Chinatpl_newsletterWine

中国常见的酿酒葡萄品种

回顾过去的二十年,中国的葡萄酒产业呈现了良好的发展态势,无论是葡萄酒的产量还是消费,都以较快的速度增长。那么,对于中国的葡萄酒,你了解多少呢?中国葡萄酒常用的酿酒葡萄品种又有哪些呢?

一、基础数据概览

国际葡萄与葡萄酒组织(OIV)发布于2018年的《世界葡萄品种分部报告》显示,基于2000年至2015年的数据,中国葡萄种植面积为83万公顷,仅次于97.4万公顷的西班牙,位列世界第二位。中国的葡萄种植面积自2000年以来增长了177%,其中,种植面积最大的葡萄品种为鲜食葡萄巨峰,以36.5万公顷占到全国葡萄种植总面积的44%;种植面积最大的酿酒葡萄品种为赤霞珠,以6万公顷占到全国葡萄种植总面积的7.2%。

  在中国的酿酒葡萄品种中,红葡萄品种约占79%,有赤霞珠(Cabernet Sauvignon)、品丽珠(Cabernet Franc)、蛇龙珠(Cabernet Gernischt)、梅洛(Merlot)、黑皮诺(Pinot Noir)和本土品种山葡萄(Vitis Amurensis Rupr)等;白葡萄品种约占20%,有霞多丽(Chardonnay)、贵人香(Italian Riesling)、龙眼(Longyan)和白玉霓(Ugni Blanc)等。此外,还有少量的染色品种,如紫北塞(Alicante Bouschet)和烟73(Yan 73)等。

二、主要红葡萄品种

1. 赤霞珠

赤霞珠

赤霞珠是全世界种植最广泛的品种,也是中国第一大酿酒葡萄品种,占据中国超过75%的酿酒葡萄种植面积。1892年,赤霞珠首次引入中国山东烟台,90年代更是大量引进。如今在中国河北、宁夏、山西、山东和云南等多地都有分布。赤霞珠果实颗粒较小,表皮较厚,其酿造的红葡萄酒颜色较深,带有典型的黑色水果香气,常伴有植物性的气息,单宁含量较高,酸度较高。

2. 梅洛

梅洛

梅洛在中国的葡萄种植面积仅次于赤霞珠,排在第二位,在山东、河北、山西、宁夏和云南都有种植。梅洛赋予葡萄酒较低的单宁和酸度,但带来更饱满的酒体和更高的酒精度。其带有红色和黑色浆果的香气,陈年过程中会产生灌木丛、雪松和香料的诱人气息。它通常与赤霞珠、品丽珠混酿。相对于“重口味”的赤霞珠而言,梅洛是初入红葡萄酒门槛的最佳选择。

3. 品丽珠

品丽珠

品丽珠的种植目前主要分布于中国的华北、西北和西南等地区。相比于赤霞珠,品丽珠果实颗粒较小,与赤霞珠相比,其表皮较薄,酿造的葡萄酒颜色较浅,酒体较轻,且单宁含量和酸度较低,口感更为柔和,香气更显著,其常与赤霞珠和梅洛混酿,增添草本和植物的气息。除了用于酿造波尔多风格的混酿葡萄酒外,它还能酿造出品质不俗的冰红葡萄酒。

4. 蛇龙珠

蛇龙珠

蛇龙珠是中国特有的酿酒葡萄,对于中国葡萄酒意义非凡,它是迄今为止唯一在国际上被认可的中国培育的特色酿酒葡萄品种。1892年,张裕从国外引进大量葡萄品种,成功嫁接后衍生出许多新品种,其中就包括了蛇龙珠。

在中国,蛇龙珠广泛分布于山东、东北南部、华北以及西北地区,其中以烟台和宁夏最为出名。其颗粒中等,果皮较厚,味甜多汁,带有青草的气息,酿造出来的红葡萄酒与赤霞珠的口感有些类似,同时带有蘑菇和香料的气息。

