葡萄酒的历史

葡萄酒的历史

你最喜欢的饮品可以追溯到几千年前

早在很久以前,葡萄酒就已经是生活的一部分。从那时起,葡萄酒就帮助它生长地的人们形成了社区和工业。它在贸易、战争和文化中扮演着重要的角色。

公元前7000年

已知最早的葡萄酒来自中国的黄河流域。在这里,部落发酵了蜂蜜、大米、和各种水果,并把它们储存在大型陶制容器(基本上是巨大的陶罐)里,然后埋在地下。几千年来,这种方法传播开来,至今仍在一些国家使用。

公元前5000年

考古学家在现今的伊朗,发现7000年前人们就开始酿造葡萄酒,这是当时中东地区的第一个永久定居点。

葡萄酒的历史

公元前4000年

今天西西里的早期定居者很早就开始种植葡萄。最终,定居者开始酿造马沙拉白葡萄酒,这是一种著名的高酒精度葡萄酒,由当地的葡萄和独特的酿酒方法酿制而成。

公元前1600-1000年

历史学家认为正是在这个时期,葡萄酒开始经常在古以色列和古希腊文化中传递。人们把葡萄酒储存在山羊皮袋里用于贸易和旅行。

也就是在这个时候,关于葡萄酒和种植水果以及葡萄用来酿酒的文字和图画被写在石板上。

公元前900年

我们正进入一个可以看到更多现代酿酒方法的时代。像北欧那些有机会获得橡树的文明国家,开始使用橡树桶储存酒。我们可以想象,正是通过这种方法,他们发现了橡树可以调味以及增加风味,并减缓葡萄酒氧化速度;这种方法我们今天仍然在使用。

1000年

一千年前的几百年间,酿酒技术和交通运输方法开始蓬勃发展,并分享到世界各地。在大约1000年时,最古老的法国古拉尼酒庄建成。

葡萄酒的历史

1400-1500年

正在进行贸易的葡萄酒经过二次发酵后,欧洲文化发现了起泡酒的乐趣。 也是在这个时候,在欧洲成功种植的葡萄树被运往南美洲种植。

1740年

现代玻璃瓶被设计出来。当百年以前人们开始使用玻璃瓶装酒的时候,软木塞不断变干,导致运输困难。

葡萄酒的历史

1964年

盒装葡萄酒问世

2010年

赤霞珠是世界上种植最多的红葡萄,而阿依仑更是世界上种植最多的白葡萄。

酿酒过程的演变

葡萄酒的历史

虽然葡萄酒已经有几千年的历史,但它一直在变化。几个世纪以来,酿酒和种植葡萄的进化过程影响了葡萄成功种植、采摘、酿酒、装瓶以及运输的能力。这些极度的变化大多发生在工业革命期间。

葡萄栽培

几千年以前,种植者只能种植当地的葡萄。现在的葡萄树已经被运送到世界各地,我们甚至能够培育新的克隆品种,并创造出能够承受更恶劣环境的葡萄品种,而且不易感染疾病和真菌。

虽然在几千年前就出现了一些嫁接和修剪的方法,但系统性地这样做还是最近的事。一旦葡萄藤进入休眠状态后,地里的工人们就开始工作,通过修剪葡萄藤来控制它们如何生长、生长多少串,以及保持葡萄树的健康。

靠近水体的一些地区可以使用中世纪的灌溉系统,然而不经常对葡萄树进行灌溉。即使在那个时候,人们就知道大多数葡萄树在稍微缺水的状态下能长得更好。事实上,过多的水是非常有害的。直到今天,大部分地区不灌溉他们的葡萄园。

当然,直到最近才有杀虫剂。从几千年前 直到100年前,葡萄树成功种植的地区,年年都能成功的相当有限的。有了现代技术和杀虫剂,我们就可以扩大葡萄树种植区域。

湿度较高的地区能够种植葡萄,因为我们有喷雾剂,可以帮助减少真菌和霉菌问题发生的机会。我们也可以使用杀虫剂来减少发生蚜虫和其他小生物问题的机会。葡萄树可以生长到更老的时候,且随着树龄的增长葡萄的品质保持不变。

