当于120杯葡萄酒,与其慷慨大方不无关系。此款以远近闻名的所罗门王而命名的所罗门瓶容量为20升,相当于130杯葡萄酒。在某些宗教教义中,所罗门被视为先知和国王,据说他有700位王室妻子和300位嫔妃。所罗门瓶容量巨大,可一次性满足大量酒客的需求!26升的君主瓶相当于175杯葡萄酒,其后便是巨人瓶或歌利亚瓶。歌利亚为非利士巨人,因而此款酒瓶得名巨人瓶,其被公元前1000年左右统治以色列的大卫王打败。此款酒瓶相当于180杯葡萄酒。

麦基洗德瓶或迈达斯瓶

最后,我们要介绍的是最大尺寸的酒瓶:30升的麦基洗德瓶或迈达斯瓶,相当于整整200杯葡萄酒,令人惊叹不已。麦基洗德在《创世纪》中被尊称为撒冷王和大祭司,而在希腊神话中,迈达斯王则以点石成金而闻名于世。

为何存在此种以国王、先知和神话人物的名字来命名酒瓶尺寸的传统?其起源目前尚未可知,但自18世纪耶罗波安瓶香槟被引入之时起,随着酒瓶尺寸不断增大,这种传统便已形成。另一种学派认为酒瓶的使用意义非凡,毕竟酒瓶里中盛放的酒液承载着历史,以世界上最早的一些文化文献而命名。

谨记,虽然此种命名传统在很大程度上固定不变,但在法国也存在些许地区差异。关键之处在于,酒瓶越大,因陈年而产生的第三类香气则越浓郁。这就是为何真正的葡萄酒收藏家热衷窖藏一两瓶耶罗波安瓶葡萄酒!

Lucie Robson

Lucie Robson曾作为记者和编剧在国际媒体任职数十年之久,报道话题涵盖方方面面,但其最后决定转向自己所热爱的事物:葡萄酒。她接受过葡萄酒与烈酒基金会(WSET)的课程培训,曾为Vivino和国际葡萄酒暨烈酒大赛撰稿,并为各种机构撰写葡萄酒新闻和博客。对于Licie 而言,对葡萄酒的热爱并不仅限于品尝,在葡萄园中亲力亲为更具意义,而且她曾在全球著名的葡萄酒活动中担任幕后工作。在Lucie看来,对葡萄酒世界的探索是一场永无止境的冒险。无论其身处何地,都不会错过当地的卡瓦酒庄、酿酒厂或品酒会,如果无法实现,她自己的客厅中便会上演一场品酒沙龙。

相关文章

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
接收最新消息

订阅我们的时事通讯

注册即可获得最新的葡萄酒新闻和小窍门,以及特别优惠和大师课程邀请。

Learn About Winetpl_newsletterWine

Guide to Wine Bottle Sizes

Picture your favorite wine. See its color in your glass, enjoy its special aromas, appreciate its flavors and texture on your palate, and savor its lingering finish. How would you feel if you could get hold of a bottle of your beloved wine that contained ten glasses? Twenty? One hundred? Two hundred?

While it cannot be guaranteed that such a huge bottle of your treasured vino is out there, you can be sure that astonishingly mammoth bottles of wine do exist (and you thought you were in heaven with your 750ml). Read on for the rundown on wine bottle sizes and be prepared to indulge in some wine fantasies plus improve your knowledge of biblical kings and prominent ancient figures along the way. 

Complete Guide to Wine Bottle Sizes | Learn About Wine

Split or Piccolo

We will start small to whet your appetite. For one glass of wine, a 187.5 milliliter bottle is perfect. Named splits or piccolos, these bottles are ideal if you want a solo glass or are sampling a new wine and prefer to taste it before purchasing a standard bottle. This size is often used for one serving of Champagne.

Half or Demi 

For that tête-à-tête with a good friend or romantic get-together with your partner, a 375 milliliter bottle fits the bill. Known as a Half or a Demi, you get a comfortable 2.5 glasses of wine.

Half-liter or Jennie

Three may be a crowd but that does not matter when you have 500-milliliter Half-liter or Jennie bottle of wine. This size pours three glasses of wine.

Standard

This is the bottle size we are most familiar with. Containing 750 milliliters of wine or five regular glasses, the Standard bottle is the perfect fixture for the dinner table.

Liter

A Liter bottle yields 7 glasses of wine. It also has a welcome place at the dinner table as it stretches that bit further than a Standard bottle.

