TipsWine

如何读懂葡萄酒标签: 入门指南

如果你看不懂葡萄酒标签内容,当你走进一家葡萄酒商店时可能会感到迟疑。瓶子里装的是什么酒?何人酿制?原产地是哪里?最重要的是,这瓶酒我喜欢吗?本指南将帮助你读懂葡萄酒标签格式,让你下一次购买更加简单。

并不是所有的标签格式都是一样的

需要注意的是,每个国家都有自己独有的标签格式,没有国际标准。例如,新世界葡萄酒(除欧洲以外生产的葡萄酒)的酒瓶上都注明葡萄品种,而欧洲葡萄酒通常只标明葡萄产地,你需要知道该地区或该葡萄园里种植的是哪种葡萄,还需要知道酒瓶里装的是什么类型的葡萄酒。当然,所有标签上都有这些要素,你只需知道要找什么。

让我们用下面的例子来解析最常见的标签要素:

Talamonti Moda
Talamonti Wine Label
Wente Cabernet Sauvignon
Wente Wine Label
Clos de l'Oratoire des Papes
Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes Wine Label

葡萄酒名

通常是酿酒师、酿酒厂或酒庄的名字。除非例外,一般情况下,是瓶身正面标签上最大的字。我们以新世界葡萄酒为例:威迪酒庄–是以酿酒厂命名的。 法国葡萄酒教皇新堡,是以种植葡萄的庄园命名的。葡萄酒也可以用“虚构的名字”,即葡萄酒自身的名字,标签上也会有酿酒厂的名字。“莫达(Moda)”就是意大利塔拉蒙蒂(Talamonti) 酿造的葡萄酒名。

葡萄酒的种类

上文提到,旧世界葡萄酒和新世界葡萄酒使用不同的方法来标注葡萄酒的类型。新世界葡萄酒,如我们举例的葡萄酒,标注了使用的葡萄类型-这里我们看到威迪酒庄酿造的葡萄酒用的是解百纳红葡萄。而旧世界葡萄酒通常只是标明葡萄酒的产地。葡萄酒可能会被贴上托斯卡纳红葡萄酒或克罗泽埃尔米塔奇红葡萄酒的标签,需要消费者了解托斯卡纳或克罗泽埃尔米塔奇地区生产的葡萄酒用的是哪种葡萄。随着越来越多的欧洲国家允许葡萄酒生产商在标签上注明葡萄品名,这对于葡萄酒入门者来说情况好转,更容易理解这些名称,但这依然不是行业规范。

这款法国酒的标签说明这款酒叫教皇新堡葡萄酒(葡萄酒产地名)。根据法国法律,标注教皇新堡的葡萄酒主要原料必须为歌海娜葡萄为主,混合了西拉、穆拉德或其他13种地区法定允许使用的葡萄中的任一品种,但具体使用的是哪一种葡萄标签上并无注明。塔拉蒙蒂的标签显示,这款蒙特普齐亚诺·阿布鲁佐红葡萄酒——这个名字简便地包含了葡萄的名字(蒙特普齐亚诺)和产地(阿布鲁佐)。

产地

大多数葡萄酒酒瓶上都标明了生产国,这是葡萄酒出口所必需的。威迪酒庄和塔拉蒙蒂葡萄酒都在瓶身背面的标签注明了生产国家,分别是美国和意大利,大多数酿造厂也会这样做以示区别。

新世界葡萄酒也标明了产地名称,既是葡萄酒的法定产区,也是葡萄生长的地方。可以是一个州、一个省、一个县,甚至是小到一个区。在美国,如果一个葡萄酒标签上有一个产区,这意味着用于酿造葡萄酒的葡萄至少85%必须来自该特定的地区。我们举例的新世界葡萄酒就是在加利福尼亚州利弗莫尔山谷酿造的,这表明用于酿造这款葡萄酒的大部分葡萄来自利弗莫尔山谷。

对于旧世界的葡萄酒来说,其名称一般以葡萄酒的类型来表示。然而,每一个名称都包含葡萄酒的品质等级和一些与之相关的酿酒限制。产地越小,通常限制越严格,会规定必须使用的葡萄品种、每种葡萄掺合的比例、许可的酿酒技术,以及罐装前必需的陈酿时间。标签上需标明此款酒的排名、是否与管制产区的葡萄酒质量相符、是否是典型的地方葡萄酒、以及是否符合佐餐葡萄酒的标准。教皇新堡酒和蒙特普齐亚诺·阿布鲁佐红葡萄酒都是管制产区,这表明这两种酒都是按照国家葡萄酒酿造的法律法规在同名地区酿造的。

