中国人的葡萄酒口味

中国人的葡萄酒口味

经常有人会问这样一些问题:什么样的葡萄酒最适合中国人的口味?这些年来,我喝过不少葡萄酒。也曾经参加过一些红酒品鉴会、盲品比赛,主办方邀请一大帮专家、品酒师,在半天或一天的时间内要对几十款甚至上百款葡萄酒进行品鉴,然后从葡萄酒的颜色、香气、酒体、回味感、品种独特性、年份等方面进行打分,排名论次。这样打分出来获得第一名的葡萄酒就一定适合中国人吗?排在最后一名的葡萄酒是不是就不好呢?

其实,一瓶葡萄酒好不好喝因人而异。在现代酿酒工艺条件下,排除人为造假,每一瓶葡萄酒的品质都应该是有保障的。对于葡萄酒,不应该存在“好、坏”之分,而是某一款葡萄酒适不适合你的品味。自已喜欢的,才是最好的。

葡萄酒的“中国口味” 是什么?

中国人的葡萄酒口味

为了拓展中国市场,不少酒庄生产大量有甜美果香、相对饱满、酸度和单宁都较低的易饮性很高的葡萄酒销往中国,以期迎合中国人口味的事例也是不胜枚举。

寻找葡萄酒的中国口味,听起来容易然而事情并没有那么简单。中国人对葡萄酒的审美品位各不一样,专家往往偏向于葡萄酒口感的复杂性,;而普通消费者对葡萄酒的“入口性”很挑剔。每一位葡萄酒消费者的生活环境、生活习惯和身体状况不同,视觉审美,嗅觉、味觉和触觉等方面的敏感度不同,对于葡萄酒在色泽方面给人带来的视觉冲击,酒香给人带来的嗅觉上的愉悦感,以及饮用后给人酸、涩、甜等味觉刺激也不尽一样。每个人都有自己独特的口味偏好,中国作为一个人口大国,将十四亿人口的口味制定一个统一的标准,本身就不是一件容易的事情。然而,“天下熙熙,皆为利往。” 一些美酒厂商会费尽心思积极去寻找其中的商机,生产所谓“中国口味”葡萄酒。

中国消费者的葡萄酒口味调查

中国人的葡萄酒口味

中国口味,一度是全世界葡萄酒商们努力探讨的话题。几年前,酒商们曾经有一个共识:纵然有千差万别,中国人品味葡萄酒时有些偏好还是非常突出的,一是偏爱淡雅的果香,另一个则是喜欢甜蜜的滋味,排斥酸度,红葡萄酒走俏,白葡萄酒滞后就是中国人口感偏好的代表例证。

2015年,中国葡萄酒教育机构逸香针对中国葡萄酒消费市场发起了“中国葡萄酒消费者口味调查”并发布了《葡萄酒的中国口味白皮书》。据资料介绍,此次调查是基于消费者的日常体验,从最易被消费者感知和评价的“核心指标”,即香气、酸/甜度、单宁、酒体四个方面来进行,最后总结出“最具中国人口感的葡萄酒”的特性。

1. 具有水果香气的葡萄酒受到中国人的青睐。

接近90%的被访者最爱的是水果香气,他们认为葡萄酒中的水果香气不但比较容易分辨而且会有明显的愉悦感,其中只有49.3%的被访者选择了“浓郁的水果香气”。在22个城市的盲品调查中,73%的被访者最喜爱带有“浓郁的水果香气”的酒样,“浓郁的水果香气”要比“轻盈的水果香气”的愉悦感更为强烈。

2. 具有中、低酸度的葡萄酒是中国人口感的主流。

在问卷调查中,消费者选择高酸度葡萄酒的比例仅占11%,在盲品调查中选择高酸度也只有13%,接近90%的中国消费者仅能够接受中、低酸度的葡萄酒。其中选择中酸的消费者占40%,选择低酸的消费者占49%;在盲品调查中,列为中等酸度的样酒得到了63%的认可,由此可见,中、低酸度葡萄酒最受中国消费者欢迎。