人们认为,几百年前,重新种植是一种常见的做法,因为葡萄树要频繁地克服蚜虫和其他疾病的困扰,导致葡萄经常不成熟,这就迫使种植者重新种植葡萄藤。

采摘

几个世纪以来,手工采摘是葡萄酒酿造过程中相当一致的做法。大多数旧世界产地严格手工采摘葡萄,以确保采摘的葡萄品质最好。地方太陡或者藤蔓太密的使用机器采摘。

分拣、去梗、破碎

就像在收获的时候手工采摘葡萄一样,大部分时间葡萄仍然是手工分拣。一些大型酿酒厂已经开始使用原本用于分拣樱桃的机器用来分拣葡萄。

这台机器能挑出破葡萄、坏串、虫子等,只留下可以用的葡萄串。对于那些要求葡萄去梗的酿酒过程,有全手工去梗和机器去梗。

该机器有橡胶钉附在一个圆筒形状上,然后旋转,把葡萄和茎基本分开。如果手工做的话,这一个过程相当漫长。

我们都见过丰收派对的景象,用脚踩碎葡萄。这是过去挤果汁的方法。几百年前,有一些地区开始制造这些桶形破碎机,转动曲柄杠杆,然后把葡萄压碎,果汁就从桶里的裂缝里流出来了。

添加剂

与悠久的酿酒史相比,像糖、商业酵母和澄清剂这样的添加剂显然是最近才出现的。毫不奇怪,橡树的使用已经存在了很长时间.数百年来,它最初被严格用于储存葡萄酒,直到人们发现在橡木桶中陈酿葡萄酒对酒的风味有许多好处。

葡萄和所有水果本身都有自己的酵母菌,一旦果皮破损,酵母菌就会开始发酵果汁。如今,我们能够在实验室里培育出特殊的酵母菌来帮助酿酒师控制更多的酿酒过程,以及生产出想要的酵母副产品。今天,一些酿酒师仍然在葡萄酒酿造时选择使用本土酵母。

糖添加剂是一种工具,当该季酿造出的葡萄酒糖份偏低时,可以帮助酿酒师酿造出品质稳定的葡萄酒。直到最近,糖才成为一种普遍的、人们负担得起的商品。但实际上大多数旧世界的葡萄酒产地禁止在葡萄酒中使用糖。但是,它确实有助于新世界酒厂酿造出质量稳定的葡萄酒,特别是种植在低糖葡萄气候地区。

所有的添加剂都是最近才出现的,因为化学物质现在被管控,并用于商业用途。

过滤

过滤葡萄酒的过程并不像许多人想象的那么新。今天复杂的机器能够以非常快的速度过滤葡萄酒,达到你想要的任何程度,然而几百年前,酿酒师有很多过滤葡萄酒的方法。

粗棉布可以让酿酒师过滤掉酒中大部分的颗粒和明显的絮状物。这也是家庭酿酒师今天最常用的过滤方法。

消费行为的历史演变

葡萄酒的历史

从几千年前到现代,葡萄酒的消费已经发生了巨大的变化,从饮酒量、消费年龄、到与之相关的饮酒风俗习惯;毫无疑问,数千年来葡萄酒一直是社会文化的重要组成部分。

然而,历史学家并不确定葡萄酒在整个葡萄酒历史中是如何在社会中发挥作用的。据说,作为一种文化和公共饮料,几千年前的葡萄酒和今天的有着相似的作用;。

象征意义

几千年前,美索不达米亚等地区开始了葡萄酒贸易,当时只有富人和贵族才能买得起酒。葡萄酒的消费是那些买得起的人的一种身份的象征。如今在大多数地方,人人都可以买得起葡萄酒,但消费和收集世界上最好和最稀有的葡萄酒仍然可以单纯地作为一种身份的象征。

