葡萄酒的窖藏和储存攻略

酒窖设计

葡萄酒的窖藏和储存攻略

要选择一份窖藏攻略,首先要考虑的因素之一当然是您的酒窖。毫无疑问,如果没有一个合适的空间来存放您的葡萄酒,收藏各种出色的葡萄酒也将毫无意义。要确保合适的存放年限,保护您的投资,就需要为醇酒佳酿们打造一个控制严格的环境。鉴此,开始采购葡萄酒之前,请认真考虑以下几点。

气候控制

为了尽可能地延长存放时间,葡萄酒必须存放在气候可控的环境中,尤其是热带国家。如果温度湿度过高,您的葡萄酒会很快发酵,瓶内的酒会煮熟,破坏瓶塞和标签,甚至可能毁掉您酒窖里的一切。另外,极寒的气候中,如果把葡萄酒存放在没有暖气的车库,这可能会导致酒石酸沉淀,在葡萄酒中形成难看的晶体。

振动

理想情况下,积淀酿制一瓶好酒的过程中,我们要尽量少移动,避免过度振动。因为移动会搅起瓶中的沉积物,持续的振动也不利于陈化过程。如果您正出资打造一个葡萄酒冷库,请在建造过程中确保电机绝缘,或确保电机远离设备的主要部分,以此避免瓶内液体的震荡移动。

光照

光照不利于所有葡萄酒,尤其是浅色和白葡萄酒。太阳光或荧光灯发出的紫外线会开始分解葡萄酒中的化合物和分子,导致它们过早陈化,并使酒瓶升温。请将您的葡萄酒存放在暗处,避免在酒窖里使用荧光灯。

存货管理

葡萄酒的窖藏和储存攻略

即使在您看来,您很了解您所拥有的东西,但可能并非如此。请确保及时追踪您的库存,避免让葡萄酒错过了它们的最佳饮用时间。如果让葡萄酒陈化太久,这纯粹是浪费金钱。

软件

如果您有一个很大的酒窖,也就是超过几十瓶酒的规模,您可以考虑使用一个应用程序(App)或软件来追踪库存。您可以创建您的葡萄酒清单,按地区、生产商、年份等排序,甚至设计合适的饮酒视窗。这样,您就不会遗漏任何信息。当您开一瓶新酒的时候,别忘了更新您的清单!

储存

当您将新买的酒款放入酒窖时,请务必确保万事皆有条理。您可根据产区、年份、葡萄品种等在酒窖中划分特定区域,并确保一切清晰可见。若您在酒窖中找不到任何一款酒的话,确切地了解酒窖中的酒款并非最有用之事。您总认为您记得布鲁奈罗的葡萄酒藏在何处,但现在我得告诉您,您之后会忘记的。特别是在您并非定期购买新酒款的情况下。

购买

葡萄酒的窖藏和储存攻略

在购买任何酒款之前,请思考以下您购买葡萄酒的原因。您打造酒窖的目的何在?是准备在酒款变得更有价值时再次出售以作为投资吗?还是您个人的兴趣所在呢?是作为一种教育渠道,以了解更多生产商和年份呢?基于有关您整体酒窖的购买策略,以下考虑因素对您来说或多或少都至关重要。

预算

对每个人来说都很重要的一点便是预算。在您准备为您的酒窖添置酒款时,请考虑一下您的预算,或者您每年在葡萄酒上所投入的总体费用。通过这种方式,您可以确保您不会不假思索便倾尽所有去购买3箱昂贵的勃艮第红葡萄酒,而是合理分配红、白葡萄酒,日常饮用或是特别场合的葡萄酒等的购买量,并零您酒窖中的各种酒款保持均衡。手头极为宽裕的买家才适合盲买。

产区

您酒窖中的酒款是来自各个不同的产区,还是您偏向于一些特别的国家或葡萄酒产区?若您打算打造一个用于教育目的的酒窖,那比较理想的是购买各种产区的葡萄酒,甚至可以是同一葡萄品种,但产自全球不同产区的葡萄酒。这样一来,您便可以对比”子集“的葡萄酒,进行比较并了解葡萄酒产区的差异。它还将帮助您了解不同地区的葡萄酒在不同时期的陈酿方式。

如果您对打造产区多样化的酒窖并无兴趣,那么您可以选择4-5个心仪的产区,并只着重关注这些产区的葡萄酒。酒窖里遍布廉价但毫无饮用之意的葡萄酒,并非您想要的结果。当您需要招待客人时,多买几瓶其他风格或产区的葡萄酒,但不要肆意乱买您可能会永远闲置的东西。