分级

法国葡萄酒标签可能包括葡萄酒的等级,从葡萄酒特定产区可知它在葡萄酒正式质量排名中的位置。有几个不同的等级,如特级酒(特级名园地)、高级酒(名贵产地)、中级酒(名星酒庄),等等,总体原则是,特定葡萄园酿造的葡萄酒历史上质量一直上乘,这些葡萄园的葡萄酒就有一个特定的标识以示其高质量。波尔多(Bordeaux)和勃艮第(Burgundy)的特级葡萄酒是最知名的,而教皇新堡葡萄酒则没有这样的排名。在欧洲其他一些国家,如德国或意大利,有按葡萄园或酿造厂知名度排名的一个非正式体系,但不会在标签上注明正式级别。

年份

这是葡萄采摘的年份——通常醒目写在瓶身前面的标签上。威迪酒园葡萄酒是2016年酿造的,而莫达葡萄酒是2015年酿造的。有些葡萄酒,如香槟或波特酒,是由不同年份的葡萄酒混合而成,不会标明年份,标签可能会注明葡萄酒是哪一年装瓶的,但这并不意味着瓶中的所有葡萄酒都是那一年酿造的。

酒精度

这是葡萄酒烈度的一个非常重要的指标——它给出了葡萄酒中酒精含量占总容量的百分比。根据葡萄酒的种类、产地、含糖量等,含量可在9-16%之间,通常写在瓶身背面的标签上或沿着正面标签的一侧。法律规定每瓶葡萄酒都必须在瓶身上清楚地标明酒精含量。例中的葡萄酒,其酒精度在瓶身背面的标签上,酒精含量在13-13.5%之间。对于这类型的葡萄酒来说,这是一个很好的平均酒精含量。

其他信息

其他可能在葡萄酒标签上看到的信息还有:葡萄酒的装瓶地、政府对酒类消费的警告、进口商信息、佐餐搭配建议、葡萄酒描述,等等,但是我们以上介绍的要素才是最重要的,你选择下一瓶葡萄酒时务必要考虑。不管哪里生产的葡萄酒,每一瓶瓶身上都会标有上述要素,懂得这些会使你的选择更容易。

下次你再去葡萄酒商店时,看看你能看懂多少标签!

Cedar Stoltenow

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

相关文章

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
接收最新消息

订阅我们的时事通讯

注册即可获得最新的葡萄酒新闻和小窍门,以及特别优惠和大师课程邀请。

How to Read Wine Labels: A Beginner’s Guide

How to Read Wine Labels: A Beginner’s Guide

Walking into a wine store can be intimidating if you aren’t sure how to read the labels. What kind of wine is in this bottle? Who made it? Where did it come from? And most importantly, will I like it? This quick guide will help you decipher the wine label format and make your next purchase much simpler.

Not all labels are created equal

One thing to note is that every country has its own particular label format, and there is no international standard. For example, on New World wines (anywhere except Europe) the grape varietal is noted on the bottle, whereas on European wines often only the region is noted. You need to know what type of grape is grown in that region or vineyard to know what type of wine is in the bottle. However, there are certain elements that appear on all labels, you just need to know what to look for.

Let’s use the example below to work through the most common label elements:

Talamonti Moda
Talamonti Wine Label
Wente Cabernet Sauvignon
Wente Wine Label
Clos de l'Oratoire des Papes
Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes Wine Label

The name

Very often this is the name of the producer, winery, or chateau that made the wine. It is often, though not always, written in the largest font on the label. Here our New World example wine is named for the producer – Wente Vineyards. Clos de l’Oratoire des Papes (Ogier), a French wine, is named for the estate on which the grapes were grown. Wines may also be given what is referred to as a “fantasy name,” where the wine itself is named and the label also carries the name of the producer. Moda’ is the fantasy name for a wine produced by Talamonti in Italy.