当今世界,我们仍然把葡萄酒看作是一种身份的象征,尤其在中国和其他亚洲国家。这里的葡萄酒消费才刚刚开始,已经成为一个财富的标志。那些买得起的人是一些收藏者,收藏来自法国和旧世界地区的上等葡萄酒的。你会在高级餐厅和酒店看到大量的葡萄酒菜单。

随着葡萄酒消费的持续增长,中国就像世界上其他国家一样,葡萄酒消费量也在不断增长,中国开放了葡萄酒进口市场,提供了更多的价格实惠的葡萄酒。中国将很快成为仅次于美国的第二大葡萄酒消费国。

丰产预兆

现代的技术和酿酒方法使葡萄酒产品相对一致,但几千年前庄稼收成很不稳定。酿制葡萄酒的多少取决于收成。丰年就以酿制和饮用葡萄酒来庆祝,据说这是来年丰产丰收的好兆头。

宗教

葡萄酒的历史

纵观历史,葡萄酒在许多宗教中都占有重要地位,包括希腊神话、基督教和佛教。

希腊人过去常常向他们的神供奉葡萄酒,并在许多仪式中使用。在基督教中,红色葡萄酒象征着基督的血,至今仍在弥撒和仪式中使用。而据说佛教徒会在祭坛上放上一杯酒,象征尊敬和祭品。

关于葡萄酒的文化和宗教现象很多是虚构的。一些礼节,仪式和社会习俗完全围绕着葡萄酒展开。纵观历史,葡萄酒已成为无数社区不可或缺的一部分。

一直以来,葡萄的种植和葡萄酒的酿造已经发展成了一个令人难以置信、变化万端的行业。曾经光着脚踩碎、装在山羊皮袋里的葡萄酒,现在已经被商业化种植和采摘,并通过箱子运往全球。

您的看法是?

Christina

作者 克里斯蒂娜

克里斯蒂娜2016年毕业于中央华盛顿大学,获得全球葡萄酒研究理学学士学位。大学期间,她曾在法国学习和旅游,暑假曾在阿拉斯加工作。毕业后她在华盛顿她最喜欢的酒庄工作了几年,为追寻其他的生活目标,她搬去了阿拉斯加。从那以后,她一直在享受着观光和钓鱼的乐趣,同时继续她作为葡萄酒业的作家兼顾问的职业生涯。

Jeden komentarz

Leave a Reply

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Loading…

0
新纬度葡萄酒,低纬度葡萄酒及高纬度葡萄酒

新纬度-亚洲葡萄酒

学习如何品尝葡萄酒

学习如何品尝葡萄酒

EN
Wine 101 - History of Wine
Home » History of Wine

History of Wine

Your favorite drink dates back thousands of years

Wine has been a part of life dating back to 7000 B.C. Since then it has helped shape communities and industries throughout the regions where it grows. It has had an important part in trade, war, and cultures. 

7000 B.C

The earliest known wines come from the Yellow River Valley in China. Here, tribes fermented honey, rice, and a variety of fruits and stored them in large earthenware vessels (essentially giant clay jars), that were then buried in the ground. Over a couple thousand years, this method spread and is still used in some countries today.

5000 B.C

Archaeologists discovered that wine was made 7,000 years ago in modern day Iran, which at the time was the first permanent settlement in the Middle East.

4000 B.C

Early settlers in today’s Sicily began cultivating grapes early on. Eventually, settlers began making  Marsala, the famous fortified wine made from indigenous grapes and unique winemaking practices.

1600-1000 B.C

It is during this time that historians believe wine started to become transported on a regular basis in the ancient Israeli and Greek cultures. Used in trade and to accompany people on their travels, the wine was stored in goatskin sacks.

It was also around this time that texts and drawings were written on tablets about wine and the growing of fruit and grapes used to make the wine. 