年份

葡萄酒的窖藏和储存攻略

年份也很重要,不管您采用什么策略,但原因不同。如果您购买葡萄酒是自己饮用,您需要确保您购买的葡萄酒同时涵盖即饮款及陈酿款。最好就是选择需要陈年,并熟成期为不同时期的葡萄酒。如果您酒窖中的酒款同时熟成,您不仅需要等待上几年,而且一下子也喝不了这么多瓶葡萄酒。最好是一开始就混合购买不同年份和陈年潜力的葡萄酒,在此之后便遵循该理念。

如果您的酒窖是一项投资,您也会关注年份,但目标是购买可能大幅升值的年份酒。这样的游戏就是试图评估哪些年份的酒在退出时价格过高或过低,但未来具有发展潜力。

如果您的目标是自学葡萄酒和举办比较品酒会,那么您也应该在酒窖里收藏各种年份的葡萄酒,但重点是收藏同一种葡萄酒或来自同一地区但不同年份的葡萄酒。垂直品尝葡萄酒可以帮助您了解葡萄酒的陈酿过程,以及更多关于您的偏好以及将来会买的酒款。

饮用窗口期

这又和年份有所关联了。如果您买的是同一年份的葡萄酒,那么一定要确保这些葡萄酒的最佳饮用状态是在不同的时期。您肯定不想买20箱同样的葡萄酒,然后在被逼无奈的情况下饮用同款葡萄酒长达数月,只为不浪费。试着平衡您酒窖中任意时期适宜饮用的葡萄酒数量。

潜在价值增长

只有计划在将来的某天再次售出您收藏酒款的情况下,才需要考虑这点。拒绝购买预算以外的酒款,或您并未真正打算饮用,仅因为价格可能会上涨。只有葡萄酒的储存条件优异,购买历史可以追溯,而且仍然需要加上些时间和努力,转售葡萄酒才有可能。很少有葡萄酒的价值增长到值得储存一段时间的成本,以获得稳定的投资回报。大多数买家在购买葡萄酒时,最好仅选择您自己打算喝的酒款。

数量

我应该买多少瓶葡萄酒?这取决于您的饮酒量,但通常我并不会建议您只购买一瓶葡萄酒放入酒窖之中。想象一下,如果您将这款酒陈年5年、10年或25年,却发现它已经被软木塞堵住了,您会多么失望。我建议一款葡萄酒购买3瓶、6瓶或12瓶。购买了多瓶葡萄酒后,您可以在整个陈年过程中进行品尝,了解葡萄酒的形成过程,以及是否值得再买一瓶。

如果您购买葡萄酒是为了投资,我建议您购买一箱6瓶或12瓶装的,或者购买多箱葡萄酒。整箱再售比单瓶再售更为容易。

轮转

葡萄酒的窖藏和储存攻略

记住您酒窖中的酒款将或应时需不断地轮转。酒款有进有出。铭记这几点,并确保酒款周转顺利进行。

季节性

许多饮酒者随着季节变换其饮酒习惯。在一年中的炎热之际,您可能会喝更多年轻的、爽脆的、轻盈的白葡萄酒和桃红气泡酒,而冬天是那些以经历熟成,口感浓郁的葡萄酒的季节。别忘了在您的酒窖中添加几款清新的白葡萄酒,在炎炎夏日找不到饮品的时刻尽享倾心!记住不断增加值得陈年的酒款,比记得购买即饮酒款更为容易。

更换酒款库存——我需要保留的库存有多少?

在这些情况下,没有多少要考虑的,库存的大小是受限制的,时根据合理的葡萄酒储存所需的空间而定的。但这也取决于收藏家的年纪。因为一个真正的葡萄酒收藏系列需要几十年的时间来打造,所以它可能需要几十年的时间来饮用。值得注意的是,您是否打算在生命的最后阶段留下一个完整的酒窖,或者您是否决定是时候开始削减您的库存和减少替换酒款。

其他事件,如搬家或生活方式的改变也可能影响您的愿望或保持一个多酒窖酒款的可行性。如果并非您本意,不要过度购买那些您最终可能不喝或不得不卖掉的东西。

结论

如果您在开始打造葡萄酒藏品前并无可用的战略,那酒窖管理则可能有些棘手。在您开始购买太多的葡萄酒之前,有必要仔细思考您想要收藏的葡萄酒类型以及如何进行组建。无组织、无规划的酒窖可能会导致金钱和葡萄酒方面两败俱伤,如果瓶子储存不当或被遗忘,那么您将错过它们的最佳饮用年份。从长远来看,前期的一点准备将会为您节省大量的工作。

您的看法是?