3. 具有低单宁的葡萄酒更易被中国人接受。

在问卷调查中,只有不到14%的被访者会选择“我口中感受到强烈、持久涩味”的高单宁葡萄酒。在盲品调查中,通过实际品鉴选择高单宁酒样的被访者更是低至12%。消费者对于高单宁给口腔带来的冲击感极为排斥,甚至喝到这种很涩的葡萄酒,显得很痛苦的样子。

4. 具有中等、重酒体的葡萄酒接受程度最高。

在所有的受访者中,不论饮酒年龄的大小或饮酒频率的高低,大家对于酒体的喜好趋于一致,那就是喜爱中等、重酒体的葡萄酒。其中,喜爱中等酒体的消费者接近44.7%,喜爱重度酒体的消费者有33.5%。在盲品调查中,有高达64%的消费者喜爱重度酒体的葡萄酒。

“中国口味”是一成不变的吗?

上述的调查印证了中国人“不酸,不涩,带点甜” 的喜好。然而仅仅短短几年,人们惊讶的发现,以前一味只喜欢和甜蜜果味酒的中国人在口感上开始兼容并包了。著名酒评人郝利文(Martin Hao)表示:“有很多中国消费者已经懂得欣赏高品质、口味复杂的名庄酒,青睐口感丰富多变的优质酒。还有更多的消费者对性价比更高的智利、阿根廷和澳洲酒感兴趣,他们开始习惯用酒体是否平衡的国际化标准来评价一款酒的优劣,而不再是果香和甜度的标准。”

如果此刻,还有人想要执拗于“中国口味”这个词汇的话,那么只能说,这个词的内涵已经发生了变化。如今,在众多的葡萄酒爱好者的圈层里,葡萄酒口味偏好的多样性和个性化的格局已然形成,当然也不排除那些仍旧还停留在果香崇拜阶段的爱好者。促成这种口感变化的原因可以简单概括为四个字——喝得多了。

到底有没有“中国口味”?

随着接触的葡萄酒越来越多,人们便开始希望去尝试更多风格各异,独具特色的葡萄酒,口味也就变得莫衷一是了。除却评判优质葡萄酒的那几个公认的标准之外,对于葡萄酒风味的偏爱根本就是个人口感偏好的问题,中国人也不例外。作为一名红酒爱好者,应该经常饮用不同口感的葡萄酒,全世界大量优质的,风格独特的葡萄酒都是您可以探索和追寻的,这样有助于品鉴能力的提高,感受到葡萄酒的更多魅力。

聊口味不如聊搭配

中国人的葡萄酒口味

既然口感不是国别化的问题而是个人偏好,那么人们研究了多年的口感话题是不是毫无意义?答案当然是否定的。我们以全世界最畅销的意大利灰皮诺为例,这款酒之所以卖得好,就在于它特点并不鲜明,性格也并非咄咄逼人,在餐酒搭配的时候表现出更大的友好度。

如今,在世界范围来看,人们喝酒最高频的场合是在餐桌上。因此,与其去讨论虚无缥缈的所谓中国口味,不如在餐酒搭配上多下功夫,寻找那些更适合搭配中国菜肴的葡萄酒。

事实上,世界上绝大多数对于中国市场兴致勃勃的品牌都已经意识到了这个问题,一些专攻亚洲市场的葡萄酒大师也在开展此类问题的研究。相较于法国人所崇尚的一支酒配一道菜的繁琐习俗,中国人更倾向于一支酒搞定一桌菜。

于是各类起泡酒首先打出了中国菜肴一网打尽的旗号,认为无论是鲜甜的上海本帮菜,还是麻辣的四川火锅,或者是清爽的广东粤菜,都可以与起泡酒完美配搭。如今起泡酒在中国市场一枝独秀,其在配餐方面的百搭性功不可没。

许多初接触葡萄酒的消费者,确实会因为其单宁和酸度而产生不适应或排斥感。然而,这是可以通过挑选特定产区品种,调整饮用温度,以及搭配合适的食物一起饮用而大大改观的。应该把怕酸怕涩以及喜欢甜味的情形认知为“初学者的口味”,而非“中国人的口味”,因为一旦对葡萄酒的经验丰富起来,每个人还是会去寻找自己喜欢的特定类型葡萄酒,即使它们比较酸、比较涩,甚至偏苦。所以,中国葡萄酒爱好者,他们的最爱可能是香槟,可能是雷司令,可能是赤霞珠,也可能是长相思,非常多样,并没有规则可循。

