泰国禁止线上平台酒类销售

泰国禁止线上平台酒类销售

“从2020年12月7日起,泰国将禁止线上酒精饮料销售。”

2020年12月7日,《皇家公报》首先公布了泰国禁止线上购买酒类的法令。在2019新冠疫情大流行期间,酒类产品线上购买量激增,之后便宣布了这一禁令,而这一禁令生效之时恰逢假日季高峰期。

随着圣诞节和除夕等重大购物假日的临近,此项新禁令势必会对酒业公司带来挑战,其可能需要对自己的营销活动做出重大调整。

该禁令旨对线上平台的酒类销售数量进行控制。2020年9月8日,《皇家公报》首次发布了总理府的公告,禁止通过电子商务渠道销售所有酒精饮料。

泰国禁止线上平台酒类销售

电子商务的兴起是否意味着年轻人更容易买到酒类?

当今时代,销售模式逐渐倾向网络平台,众多企业家和商家纷纷转向电子商务渠道来进行酒类产品销售。然而,在此种购买模式下,每一笔交易的日期、时间、地点和购买者是否合法更加难以监控。

为了限制泰国年轻人轻易获得酒精饮料的途径,并将年轻人饮酒的潜在影响降到最低,泰国政府深感发布相关禁令势在必行。

此项禁令的具体内容为?

此项禁令作为在不断变化的市场环境中控制酒类销售的法律标准,符合《酒精饮料控制法》B.E. 2551第4节和第30(6)节的规定。泰国总理根据国家含酒精饮料政策委员会的建议宣布了这一禁令,具体如下:

  1. 禁止通过电子平台直接向消费者销售酒精饮料。该禁令禁止任何邀请或建议消费者直接购买酒精饮料的活动,例如在买卖双方未面对面会面的情况下,通过电子渠道进行营销或交流。
  2. 该禁令不适用于以电子方式在商店、餐厅或其他酒类销售实体店购买酒类的情况。
  3. 该禁令将于《皇家公报》刊登日起90天内生效。
泰国禁止线上平台酒类销售

新禁令实施的现状

该禁令的实施可能会导致一些企业家和卖家从电子商务平台转向更为传统的线下渠道,并开设实体店。另一种可能则是,他们同时提出要求对该禁令进行日后法律修订,比如制定措施以在网上交易时检测买家的年龄信息。上述措施需要有效的系统作为支撑,方便卖家获取买家的信息。对于日后的任何法律修正案需随时保持关注。

该禁令的实施不仅会对网上酒类卖家产生影响,同样会影响到普通民众。政府已请求所有相关各方予以合作和理解,以便该禁令可以适用于小型零售商和大型企业的同等标准进行颁布。

在此方面达成的通力合作将有助于防止泰国年轻人通过更难控制的网购而轻易获得酒精饮料。任何违反禁令的人都将被处以最高6个月的监禁,或不超过1万泰铢的罚款,或两者兼施。

泰国绝不止步于禁止线上销售

泰国的饮酒文化历史悠久,饮酒率多年来不断增长,导致了众多事故和社会问题。因此,限制酒类消费的法律实施势在必行,除了最近宣布的禁令之外,泰国还颁布了大量其他措施来禁止酒类消费。

其中之一包括禁止直接或间接宣传饮酒或劝导消费者饮酒的广告。禁止推广酒精饮料品牌或暗示饮酒益处的营销活动,并禁止发布带有酒类品牌的啤酒图片。

即使在国外旅行时,也禁止上传酒精饮料的照片,因为此类内容可能会激起他人的饮酒欲望。每年,政府都会制定相关措施,在节假日期间(包括即将到来的新年节日)推广“安全驾驶”。

Onph

作者 Onph

Onph是一位充满热情的泰国旅者,当她还是个小女孩的时候,便深深爱上了葡萄园。她在餐饮行业有过几年从业经验,随后便涉足葡萄酒行业,目前已成为名副其实的葡萄酒爱好者,乐于与读者分享葡萄酒相关知识。

发表评论

头像

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

中国对澳洲葡萄酒实施反倾销措施,将有何影响?

中国对澳洲葡萄酒实施反倾销措施,将有何影响?

如何成为一名侍酒师:培训与职业信息

侍酒师之路:从酷爱变为职业

Thailand Bans Liquor Sales Through Online Channels

Thailand Bans Liquor Sales Through Online Channels

“Starting December 7, 2020, the online purchase of alcoholic beverages will be prohibited in Thailand.”