The type of wine

As mentioned before, Old World and New World wines use different methods for noting the type of wine. New World wines, like our example wine, note the type of grapes used – here we see that Wente Vineyards wine is made from Cabernet Sauvignon grapes. Old World wines will often simply put the region in which it was made. A wine may be labeled Red Tuscan or Crozes Hermitage, and the consumer is expected to know what grapes are used in Tuscany or in the Crozes Hermitage area. This is beginning to change as more and more European countries allow wine producers to add the grape varietal name to their labels, making them easier to understand for beginning wine buyers, but it is not yet standard practice.

The French label here states that the wine is a Chateauneuf-du-Pape (the name of the region where the wine was produced). According to French law, wines labeled as Chateauneuf-du-Pape must contain a majority of Grenache grapes, blended with Syrah, Mourvèdre, or any of the other 13 legal varietals that can be used in this region, however the exact grapes used are not included on the label. Talamonti’s label tells us the wine is a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo – a name which conveniently contains both the name of the grape (Montepulciano) and the region (Abruzzo).

The region

Most bottles will indicate the country of production, which is required for wines that will be exported. Both Wente and Talamonti note the country of production on the back label, USA and Italy respectively, and most producers will do the same for clarity.

New World wines also indicate the appellation, this being the legally defined wine producing region where the grapes were grown. This could be a state, province, county, or even smaller district. In the United States, if a wine label carries an appellation it means that a minimum of 85% of the grapes used to make that wine must have come from that specific appellation. Our New World example wine was produced in the Livermore Valley Appellation in California. This indicates that a majority percentage of the grapes used to make this wine came from Livermore Valley.

For Old World wines, the appellation is generally displayed as the wine type. However, each appellation also has a level of quality and a number of winemaking restrictions associated with it. The smallest appellations are generally the most strict, with rules on the type of grapes that must be used, the required percentage of each grape in blends, the winemaking techniques that are allowed, and the required length of ageing before release. The appellation’s ranking will appear on the label as well, noting whether this wine qualifies as a wine from a controlled production area, as a typical regional wine, or as a simple table wine. Both Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Montepulciano d’Abruzzo are controlled appellations, meaning these types of wine have been made according to the national winemaking laws and regulations in the regions of the same name.

The classification

French wine labels may include the wine’s classification, meaning its place in the formal quality ranking of the wines from a particular appellation. There are several different classes, such as grand cru, premier cru, cru bourgeois, etc. but the general idea is that specific vineyards have historically produced such consistently superior wine that the wine from these vineyards should carry a specific label to indicate the high quality. The crus of Bordeaux and Burgundy are the most well known, and Chateauneuf-du-Pape does not have this form of cru ranking.  In other European countries, such as Germany or Italy, there is an informal ranking system based on the reputation of the vineyard or producer, but no formal classification is indicated on the label.

The vintage

This is the year the grapes were picked – usually, this is prominently featured on the front label. Wente Vineyards was produced in 2016, and Moda’ was produced in 2015. Some wines, such as Champagne or Port, are made from blending wines of different vintages and will not carry a vintage date on the bottle. The label may instead note the year the wine was bottled, but that does not mean all the wine in the bottle was made that year.

The alcohol level

This is a very important indication of the strength of the wine – it gives the level of alcohol in the wine as a percentage of the total volume. This can range from about 9-16% depending on the type of wine, growing region, sugar levels, etc. This is often found on the back label or along the side of the front label. All wines are legally required to display the alcohol level legibly on each bottle. On our examples, the alcohol is indicated on the rear labels and is between 13-13.5%. This is a good average level of alcohol for these types of wine.

And so on and so forth

Other information may be found on wine labels, such as where the wine was bottled, government warnings about alcohol consumption, importer information, pairing notes, wine descriptions, etc, but the elements we have covered here are the most important to consider when trying to choose your next bottle. These will appear on any bottle of wine, regardless of where it was produced and understanding them should make your selection easier.

Have a look next time you are in a wine shop and see how many labels you can read!

What do you think?

Cedar

Written by Cedar

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0
When and Why Would One Age a Wine?

When and Why Would One Age a Wine?

The Anatomy of a Wine – Is it Light Bodied, Medium Bodied or Full-Bodied?

The Anatomy of a Wine – Is it Light Bodied, Medium Bodied or Full-Bodied?