Vicky

作者 唯琪

唯琪出生并成长于中国山东省的海滨小城烟台,那里是中国最著名的葡萄酒产区之一。唯琪在攻读硕士期间对全球葡萄酒的市场战略做了一定的研究,这让她更加热爱葡萄酒。她喜欢旅行和美食,走遍世界美景,尝遍世界美酒是她最大的梦想。

Jeden komentarz

Leave a Reply

发表评论

头像

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Loading…

0
亚洲侍酒师:亚洲侍酒师为亚洲消费者倾情奉上的葡萄酒评级

亚洲侍酒师:亚洲侍酒师为亚洲消费者倾情奉上的葡萄酒评级

知识测验 | 您对葡萄酒了解多少?测试一下自己是否可称之为葡萄酒专家

您对葡萄酒了解多少?

The Myth of the “Chinese Taste Preference:” What Actually Makes a Wine Popular in the Chinese Market

The Myth of the “Chinese Taste Preference:” What Actually Makes a Wine Popular in the Chinese Market

I’m often asked what type of wine best matches the taste preferences of the Chinese. Over the years, I’ve tried quite a few wines, and I’ve also participated in a number of red wine judging events and blind tastings.

At these events, sponsors will typically invite a large crowd of experts and wine tasters to try dozens or even hundreds of different varieties of wine over the course of a half-day or a day, and give their honest appraisals. They then arrange the wines into a list, which is ordered based on the results of the appraisals, with points awarded within categories such as color, aroma, body, aftertaste, unique characteristics, vintage, and more. So, can this kind of point-based evaluation really lead us to discover the most suitable wines for the Chinese pallet? And should the wine at the bottom of the list be considered bad?

Actually, whether or not a particular bottle of wine tastes good depends entirely on the individual drinker. With strict modern requirements surrounding the art of winemaking, the quality of every bottle of wine can be more or less guaranteed (with the exception of cheap counterfeits). When evaluating a wine, there should be no need for a distinction between “good” and “bad”, but rather a distinction of whether or not a particular wine meets the personal preferences of the individual. Whichever wine tastes the best to you, is the best wine for you.

What types of wine are commonly considered to match with the “Chinese taste?”

The Myth of the “Chinese Taste Preference:” What Actually Makes a Wine Popular in the Chinese Market

In order to penetrate the Chinese market, many wineries produce large amounts of sweeter, fruity wines, with relatively full bodies and low levels of acidity and tannins. These highly drinkable wines, sold in China with the intention of catering to Chinese taste preferences, have flooded the market in recent years.

Today, Chinese people have a wider range of opinions when evaluating wines than ever before.

Based on this, it may sound easy to find a wine that will match the taste preferences of the Chinese market, but it turns out to be a significantly more difficult problem. Today, Chinese people have a wider range of opinions when evaluating wines than ever before. Experts will almost always favor a wine with a complex flavor profile, however, normal consumers are more concerned with the wine’s “drinkability.”

The lifestyles, backgrounds, and health conditions of each wine consumer vary greatly, as do their sensitivities to the smells, tastes, and textures of different wines. The perception of the color or aroma of a wine and even the acidity, bitterness or sweetness of the wine’s aftertaste will all vary greatly from individual to individual. 

In the end, each wine drinker has its own unique set of taste preferences, and with a population of over 1.4 billion, it is extremely difficult to determine any unifying criteria that will describe the tastes of every Chinese person. Despite this, there are a few wine producers who still go to great lengths for business advantage in the Chinese market, and continue branding their wines as “for Chinese tastes.”