Magnum

This 1.5-liter bottle holds ten glasses so is perfect to drown your sorrows if your girlfriend leaves you. Just joking! A Magnum, which means “large” in Latin, is still in the territory of manageable for carrying and pouring yet it makes a whole different statement to smaller bottles. A Magnum says, “time to celebrate”. There is also some wine aging wisdom in the use of large bottles – but more on that next.

Jeroboam or Double Magnum

You get 20 glasses of wine from a 3-liter Jeroboam or Double Magnum, so this is definitely a celebration bottle. About that winemaking wisdom, wine in larger bottles ages more slowly and deeply than in smaller vessels. This is because it does not come into contact with that little bit of oxidizing air in the neck of the bottle between the cork and the wine as frequently. This pocket of air is called the ullage by the way. Here is your first biblical king as well; this size is named after Jeroboam who ruled in northern Israel from 930-909 BC.

Rehoboam, Methuselah, and Salmanazar

Rehoboam was one of King Solomon’s sons and King of Israel from 931 – 913 BC. His namesake 4.5-liter bottle holds 30 glasses of wine. Next up is the Methuselah 6-liter bottle size named after Noah’s grandfather who apparently lived for 969 years and died the day before the Old Testament flood! It is fitting that it holds 40 glasses making this another good party size. Note that in Bordeaux, this size is called an Imperial. We are most certainly entering the territory of two-person pouring with the Salmanazar which weighs nine liters and carries 60 lovely glasses of wine (or a full case). This hefty bottle is named after an ancient dynasty of Assyrian kings.

Balthazar and Nebuchadnezzar

Balthazar was an interesting fellow. Not only was he one of the three wise men who gave the infant Jesus Christ a gift of myrrh, but he was also the King of Macedonia. His gift to us is the 12-liter wine bottle with a capacity of 80 glasses. You hit the 100 glasses mark with the 15-liter Nebuchadnezzar. This mighty king was the longest-reigning monarch in the Neo-Babylonian empire, on the throne from about 605 BC to 562 BC.

Melchior, Solomon, Sovereign and Primat or Goliath

Melchior was King of Persia and another of the three wise men who gave gifts to baby Jesus. His present was nothing less than gold. It is nice to think that there is a connection between his largesse and the 18-liter, 120-glass bottle that bears his name. The famed and much-admired King Solomon has his name on the 20-liter bottle which contains 130 glasses of wine. In some religious doctrines, Solomon is regarded as a prophet as well as a king plus he is said to have had 700 royal wives and 300 concubines. A few Solomons would have kept thirst at bay amongst his entourage! Next is the Sovereign which carries 26 liters of wine and yields 175 glasses followed by the Primat otherwise known as the Goliath. The latter name is apt for this bottle as Goliath was the Philistine giant overcome by King David of Israel who reigned around 1000 BC. You get 180 glasses of wine from this colossal carafe.

Melchizedek or Midas

Finally, the biggest bottle of them all: the 30-liter Melchizedek or Midas containing an impressive 200 glasses of wine. Melchizedek appears in the Book of Genesis as the King of Salem and a high priest while King Midas is renowned in Greek mythology for turning everything he touched into gold.

Why is there a tradition of naming wine bottle sizes after kings, prophets, and mythological figures? The root of this convention is unclear but is thought to have started in 1700s Champagne when the Jeroboam size was introduced and simply carried on as wine bottles grew larger. Another school of thought says that it makes sense to have wine bottles, which after all contain a beverage as old as time, named after some of the world’s earliest cultural documents. 

Keep in mind that while this bottle naming tradition largely stands firm, there is a small handful of regional deviations in France. What is important to remember is that the larger the bottle, the better the tertiary aging. This is why serious wine collectors like to have a Jeroboam etc or two in their cellars!

Lucie Robson

After more than a decade of working as a journalist and editor for international media covering just about every topic under the sun, Lucie Robson decided it was about time she wrote about what she loved: wine. She is Wine and Spirit Education Trust (WSET) trained and has written for Vivino, the International Wine and Spirit Competition and contributes wine news and blogs to a wide range of outfits. Sipping wine is not enough for Lucie; she loves getting her hands dirty in vineyards and has worked behind the scenes at prestigious global wine events. Lucie sees exploring the world of wine as an endless adventure. Wherever she goes, she finds a cava, winery or wine tasting and sometimes turns her living room into a tasting salon.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends, plus special offers and invitations to MasterClasses.