On December 7, 2020, the Royal Gazette first made public the ban on online alcohol purchases in Thailand. The announcement came on the heels of a surge in such purchases during the COVID-19 pandemic, and this prohibition comes into effect just as the holiday season is beginning to ramp up.

With major shopping holidays such as Christmas and New Year’s Eve right around the corner, the new ban will surely prove to be a challenge for liquor companies, who will likely need to make significant changes to their marketing campaigns. 

The announcement is aimed at controlling the amount of alcohol sales made through online platforms. On September 8, 2020, the Royal Gazette first published the announcement from the Prime Minister’s office which banned all alcoholic beverage sales through e-commerce channels.

Thailand Bans Liquor Sales Through Online Channels

Does the rise of e-commerce mean easier youth access to alcohol?

As sales have gradually shifted toward online platforms in the modern era, many entrepreneurs and vendors have turned to selling their alcoholic beverage products through e-commerce channels. However, this mode of purchase makes it more difficult to monitor the date, time, venue, and purchaser of each transaction in compliance with the law. 

To limit this easy access to alcoholic beverages for the country’s youth, and minimize the potential impact of youth alcohol consumption, the Thai government felt it imperative to issue an announcement. 

What exactly does the announcement entail?

The recent ban forms a legal standard for controlling liquor sales in a constantly changing market environment, and aligns with Section 4 and Section 30 (6) of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act, B.E. 2551. The announcement, made by the Prime Minister on the advice of the National Alcoholic Beverage Policy Committee, is detailed as follows:

  1. The announcement prohibits direct-to-consumer sales of alcoholic beverages through electronic platforms. The ban includes any activities that will invite or suggest the direct purchase of alcoholic beverages by consumers, such as marketing or communication through electronic channels, without a face-to-face meeting between buyer and seller. 
  2. The announcement is not applicable to the purchase of liquor by electronic method in stores, restaurants, or other brick-and-mortar businesses that sell alcoholic beverages. 
  3. The announcement will be in effect for 90 days following its date of publication in the Government Gazette. 
Thailand Bans Liquor Sales Through Online Channels

The reality of enforcing the new ban

The enforcement of the ban may lead some entrepreneurs and sellers to shift from e-commerce platforms back to more traditional offline channels, and open physical stores. As another possibility, they could also request a future legal amendment to the announcement, such as creating measures to detect the age information of buyers during online transactions. Such measures would require an efficient system that would allow sellers access to the buyers’ information. It will be important to stay in the loop on any future legal amendments. 

The enforcement of this Royal Gazette announcement will not only impact online liquor sellers, but the general population as well. The government has asked for cooperation and understanding from all parties involved so that the announcement can be enacted to the same standard for small retailers and large corporations alike. 

Cooperation in this regard will help prevent Thailand’s youth from easily accessing alcoholic beverages via online purchases, which are more difficult to control. Any person in violation of the ban will be subject to up to six months in prison, a fine of no more than 10,000 baht, or both.

Thailand goes further than just prohibiting online sales

Thai drinking culture has a long history, and alcohol consumption rates have grown continuously throughout the years, leading to accidents and many social problems. Law enforcement to limit liquor consumption has therefore been deemed imperative, and in addition to this recent announcement, Thailand has further enacted a substantial number of other measures to prohibit alcohol consumption. 

One example includes the prohibition of advertisements that promote drinking or persuade consumers to drink, either directly or indirectly. Marketing campaigns which promote alcoholic beverage brands or suggest benefits to drinking are banned, and it is also prohibited to post pictures of beer glasses with liquor brands. 

Even when traveling abroad, posting photos of alcoholic beverages is banned, as seeing such content might spark the desire to drink alcohol in others. Every year, the government prepares measures to promote “Safe Driving” during holiday seasons, including the coming New Year’s festival.

Onph

Written by Onph

Onph is a passionate Thai traveler who has been in love with vineyards since she was a little girl. After working in the food industry for several years she started to explore deeper into the world of wine, and has now become a true wine lover who enjoys sharing her knowledge of wine with her readers.

Leave a Reply

Avatar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

China Imposes Anti-Dumping Duties on Australian Wines – What and Who Will Be Impacted?

China Imposes Anti-Dumping Duties on Australian Wines – What and Who Will Be Impacted?

How to Become a Sommelier: Education and Career Information

Becoming a Sommelier: How to make your passion your profession