如何购买葡萄酒:让导购人员明白自己的需求

如何购买葡萄酒:让导购人员明白自己的需求

购酒时,也许您对酒的口感有一些特定要求,或者用于某一目的。但是,您却无法准确将这些想法传达给葡萄酒导购员以便其能了解您的真正需求。

我之前在葡萄酒专卖店工作时,当顾客无法传递有效信息时,我90%的工作内容便是猜度其用意。通过这些问题,或明确表达自己的喜好对购入自己心仪之酒将大有助益。

选红葡萄酒还是白葡萄酒?

如何购买葡萄酒:让导购人员明白自己的需求

这可能是一个最基本的问题,但值得好好考虑。而且,不要只考虑日常的喜好,要将计划饮用时的室外温度及选择搭配的食物等因素考虑入内。

如果您的料理需白葡萄酒佐以搭配,而您日常偏好红葡萄酒,请如实告知导购人员。反之亦然,这将有助于他们为您选择一款既适合所需场合又具备您所爱特色的葡萄酒。

可__与搭配的餐酒为哪款?您将享用哪道美食?

如何购买葡萄酒:让导购人员明白自己的需求

这是最为重要的问题之一。如果购酒是为了作为餐酒,那您应将如何好好搭配考虑入内。餐酒是否可随意挑选?可以,没问题,但是不合适的搭配无法将食物和葡萄酒各自的风味发挥到极致。

您可询问导购人员关于这道美食的餐酒搭配有何推荐,他们可能会询问有关肉类的烹制方式,使用的酱汁以及调料等。这一点至关重要。当然,您并不一定要购买他们推荐的那一款,但是向导购人员进行咨询将有助于您做出更好的抉择。

您考虑什么时候开瓶?

如何购买葡萄酒:让导购人员明白自己的需求

尤其涉及价格时,这个问题不可避免。有些葡萄酒需要陈年,而有些葡萄酒适合在年轻和新鲜时饮用。并非所有葡萄酒在陈年之后口感会有所提升。一般来说,价格实惠的葡萄酒适合即饮或至多存放一至两年便可饮用。

如果您准备今晚饮用,请购买即饮型葡萄酒。相同地,如果您想购买陈年葡萄酒,那您需要了解开瓶的最佳时机。陈年葡萄酒如果在熟成之前开瓶,或完全错过最佳饮用时期后开瓶,其质量会大大下降。

此款葡萄酒甜度如何?此款葡萄酒的残留糖分含量为多少?

如果您对甜型或干型葡萄酒有自己的偏好,此问题必不可少,同样可适用于起泡酒和餐后甜酒的购买。但要记住,果味或果味为主的味道并不等同于甜度。

起泡酒和餐后甜酒各有风味,甜度也各有差异。考虑好自己喜欢的类型,干型/偏干型、微甜型、甜型或极甜型。自己的喜好只有自己最了解。

此款葡萄酒和哪些酒较为相似?一般您倾向于哪款葡萄酒?

如果您可以提供一些具体信息,包括您喜欢的葡萄酒类型或葡萄酒生产商,这将大有帮助。

如果您无法准确描述自己喜欢的葡萄酒类型,以上信息将会有助于导购人员做出正确决断。导购人员应对葡萄酒及生产商十分了解,可根据您之前的喜好进行产品推荐。

您的预算是多少?

如何购买葡萄酒:让导购人员明白自己的需求

通常我的客户都不愿回答这个问题,他们认为我想让他们花更多的钱。情况并非如此。我只是想了解一下顾客所能接受的价格范围,在为其推荐葡萄酒之前便了然于心。如果您的预算确实只有20美元,我不会推荐50美元的葡萄酒。我宁可推荐我倾向的那些20美元的葡萄酒,我们的产品种类齐全。

相同地,如果您想要为某人准备一份精美礼品,且预算在200美元左右,我也不会浪费时间为您推荐50美元的葡萄酒。葡萄酒导购人员只是想为推荐最佳选择,并不是想让您花费更多。

出手吧

当您下次购买葡萄酒时,请谨记以上问题,和导购人员相互提问。如果您对这些问题已有了明确答案,便可在商店购酒时让导购人员更好地了解您的需求,以便您尽情享受所选之酒。

您的看法是?