蛇龙珠既可以用于混酿,又可以酿造单一品种葡萄酒。酒款一般带有黑醋栗、覆盆子、胡椒和蘑菇的味道,通常会使用橡木桶陈酿。2016年5月25日“世界蛇龙珠日在香港设立,标志着中国首次拥有自己的葡萄品种节日。

5. 山葡萄

山葡萄

山葡萄是中国独有的葡萄品种,主要分布在辽宁、吉林、黑龙江三省的长白山山脉一带。用山葡萄酿造葡萄酒时通常要降低酸度,这种葡萄酒酒精度低,口感清新,酸度、甜度和单宁均衡,果香四溢。

6. 玫瑰蜜

玫瑰蜜属欧美杂交品种,18世纪由法国传教士传入云南,是目前云南高原产区的主栽品种之一。玫瑰蜜是酿酒、鲜食兼用品种。云南弥勒地区7月上旬即开始成熟,是早熟品种。玫瑰蜜所酿葡萄酒呈宝石红色,具有特殊的玫瑰香气和蜂蜜香气,其独特的花蜜香沁人心脾。

三、主要白葡萄品种

1. 霞多丽

霞多丽

霞多丽原产于法国勃艮第,其在全世界各大产区都有种植。中国目前生产的干白葡萄酒大部分都是采用霞多丽酿造的,胶东半岛和宁夏地区出产的优质霞多丽干白与国外的高品质霞多丽酒相比毫不逊色。霞多丽葡萄皮薄,属于早熟品种,年轻时散发出浓郁迷人的果香和花香,常带有柑橘类水果、梨和桃子等典型香气,口感清新活跃。经橡木桶陈酿还会产生奶油和蜂蜜等气息。

2. 贵人香

贵人香

贵人香是意大利雷司令在中国的美称,但它实际上和雷司令并无关联。1982年,贵人香首次在中国栽培。采用贵人香酿造的白葡萄酒多为干型或半干型,色泽浅黄,酒液澄澈透亮,其果香浓郁,酒香醇厚,口感柔和,酸度适中。此外,该葡萄品种还可以用来酿造口感清爽的起泡酒。

3. 龙眼葡萄

龙眼葡萄

龙眼葡萄在中国有着较长的栽培历史,早在清光绪年间,龙眼葡萄就因粒大饱满、多汁甜美而被确定为宫廷贡品。该品种起源不详,关于其名字的由来也说法不一。其中有一种说法是,该品种因颗粒状似桂圆(又名龙眼)而得名。

位于河北的怀涿盆地尤其盛产该品种。其果实呈紫红色或深玫瑰红色,皮薄且透明,味道极为甘美。采用龙眼葡萄酿造的干白,其风格与琼瑶浆(Gewurztraminer)颇为相似,散发着诱人的果香,口感柔顺,酸度怡人。

4. 威代尔

威代尔

从酿造冰酒来看,我国东北应该是全球种植威代尔面积最大的产区,目前的实际种植面积已经达到一万亩左右,葡萄园大多集中在桓仁县桓龙湖畔山地,这里被称为“黄金冰谷”,是著名的冰酒产地。这些酒款散发浓郁的热带水果和蜂蜜的香气,口感清新,酸甜平衡,适宜日常配餐饮用。

唯琪

唯琪出生并成长于中国山东省的海滨小城烟台,那里是中国最著名的葡萄酒产区之一。唯琪在攻读硕士期间对全球葡萄酒的市场战略做了一定的研究,这让她更加热爱葡萄酒。她喜欢旅行和美食,走遍世界美景,尝遍世界美酒是她最大的梦想。

相关文章

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
接收最新消息

订阅我们的时事通讯

注册即可获得最新的葡萄酒新闻和小窍门,以及特别优惠和大师课程邀请。

China’s Most Common Wine Grape Varieties

China’s Most Common Wine Grape Varieties

Considering the enormous development that the Chinese wine industry has experienced over the past 20 years, a period when both production and consumption have skyrocketed, it is now more important than ever to gain a deeper understanding of Chinese wines. Today, we’ll take a look into the most common wine grape varieties grown in China.

