侍酒师之路:从酷爱变为职业

如何成为一名侍酒师:培训与职业信息

若您是一位葡萄酒爱好者,并偶尔考虑过转行,准备投身于葡萄酒行业,不妨加入这个大家庭吧!无数爱酒者都曾梦想过成为一名侍酒师,开启新的职业生涯,但在此之前,您得了解一下成为一位名副其实的业内专家需要具备什么条件,并感谢顶级侍酒师为葡萄酒事业作出的奉献。对于那些离开收入颇丰的行业(比如人工智能)转而追寻葡萄酒梦想的人们,我会告诉他们这一切都是值得的,但着实得付出十万分的努力。

培训

而今许多地方招聘侍酒师都或多或少要求其具备官方认证,两大国际认证机构为侍酒大师公会葡萄酒与烈酒基金会(WSET),总部均位于伦敦。尽管两大机构广受推崇,但各自着重点还是有所差异。

侍酒大师公会以葡萄酒服务为主,其不仅着重于掌握葡萄酒品鉴,同时也强调适当的服务、储藏,以及餐厅和大型酒店内酒窖的管理。大众所说的“持证”侍酒师说的就是该公会的认证。该课程分为4个等级的认证,从入门级到侍酒师大师考试,这一系列课程需要多年学习与沉淀。

WSET课程也分为4个等级,从第一级入门课程到第四级WSET葡萄酒与烈酒文凭,其课程和考试需2年时间。WSET的课程更针对于整个葡萄酒行业,侧重于葡萄酒品鉴,很少涉及服务相关的知识,也涵盖全球葡萄酒贸易、葡萄栽培技术和深度葡萄酒生产。

学徒期

如何成为一名侍酒师:培训与职业信息

学徒期通常并非独立存在,在成为一名侍酒师的道路上,学员需在更资深的侍酒师手下工作很长一段时间,这是培训流程的必经之路。

您需要花费大把时间品尝葡萄酒,这样味觉才能得以开发,而成为一名侍酒师,也远不止获得认证那么简单,而是需要千锤百炼。更甚者是,一名侍酒师可能开始只是一家高端餐厅的服务生或服务员,在开始参加第一级认证课程前只是品尝着一些余下的葡萄酒进行学习。随后,他们可以开始在酒窖中担任帮手,最后成为助理侍酒师或葡萄酒服务员,在此之前,他们可能更多是作为采购葡萄酒和设计酒单的人选。

葡萄酒行业挺有趣的,您必须得获得认证才能继续前进,但没有葡萄酒行业的工作机会,您又不能获得通过认证所需的经验。没在葡萄酒行业摸爬滚打几年就能通过高级葡萄酒认证的人士可谓少之又少。

我之前在一家风险公司担任高级分析师,后来辞职转战葡萄酒行业,但由于缺乏经验,我不得不苦苦哀求葡萄酒店的人士聘用我。即便这样,他们也只能聘请我做厨师,因为我先前有在厨房工作的经验。

旅行

我所了解的顶级侍酒师和知识渊博的葡萄酒专家们也总是前往世界各地的葡萄酒产区拜访、旅行。

看看葡萄酒的产地,和酿酒师聊聊天,触摸下葡萄生长的土壤,在了解下这些地区葡萄园的实践,这些更易于您记录这些信息。在您真切亲眼看到之前,您在书本上所学的所有知识都毫无意义。

我在新西兰修剪葡萄树的时候晒伤严重,在收获季节,我每天要在纳帕谷的葡萄酒厂工作12到14个小时。旅行教会我的这些东西,多余我读过的众多葡萄酒书中的知识,这些经历让我难以忘怀。

品鉴

您得品尝,周而复始地品尝,再品尝,才能学到知识。盲品中分辨出各种葡萄酒并非变戏法,其来源于多年的练习和专注。很多人以为侍酒师就是总喝上几瓶好酒,再加上一些神奇的占卜能力,但实际上,侍酒师吐出来的酒远比喝下去的多得多。

它意味着严格品尝、专心致志、牢记笔记、背诵知识点和名称。这意味着您用最为最不放松的方式喝着葡萄酒,直到您闭上眼睛就能从纳帕赤霞珠和奔富设拉子混酿的酒款中分辨出法国波尔多的葡萄酒。

人际网络

成为一名侍酒师也与您的人际网络息息相关。葡萄酒行业遍布该行业的狂热分子和匠人们,如果您想融入他们的世界,便得与他们和睦相处。您可通过人际网络找到导师、老师,还能接触到能帮助您品尝到想要品尝的葡萄酒,获得想要的工作,还有一些您所能遇到的知识面广、最有趣的人。

葡萄酒的圈子较小,您不知道在未来的职场、贸易展、品鉴会等场合上或遇到哪些人士。试着与那些经验丰富又乐于帮助新人的朋友们交往一下吧!一名优秀的侍酒师的声誉和专业品鉴能力几乎同样重要。

尽管听起来可能有些难度,但成为一名侍酒师,在葡萄酒的世界中尽情徜徉,这可能是您所经历过的最值得的挑战之一。您有机会和一群有趣的朋友们在一个多姿多彩的行业一起工作,这个行业涉及历史、地理、农业和哲学,这意味着您永远都不会感到无聊。再想想那些美味的红酒吧!无需多言,您便能体会。我能将我的至爱兴趣变为职业,我倍感幸运,这绝对是千金难换的一次经历。