900 B.C

We are now entering the age where more modern winemaking practices are seen. Civilizations such as those in Northern Europe, who had access to oak, began to use oak barrels to store their wine. We imagine it was from this method that they discovered that the oak seasons, flavors, and slowly oxidizes the wine; a practice we still use today.

1000

During the hundreds of years leading up to this time, winemaking skills and transportation methods began to flourish. Skills and methods were shared all over the world. Around the year 1000, Chateau de Goulaine was built, which is thought to be the oldest operating winery.

1400-1500

European culture discovered the joy of sparkling wine after wines that were being set off for trade went through a secondary fermentation, creating sparkling wine. Also around this time, popular vines that were successful in Europe were transported to South America to cultivate. 

1740

The modern glass bottle was designed. While they started using glass bottles a hundred years earlier, the corks kept drying out and they were hard to ship.

1964

Boxed wine was introduced

2010

Cabernet Sauvignon is the world’s most planted red grape, Airen is the world’s most planted white grape. 

Evolution of the winemaking process

While wine has been a part of history for thousands of years, it hasn’t always been the same as it has today. The evolution of winemaking and growing grapes throughout the centuries has impacted the ability to successfully grow grapes, harvest grapes, make the wine, and bottle it to be transported. Most of these extreme changes came during the industrial revolution. 

Viticulture

Thousands of years ago, growers were only able to grow indigenous vines. Nowadays vines have been transported all over the world and we have even been able to cultivate new clones to create grapes that are able to withstand harsher environments and be less perceptible to diseases and fungus.

While some grafting and pruning practices came about a couple thousand years ago, the methodical process of doing this is a fairly new thing. Once the vines hit dormancy, field workers are then able to prune the vines in order to control how they grow, control how many bunches will grow, and keep the vines healthy.

Some regions near bodies of water had access to medieval irrigation systems, however, they were often not used on vines. It was knowledge even then that most vines grow best when they struggle a bit for water. In fact, too much water can be very damaging. To this day, most regions do not irrigate their vines. 

Of course, there were not any pesticides until recently. Thousands of years ago up until about 100 years ago, the areas where vines could successfully grow and make viable grapes year after year was quite limited. With modern technology and pesticides, we are able to expand the number of areas in which vines can grow. 

Regions with higher humidity are able to grow grapes because we have sprays that help decrease the chance of fungus and mold issues. We are also able to use pesticides to decrease the chances of having issues with aphids and other critters. Vines are able to grow to an older age and retain their quality throughout those ages. 

It is thought that hundreds of years ago, replanting was common practices and vines were often not mature because they would frequently be overcome with aphids and other debilitating diseases, forcing growers to replant vines. 

Harvest

One of the winemaking processes that has been fairly consistent over the centuries is the hand-harvesting method. Most old world regions strictly hand pick their grapes to ensure the best quality grapes are picked. Other areas are too steep or the vines are too close together in order to machine harvest.

Sorting, stemming, crushing

Just like hand-picking grapes during harvest, the grapes are still sorted by hand most of the time. Some large production wineries have come to use a machine that was originally for sorting cherries that they now use to sort their grapes.

This machine picks out debris, bad bunches, bugs etc. and leaves behind only viable grape bunches. For those winemaking processes in which you destem the grapes, the process has gone from being entirely done by hand to machine destemming. 

The machines have rubber pegs attached to a cylinder shape that rotates and essentially separates the grapes from the stems. This is quite a lengthy process to do by hand. 

We have all seen pictures of harvest parties where you can go and crush grapes with your feet. This is what used to be done in order to squeeze the juice out. A few hundred years ago, some regions started making these barrel-shaped crushers that allowed you to crank a lever that then crushed the grapes and the juice came out of the slits in the barrel. 

Additives

Additives like sugar, commercial yeast, and fining agents are obviously very recent in comparison to the history of winemaking. Not surprisingly, the use of oak has been around for hundreds of years and was originally used strictly to store wine, until it was discovered that aging wine in oak has many benefits to the flavor. 