Cedar

作者 Cedar

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

Jeden komentarz

Leave a Reply

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Loading…

0
菌菇烩牛尾配普利亚斯普里勒马雷玛托斯卡纳DOC葡萄酒

菌菇烩牛尾配普利亚斯普里勒马雷玛托斯卡纳DOC葡萄酒

香芒煎三文鱼&维多佐威尼斯朱利亚地区餐酒

香芒煎三文鱼&维多佐威尼斯朱利亚地区餐酒

Wine Cellaring and Storage Strategies

Cellar Design

Wine Cellaring and Storage Strategies

One of the first things to consider for a cellaring strategy, is of course your cellar. There is absolutely no point to building a beautiful wine collection if you don’t have a proper space to house it. Fine wines require an extremely controlled environment to ensure proper ageing and protection of your investment. So consider the following points before you start purchasing wines.

Climate control

For maximum ageing potential, wines must be stored in a climate-controlled environment, particularly in tropical countries. Too much heat and too much humidity will cause your wines to evolve too rapidly, cook the wines in the bottle, destroy the corks and labels, and otherwise ruin whatever you have in your cellar. Alternatively, leaving your wines in an unheated garage in a very cold climate may cause the wines to precipitate tartaric acid, creating unsightly crystals in the liquid.

Vibration

Ideally wines should be moved as little as possible during maturation and should be protected from excessive vibration. Movement stirs up the sediment in the bottle, and constant vibration negatively impacts the ageing process. If you are investing in a wine refrigerator, make sure the motor is properly insulated or removed from the main part of the unit, so it does not cause movement of the wine in bottle.

Light

Light is detrimental to all wines, but especially to light colored and white wines. UV rays from sunlight or fluorescent lights can start to break down the chemical compounds and molecules within wines, causing them to age prematurely and heating the bottles. Store your wines somewhere dark and do not use fluorescent lighting in your cellar.

Inventory Management

Wine Cellaring and Storage Strategies

Even if you think you know what you have, you probably don’t. Make sure you invest in tracking your inventory so that you don’t let a wine go past its prime drinking window. Letting your wine age too long is simply a waste of money.

Software

If you have a sizable cellar, really anything over a few dozen bottles, consider using an app or software designed to track your inventory. You can create lists of the wines you have, sort by region, producer, vintage, etc, and even program in ideal drinking windows so that you don’t lose track of anything. Just don’t forget to update your list when you drink a bottle!

Storage

When you are putting your new purchases in your cellar, do try to keep things organized. Designate areas within the cellar by region, by vintage, by varietal, etc., and try to keep everything visible. Knowing exactly what is in your cellar is not the most helpful if you can’t find any of it. You always think you will remember where you stashed that case of Brunello but I will tell you right now, you won’t remember. Especially not if you regularly add to your collection.

Purchasing

Wine Cellaring and Storage Strategies

Before you purchase anything, think about why you are buying the wine. What is the purpose of your cellar? Is it as an investment, in order to resell wines that have gained in value? Is it for your own drinking pleasure? Is it an educational tool, to assess variation across producers and vintages? The following considerations will be more or less important to you based on your overall cellar buying strategy.

Budget

One thing that is important to everyone is their budget. Before you set out to stock your cellar, think about what kind of budget you have to work with or how much you generally spend on wine per year. This way you can make sure you don’t spend everything you have on 3 cases of extremely expensive Red Burgundy right away, but that you can allot so much money to reds, so much to white, so much to everyday wine, so much to special occasion wine, etc. and thus achieve balance in your cellar. Only the most wealthy can afford to buy blind.

Regions

Do you want to have a mix of regions in your cellar or would you prefer to focus solely on particular countries or wine-producing regions? If your goal is to build an educational cellar, you would ideally purchase wines from a variety of regions, perhaps even wines of the same varietal but from different regions around the world. This allows you to compare and contrast a subset of wines and learn about wine region variation. It will also help you learn about how wines from different regions age differently over periods of time.

If you are not interested in diversifying your regions, then pick 4 or 5 of your favorite regions, and focus solely on wines from these areas. You don’t want to fill your cellar with wine you got at a really great deal but will never drink. Add a few extra bottles of other styles or other regions for when you have guests, but do not indiscriminately buy things you will likely never drink.