Cedar Stoltenow

作者 Cedar Stoltenow

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

发表评论

头像

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

泰国禁止线上平台酒类销售

泰国禁止线上平台酒类销售

如何选择合适的晚宴葡萄酒

如何选择合适的晚宴葡萄酒

Becoming a Sommelier: How to make your passion your profession

How to Become a Sommelier: Education and Career Information

If you love wine and you’ve occasionally considered leaving your current profession for a life devoted this interest, then join the club. Many wine lovers have dreamed of starting a new career as a sommelier. But before you do that, take a look at what it really takes to become an expert in wine and appreciate the devotion of the best sommeliers to their craft. As someone who left a well-paid career in Artificial Intelligence to follow my wine dreams, I would say that it’s all been worth it, but it requires a truly intense devotion.

Education

These days most sommelier positions require some level of official certification, and the two main international certifying bodies are the Court of Master Sommeliers and the Wine and Spirits Education Trust (WSET), both originating and based in the United Kingdom. While both organizations are widely respected, their focus is slightly different.

The Court of Master Sommeliers is very wine service-oriented, focusing not only on mastering wine tasting, but also on proper service, storage, and maintenance of a wine cellar within a restaurant or large hotel. This is the certification that most people think of when referring to a “certified” sommelier. There are 4 levels of certification within this course, from the Introductory level up to the Master Sommelier exam, which can require years of study.

The WSET courses also cover 4 levels, from a level 1 Intro course through the level 4 WSET Diploma in Wines, which itself requires 2 years of classes and exams. The program with the WSET is aimed more at wine business as a whole, with a strong focus on tasting, but very little service-focused knowledge, and also covers global wine commerce, viticultural techniques, and in-depth wine production.

Apprenticeship

How to Become a Sommelier: Education and Career Information

Generally not referred to as an apprenticeship per se, becoming a sommelier often requires a somewhat lengthy period working under more senior sommeliers as part of the training process. 

Developing your palate takes a significant amount of time and tasting, and it takes more than a certification to become a somm. It takes years of practice. A sommelier may even start out as a busboy, or server, in a high-end restaurant, tasting from leftover bottles and starting to learn about wine before taking a first level certification course. This allows them to move up to perhaps helping in the cellar, eventually becoming an assistant sommelier or wine server, before they may take on more responsibility for procuring wines and designing a wine list.

The wine profession is interesting, in that you must have a certification to move forward, but without a chance to work in wine, you’ll never get the experience necessary to pass the certification. It’s very rare for someone to pass the upper level wine certifications without years of professional experience in the wine industry.

When I left my position as Senior Analyst for a corporate risk firm, I had to literally beg someone to hire me in a wine shop because of my lack of experience. And even then they would only take me on as a chef because I had previous experience with working in kitchens.

Travel

The best sommeliers and most knowledgeable wine experts that I know have also traveled extensively through the world’s wine regions. There is something about seeing the place the wine was made, talking to the people who make it, touching the soil where the grapes were grown, and seeing the vineyard practices in that area of the world that makes it much easier to retain information. Everything you learn from a book means nothing until you’ve actually seen it with your own eyes.

I got the worst sunburn of my life pruning vines in New Zealand and I’ve worked 12-14 hour days in Napa Valley wineries during harvest. These trips have taught me more than many of the wine books I’ve read, through experiences that are impossible to forget.

Tasting

To learn, you must taste. And taste and taste and taste and taste again. There is no magic in recognizing a wine from a blind tasting, only years of practice and concentration. Many people imagine that being a somm means drinking fabulous bottles of wine constantly and having some fantastic power of divination, but really it means spitting far more than you consume. 

It means tasting in a disciplined way, with concentration and notes and rote memorization of facts and names. It means drinking wine in the most unrelaxing way you could imagine, until you can tell a French Bordeaux from a Napa Cab from a Penfolds Shiraz blend with your eyes closed.

Networking

Becoming a sommelier is also all about your network. The wine industry is filled with people who are fanatically devoted to their trade and their craft, and generally you will need to get along with them if you want to enter their world. Networking will help you find mentors, teachers, people with access to wines you want to taste, jobs you want to acquire, and also some of the most all-around interesting people you will ever meet.

The wine world can be small, and you never know who you will run into at a future job, tradeshow, tasting, etc. Try to cultivate your relationships with people who are experienced and remember to help those just getting started. A good sommelier relies almost as much on their reputation as on their palate.

Despite how difficult I may have made it seem, becoming a sommelier and immersing yourself in the field of wine can be one of the most rewarding challenges you will ever undertake. The opportunity to work with interesting people in a complex field involving history, geography, agriculture, and philosophy means you will never get bored. Plus, all the wine! Need I say more? I am incredibly fortunate to be able to make my passion my profession, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Cedar Stoltenow

Written by Cedar Stoltenow

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Leave a Reply

Avatar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Thailand Bans Liquor Sales Through Online Channels

Thailand Bans Liquor Sales Through Online Channels

How to Choose the Right Wine for Your Dinner Party

How to Choose the Right Wine for Your Dinner Party