Grapes and all fruits have indigenous yeasts that start to ferment the juice in the fruit once the skin has been broken. Nowadays, we are able to cultivate special yeasts in labs that help winemakers to control the winemaking process more and produce the yeast byproducts they want.  Today, some winemakers still choose to use indigenous yeasts in their wine production.

Sugar additives are a tool that helps winemakers produce consistent wines when the season yields low sugar wines. Sugar has not been a widespread and affordable commodity until very recently. Most old world wine regions actually ban the use of sugar in wines. However, it has helped new world wineries produce consistent wines, especially in regions and climates that yield low sugar grapes. 

All additives are fairly recent because chemicals are now controlled and made for commercial purposes.

Filtering

The process of filtering wine is not as new as many people might think. While today we have complex machines that are able to filter the wine at a very fast-pace to any degree you wish, there were many ways winemakers filtered wine hundreds of years ago.

Cheesecloth allowed winemakers to filter out most of the particles and cloudiness that are noticeable in wine. This is also the most common practice of filtering for home winemakers today.

Evolution of the consumption behaviors thru the ages

The consumption of wine from thousands of years ago until the modern day has changed dramatically. From the amount drank, to age of consumption, to customs associated with drinking wine; it is no surprise that wine has been an important part in the culture of society for thousands of years.

While historians are unsure how wine has played a part in society throughout the entire history of wine, it is said to have played a similar role thousands of years ago, as it does today; as a cultural and communal drink.

Symbolism

When wine trade started a couple thousand years ago in areas like Mesopotamia, only the rich and noble peoples were able to afford wine. The consumption of wine was a status symbol for those who could afford it. While today wine is accessible to everyone in most places, it can still prose as a status symbol for the consumption and collection of the world’s finest and rarest wines. 

We still see wine as a form of a status symbol in some parts of the world today, particularly China and other Asian countries. Wine consumption here is fairly new, it has become a mark of wealth. Those who can afford it are collectors of some of the finest wines from France and other Old World regions. You will see extensive wine menus at fine restaurants and hotels. 

Just like in other countries around the world, as wine consumptions continue to grow and China opens up the importing market for a wider selection of affordable wines. China will soon become the second leading consumer of wine behind the United States. 

Fertility

While modern-day technology and winemaking practices make for relatively consistent production of wine, thousands of years ago harvesting crops was a much more volatile practice. The ability to make wine was dependent on a good harvest. Good harvest years were celebrated with the making and consumption of wine and was said to be a good omen of fertility for the upcoming year.

Religion

Wine has been an important part in many religions throughout history, including Greek mythology, Christianity, and Buddhism. 

The Greeks used to offer wine to their gods and were used in many rituals. In Christianity, red wine has symbolized the blood of Christ and is still being used in mass and rituals today. The Buddhists were said to place glasses of wine on their altars as a symbol of respect and sacrifice. 

The cultural and religious phenomenon regarding wine is quite unreal. Some ceremonies, rituals, and societal practices completely revolve around wine and have been an integral part of countless communities throughout history.

Throughout all this time, the growing of grapes and making of wine has developed into an incredible and ever-changing industry. Once stomped with bare feet and held in goatskin sacks, wine is now commercially grown and harvested and being transported by the cases across the globe. 

Christina

Christina graduated from Central Washington University in 2016 with a Bachelor of Science in Global Wine Studies. Amidst her studying and traveling to France, she worked in Alaska during the summers of her college years. After graduating and working in Washington at her favorite wineries for a couple years, she made the move up to Alaska to pursue other life goals. She has since been enjoying the views and the fishing while continuing her career in the wine industry as writer/consultant.

Add comment

Get it first!

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends in Asia, plus special offers and wine tasting invitations.
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

Join the New Wine & Spirits Lovers Community in Asia.