An investigation into the taste preferences of Chinese wine drinkers

The Myth of the “Chinese Taste Preference:” What Actually Makes a Wine Popular in the Chinese Market

For a time, the question of “Chinese taste” was a burning one for wine sellers throughout the world as they aggressively explored every lead to discover the secret that would lead them atop the market. Much research was performed to this end, and years ago wine sellers had more or less developed a consensus: although tastes varied greatly within the Chinese population, there were a few universal preferences that became evident through taste testing. One of these universal preferences was for simple, fruity aromas; another for sweet-tasting wine with low acidity. The fact that red wines were selling significantly better than white wines in China was seen as further proof of these preferences.

In 2015, the Chinese wine education organization Ease Scent Wine Education launched a “Wine Taste Preferences of the Chinese Consumer Survey” directed toward the Chinese wine market, and also issued the Chinese Taste Preferences in Wines Whitepaper. For the survey, a questionnaire was developed to gather information about the everyday preferences of Chinese wine consumers based on the four “core criteria” of aroma, sourness/sweetness, tannin level, and body. The goal of the survey was to determine which properties of wine could be characterized as “most suitable for Chinese tastes.” The following is a brief overview of the results:

1. Chinese consumers tend to prefer wines with a fruity aroma.

Nearly 90% of respondents said that they liked wine with a fruity aroma the best, stating that fruity-smelling wines were not only easier to distinguish between, but also gave the drinker a feeling of cheerfulness; 49.3% of respondents went so far as to say that they preferred wine with a “strong fruity aroma.” In blind wine tastings conducted in 22 Chinese cities, 73% of participants said that they liked wines that had a “strong fruity aroma,” and generally responded that these wines left the drinker feeling happier than did wines with a “weak fruity aroma.”

2. Wines with low to moderate levels of acidity are most popular in China.

From the results of the questionnaire, only 11% of consumers said that they enjoyed the taste of high-acidity wines, and the blind tasting results matched closely with only 13% of participants saying that they liked these sour-tasting wines. This leaves nearly 90% of Chinese consumers preferring the taste of wines with low to moderate levels of acidity, with 40% choosing wines with moderate acidity and 49% choosing wines with low acidity. In the blind tastings, 63% of participants chose moderate acidity wines as their favorite. In any case, it is clear from these results that Chinese wine drinkers had a much higher tendency toward choosing wines with lower levels of acidity.

3. Low-tannin wines are more readily accepted by Chinese wine drinkers.

Only 14% of questionnaire respondents said that they enjoyed drinking “strong, persistent, and bitter” high-tannin wines. The blind tastings confirmed this, where the proportion of participants who said they enjoyed the taste of high-tannin wines came in at a mere 12%. Chinese consumers at the time preferred their wines without the strong, attacking flavor that accompanies high tannin levels, and many were clearly pained when sampling these bitter wines.

4. Chinese consumers tend to like full-bodied wines the best.

The survey results showed a consistent preference for moderate to full-bodied wines, regardless of respondent age or drinking frequency; Chinese consumers selected moderate wines at a rate of 44.7%, and full-bodied wines at a rate of 33.5%. In the blind tastings, 64% of participants preferred full-bodied wine.

Is this standard for “Chinese taste preferences” in wine set in stone?

These studies make it clear that the Chinese wine drinkers who were surveyed at the time enjoyed wine that is “not sour, not bitter, and a little sweet.” However, in the years since the survey was conducted, many have been surprised to discover that the Chinese have developed more wide-ranging tastes, that move beyond enjoying only sweet wines with fruity aromas. 

Many Chinese consumers have already learned to enjoy the more complex flavors offered by high-quality wines, and are much more accepting of diverse, excellent wines with rich tastes.

Martin Hao, Asian Wine Reviewer, Robert Parker Wine Advocate

According to famous wine critic Martin Hao, “Many Chinese consumers have already learned to enjoy the more complex flavors offered by high-quality wines, and are much more accepting of diverse, excellent wines with rich tastes. In addition, more consumers are becoming aware of the good price-to-quality ratio of Chilean, Argentinian and Australian wines, and are even becoming accustomed to using internationally accepted criteria, such as the balance of the body, when evaluating a wine, rather than simply basing their opinion on its fruity aroma and sweetness.”