A Data-Driven Overview

In its 2018 Global Grapevine Variety Distribution Report, the International Organization of Vine and Wine found that during the period from 2000 to 2015, China’s 830,000 hectares of dedicated grape-growing land was second only to Spain (974,000 hectares). This land area also represented a 177% increase for China since 2000.

The largest land area for grape cultivation in China belongs to the table grape variety Kyoto, with 365,000 hectares. In fact, this area accounts for 44% of the total land area used to cultivate this variety globally. Shifting the focus to wine grapes, however, the variety that comprises the largest land area in China is Cabernet Sauvignon, with 60,000 hectares accounting for 7.2% of this variety’s total cultivation land area, globally.

In China, 79% of cultivated wine grapes are red grape varieties, and the most common include Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Gernischt, Merlot, Pinot Noir, and Vitis Amurensis Rupr; white grape varieties, such as Chardonnay, Italian Riesling, Longyan, and Ugni Blanc account for 20%, while a small quantity of teinturier grape varieties, including Alicante Bouschet and Yan 73, make up the remainder.

Discovering China’s Major Red Grape Varieties

1. Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon is the most extensively grown wine grape in the world, and it also takes the top spot in China, accounting for over 75% of the country’s total wine grape cultivation land area. In 1892, the Cabernet Sauvignon grape was first introduced to the city of Yantai, in China’s Shandong province, and continued to be imported in large quantities for decades. 

Today, this variety has spread through the provinces of Hebei, Ningxia, Shanxi, Shandong, and Yunnan. Cabernet Sauvignon grapes are relatively small with a thick layer of skin, and they produce wines with a deep red coloring that are often accompanied by a fragrance typical of black fruits. These wines have a vegetal flavor, along with relatively high levels of tannins and acidity.

2. Merlot

Merlot

Merlot is the second most widely cultivated wine grape variety in China, and can be found in the provinces of Shandong, Hebei, Shanxi, Ningxia, and Yunnan. Merlot grapes produce wines that are relatively low in tannins and acidity, but tend to have a fuller body and higher alcohol content. Their taste is similar to that of red and black fruits, and they will emit alluring fragrances during the aging process.

Merlot grapes are often mixed with Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc grapes. In contrast with the “heavy flavoring” of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot is the best choice for a novice red wine drinker.

3. Cabernet Franc

Cabernet Franc

Today, Cabernet Franc grapes are primarily grown in northern and western China. When compared with the Cabernet Sauvignon variety, Cabernet Franc grapes are smaller and have a thinner skin, and their wines are lighter and lower in tannins and acidity. These wines also tend to have a gentler texture and a stronger aroma.

Cabernet Franc grapes are also mixed with Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot grapes to give a wine additional vegetal flavoring. Although commonly used in Bordeaux-style wines, this variety also makes outstanding ice wine.

4. Cabernet Gernischt

Cabernet Gernischt

The Cabernet Gernischt variety is a characteristic Chinese wine grape, and is significant within Chinese wine culture as the only China-originating grape variety to have gained international recognition. In 1892, when the Changyu Winery began importing large quantities of different grape varieties into China, it also successfully cultivated many new grape varieties, including Cabernet Gernischt.

In China, Cabernet Gernischt grapes are grown throughout northern China, most prominently in Yantai and Ningxia. These grapes are of medium size with a relatively thick skin, and are juicy and sweet. Wines produced from Cabernet Gernischt grapes share some similarities with Cabernet Sauvignon, and will often have a mushroom or perfume fragrance.

Cabernet Gernischt grapes can be used in combination with other grape varieties, but can also be used to make varietal wines. These wines typically have the flavor of blackcurrant, raspberry, pepper, or mushroom, and are often aged in oak barrels. Cabernet Gernischt has become so popular in China that Hong Kong celebrated “Cabernet Gernischt Day” on May 25, 2016 – this was the first time that China created a holiday for one of its wine grape varieties.