Vintages

Wine Cellaring and Storage Strategies

Vintage will also be important, no matter what strategy you adopt, but for different reasons. If you are purchasing wine for your own consumption, you want to make sure you purchase a good mix of wines that are ready to consume now and those which will require ageing. Ideally you would also purchase wines for ageing that will come to maturity at different times. If your whole cellar reaches maturity at the same time, not only will you have to wait several years for it to do so, but then you will have far too many bottles to consume all at once. It is best to start your cellar with a mix of different vintages and ageing potentials, and then continue to purchase with this same idea in mind for the future.

If your cellar is an investment, you will also pay attention to vintage, but with the goal of purchasing vintages that are likely to increase substantially in value. The game will be trying to assess which vintages are overpriced on release and which are undervalued, but show promise for the future.

If your goal is to educate yourself and hold comparative tastings, you should also hold a variety of vintages in your cellar, but focus on collecting different vintages of the same wine or from the same region. Tasting the wines vertically will help you understand how a wine ages, and help you learn more about what you like to drink and what to buy in the future.

Drinking windows

This relates back to vintage – just make sure that if you are buying many wines from the same vintage that you buy wines which will reach optimal drinking readiness at different times. You don’t want to buy 20 cases of the same type of wine and then be forced to consume this one kind of wine for months to keep it from going to waste. Try to balance the number of wines ready at any one point in your cellar.

Potential value increase

Consider this point only if you are planning on reselling your collection at some point in the future. Do not buy something that is out of your budget or that you don’t really plan to drink, just because the price is likely to go up. Reselling wines is really only possible if the wine has been stored in optimal conditions, the purchase history can be traced, and it will still require some time and effort. Few wines increase in value enough to be worth the storage costs for the length of time required to see a solid return on investment. For most buyers, you’re better off only purchasing wines you really plan to drink yourself.

Amount

How much wine should I be buying? Well, this will depend on your consumption habits, but generally I would not recommend buying only one bottle of a wine to cellar. Imagine how disappointed you will be if you have aged this wine for 5, 10 or 25 years, only to find out it was corked. I would recommend buying wine in 3, 6 or 12 bottle increments. Having multiple bottles of a wine also allows you to taste them throughout the ageing process, allowing you to discover how the wine develops and if it is worth it to purchase additional bottles.

If you are buying wine as an investment, I would recommend purchasing it in 6- or 12-bottle cases, or purchasing multiple cases. It is much easier to resell whole cases than individual bottles.

Rotation

Wine Cellaring and Storage Strategies

Remember that your cellar stock will or should be in constant turn over. Some bottles will be going out as others are going in. Keep these things in mind to ensure smooth rotation of your stock.

Seasonality

Many consumers change their drinking habits depending on the season. During the hotter periods of the year, you will likely consume many more young, crisp, light whites and rosés, while winter is a time for those heavier reds you’ve been ageing. Don’t forget to replenish your stock of fresh whites and find yourself with nothing to drink during the hottest days of summer! It’s often easier to remember to keep adding to your ageworthy inventory than it is to remember to buy wines for immediate drinking.

Replacing stock – how much inventory to retain?

In many cases, there is not much to think about, size of inventory is restricted based on the space one has available for proper wine storage. But it can also depend on the age of the collector. As a serious wine collection takes decades to build, so it can take decades to drink. It is worth questioning whether you plan to leave a full cellar at the end of your life, or whether you may decide it’s time to start paring down your inventory and replacing less.

Other events such as a move or a lifestyle change may also impact your desire for or the feasibility of keeping a large cellar inventory. Don’t overbuy things that you may end up not drinking or having to try to sell off, if that was not your intention.

Conclusion

Cellar management can be tricky if you do not have a strategy in place before you start building your wine collection. It is worthwhile to think carefully about the type of collection you want to have and how it will be organized before you start purchasing too many wines. A disorganized and unplanned cellar can lead to a loss of money and wine, if bottles are stored improperly or forgotten about until they are past their prime. A little work upfront will save you a huge amount of work in the long run.

What do you think?

Cedar

Written by Cedar

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0
Braised Oxtail with Mushrooms & Prelius Prile, Maremma Toscana DOC

Braised Oxtail with Mushrooms & Prelius Prile, Maremma Toscana DOC

Seared Salmon With Mango Fantasy & Verduzzo Venezia Giulia IGT

Seared Salmon With Mango Fantasy & Verduzzo Venezia Giulia IGT