Although there are some who still stand by the notion of a distinct “Chinese taste preference,” the meaning of this term has undergone some changes in recent years. In most wine hobbyist circles, wine taste preferences are now viewed as diversified and individualized. Although many wine drinkers still prefer those sweet wines with fruity aromas, this is no longer seen as a one-size-fits-all classification of the Chinese consumer. And these changing tastes can be described by one simple fact – the Chinese have been drinking more wine.

So, is there a “Chinese taste preference” after all?

As they are exposed to the tastes of a greater variety of wines, people are inclined to try out an even more diverse range of styles and brands; and as they venture out into this new territory, they will often find that their taste preferences begin to change in turn. With the exception of a few universally accepted criteria by which wines have been traditionally assessed, finding the wine that best suits one’s tastes and style is fundamentally a question of their individual preferences. 

A lover of red wine is sure to have experienced wines with a great diversity in tastes, as there is an incredible number of excellent wines from around the world that are available to the modern consumer. This experience allows for greater development of one’s ability to assess wine and adds to the overall enjoyability and charm of the wine drinking process.

When judging a wine, it’s often better to talk pairing than simply taste

The Myth of the “Chinese Taste Preference:” What Actually Makes a Wine Popular in the Chinese Market

It is now clear that taste preferences are not set by national boundaries, but rather by the individual; but does this mean that the many years of research done on the topic of Chinese taste preferences have been wasted? Certainly not.

Today, from a global perspective, people drink wine most often at the dinner table. Therefore, instead of focusing on the illusory “Chinese taste preference,” it is much more beneficial to consider what types of wine are most suitable to pair with Chinese cuisine.

Whereas the French pair a particular wine with every single dish, the Chinese tend to look for a single wine that will pair nicely with their entire table full of different foods and flavors.

In fact, most major players in the global wine industry with interests in the Chinese market have already figured this out, and there are a few wine experts who specialize in the Asian markets that are actively engaged in further research on the topic. Pairing wine with Chinese meals is a bit different than pairing wine with most Western cuisines; whereas the French pair a particular wine with every single dish, the Chinese tend to look for a single wine that will pair nicely with their entire table full of different foods and flavors.

As a result, sparkling varieties are typically first on the list of wines that can pair well with an entire meal of Chinese dishes. Whether sweet Shanghainese cuisine, spicy Sichuan hot pot, or even the light and fresh Guangdong style of cooking, all can be perfectly paired with sparkling wine. This unmatched ability to pair with a wide variety of Chinese cuisines is the main reason that sparkling wines sell so well in China.

Understanding the “beginner taste preference”

For those who are relatively new to drinking wine, and especially to those trying wine for the first time, high-tannin or high-acidity wines can produce an uncomfortable feeling in the mouth. However, there are a few remedies that can overcome this issue, including precisely selecting wines from certain regions, regulating the temperature of the wine, and pairing it with appropriate dishes of food. 

It is better to consider those who do not like sour or bitter-tasting wine but instead prefers a sweeter taste as having “beginner taste preferences” and not “Chinese taste preferences.” As their experiences drinking wine become more plentiful and diverse, each person will be better able to find the varieties of wine that best suit their personal preferences for taste, and this preference may even turn out to be for relatively sour or bitter-tasting wine. 

The taste preferences of the modern Chinese wine lover are diverse and varied

As for the taste preferences of any individual Chinese wine lover, their favorite wine may be a Champagne, or maybe a Riesling; it could also be a Cabernet Sauvignon, Sauvignon Blanc, or any other variety produced around the globe. As it turns out, their taste preferences are diverse, and cannot be bound by any standard or rule. 

What do you think?

Vicky

Written by Vicky

Vicky was born and raised in Yantai, a small coastal city located in the Shandong Province in China, one of the most famous wine-producing regions in the country. Vicky has done researches on the global wine market strategy during her master's degree and fell in love with wine. She likes to travel, savor tasty food and her biggest dream is to travel around the world to taste the best wines.

Comments

Leave a Reply
  1. Interesting. Seems the same as the Philippines. Gone are the days when Filipinos were just into full bodied or high tannin wines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0
Wine review made by Asian sommeliers for Asian consumers

Wine review made by Asian sommeliers for Asian consumers

What do you know about wine?

What do you know about wine?