5. Vitis Amurensis Rupr

Vitis Amurensis Rupr

The Vitis Amurensis Rupr variety is unique to China, and is primarily grown in the Changbai Mountain region within the Liaoning, Jilin, and Heilongjiang provinces. This variety typically produces wines that are low in acidity, low in alcohol content, and light and refreshing in taste. Their acidity, sweetness, and tannin levels are well-balanced, and they have a fruity aroma. 

6. Rose Honey

The rose honey grape is a Western hybrid variety, first brought to Yunnan in the 18th century by French missionaries. Today, rose honey grapes are one of the primary varieties grown in Yunnan’s Gaoyuan production region, used both for making wine and for eating fresh. They are an early-ripening variety; those grown in the Mile region of Yunnan will begin to ripen in early July. Wines made from these grapes are ruby red in color, and have a distinct rose and honey aroma that many wine lovers find enticing and refreshing.

Discovering China’s Major White Grape Varieties

1. Chardonnay

Chardonnay

Although the Chardonnay variety originated in France’s Burgundy region, it is now grown in nearly every major wine producing region in the world. In China, the majority of dry, white wines are made from Chardonnay grapes, and the excellent wines produced from Chardonnay grapes grown in China’s Jiaodong and Ningxia regions rival the quality of many international Chardonnays.

Chardonnay is an early ripening grape variety with a thin skin, and it gives off an enticing fruity and flowery aroma similar to that of citrus fruits, pears, or peaches. The textures of its wines are usually light but lively, and when aged in oak barrels they produce aromas similar to cream or honey.

2. Italian Riesling

Although given the name “Italian Riesling” in China, this variety is actually unrelated to the other Riesling grape varieties. Produced in China for the first time in 1982, Italian Riesling white wines are usually dry or semi-dry with a light-yellow coloring, crystal-clear transparency, rich and full fruity aroma, gentle texture, and moderate acidity. This variety can also be used to make a refreshing sparkling wine.

3. Longyan (Dragon Eye)

Longyan Grape (Dragon Eye)

Longyan grapes have a long history of cultivation in China, dating back to the Guangxu period during the Qing Dynasty when this large, sweet, and juicy fruit was used as an item of tribute in the imperial palace. The origin of the Longyan variety is unclear, however, and there are many different stories regarding its naming. One theory is that it was named for its resemblance to a dragon’s eye, which is the literal meaning of “Longyan” in Chinese.

The Huaizhuo Basin wine region in Hebei province is very well-known for its cultivation of Longyan grapes. The grapes grown in this region are a purple-red or deep rose color with a thin and transparent skin, and they are extraordinarily sweet in flavor. The dry white wines produced from Longyan grapes are similar in style to Gewurztraminer, and they emit an enticing fruity aroma and feature a smooth texture that is loved by many.

4. Vidal Blanc

Vidal Blanc

Northeastern China is one of the world’s largest icewine producing regions by land area, and the Vidal Blanc grapes used to make these wines are largely cultivated in the Huanlong region and in Huanren Manchu autonomous county, a region which has come to be known as the “Golden Ice Valley.” Wines of this variety give off aromas of tropical fruits and honey, and have a refreshing and balanced taste that makes them suitable for everyday pairing with nearly any meal.

Vicky

Written by Vicky

Vicky was born and raised in Yantai, a small coastal city located in the Shandong Province in China, one of the most famous wine-producing regions in the country. Vicky has done researches on the global wine market strategy during her master's degree and fell in love with wine. She likes to travel, savor tasty food and her biggest dream is to travel around the world to taste the best wines.

Leave a Reply

Avatar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pairing Wine with Sushi and Sashimi | Wine & Food Pairing

Pairing Wine with Sushi and Sashimi

The Chinese Online Shopping Holidays All Wine Lovers Should Know

The Chinese Online Shopping Holidays All Wine Lovers Should Know