Cedar

作者 Cedar

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

Jeden komentarz

Leave a Reply

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Loading…

0
黄金炸脆奶与布拉切多酿制的桃红起泡葡萄酒(Brachetto d'Acqui Rosé)

黄金炸脆奶与布拉切多酿制的桃红起泡葡萄酒(Brachetto d’Acqui Rosé)

坎帕尼亚Macchie Santa Maria酒庄艾格尼科葡萄酒

坎帕尼亚Macchie Santa Maria酒庄艾格尼科葡萄酒

How to Buy Wine: Help Your Salesperson Help You

How to Buy Wine: Help Your Salesperson Help You

When you are buying a bottle of wine you probably have a pretty good idea of what you want it to taste like. Or what you want to use it for. You may not, however, have the vocabulary to communicate these ideas in a way that will help your wine salesperson understand what you want.

When I worked in wine shops, 90% of my job was to discern what people meant, when they were not saying anything that made sense. Using these questions, or being able to explain your preferences will go a long way towards making sure you get what you are looking for when you buy your next bottle.

Red or White?

How to Buy Wine: Help Your Salesperson Help You

This is probably the most basic question of all, but give it some thought. And don’t just think about which you generally prefer – think about the temperature outdoors when you plan to drink it, what type of food you will have with it, etc.

If you need a white wine to pair with something you are serving, but you generally prefer red wine, let your salesperson know. And vice versa, this will help them select a wine that will appropriate for your occasion but which will have characteristics that you will enjoy.

What pairs well with __? What will you be serving?

How to Buy Wine: Help Your Salesperson Help You

One of the most important questions to ask. If you are buying a wine to pair with a specific dish or meal, you should consider what will make a good pairing. Is it possible to drink any wine with any food? Yes, it is, but an unsuitable pairing will not show either the food or the wine at its best. 

Ask your wine salesperson what they would recommend serving with this dish, and expect that they may ask you about how the meat is cooked, what sauces are used, what spices are used, etc. This does make a difference. Of course, you don’t have to buy the exact wine that they would choose, but discussing the pairing with them will help you make a better selection.

When would you recommend opening this bottle?

How to Buy Wine: Help Your Salesperson Help You

This is a question to ask especially as you start moving up in price. Some wines are meant to age and some wines are meant to be drunk young and fresh. Not all wines are going to improve with age. Lower priced bottles are generally meant to be drunk immediately or within at most 1 to 2 years of release.

If you are looking for a bottle of wine for tonight, you’ll want to make sure that you buy a wine that is ready to drink. Similarly, if you are buying wine to age, you’ll want to know when you should be thinking about starting to open the bottles. It’s no good aging wine only to open the bottles before they are ready, or alternatively, to miss the drinking window entirely and open them only to find the quality diminished.

Is this wine sweet? How much Residual Sugar is in this wine?

This is a good thing to ask if you have a preference for either very sweet or very dry wines. and is especially applicable if you are buying either sparkling or dessert wines. Remember that fruity or fruit-forward is not the same as sweet.

With sparkling and dessert wines, these come in many different styles and different levels of sweetness. Think about whether you would like something that is dry/nearly dry, slightly sweet, sweet, or syrupy sweet. Only you know what you prefer.

What is this wine similar to? What wines do you usually enjoy?

If you have some examples to refer to, of either styles of wine or wine producers that you already know you like, this can be very helpful.

If you don’t have the vocabulary to explain what style of wine you enjoy, then examples can help your wine salesperson determine what that style is. Your wine person should be familiar enough with wine and producers to make a recommendation based on what you have previously enjoyed.

How much do you want to spend?

How to Buy Wine: Help Your Salesperson Help You

Often my customers don’t want to answer this question because they believe I’m trying to get them to spend more money. This is not the case. I just want to know what price range you are comfortable with or had in mind before I start recommending things. I don’t want to recommend a $50 bottle when you really only want to spend $20. I’d rather recommend my favorite $20 bottles, I definitely have them.

Similarly, if you want to get a beautiful gift for someone and would like to spend around $200, I’m not going to waste time with the $50 bottles. Your wine salesperson wants to be able to give the best recommendation to you, not necessarily try to get you to spend more.

Go forth and buy

Next time you are out on a mission to buy a bottle, remember these questions – you may ask them or they may be asked of you. If you have the answers to these questions you will be much more prepared to help the personnel in your local wine shop help you, and much more likely to enjoy the bottle you have chosen.

What do you think?

Cedar

Written by Cedar

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Comments

Leave a Reply
  1. The important thing is not to clam up. Salespeople are there to help you. They can’t do that when you avoid them or do not work with them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0
Golden Fried Crisp Milk & Rosa Regale Brachetto d'Acqui DOCG

Golden Fried Crisp Milk & Rosa Regale Brachetto d’Acqui DOCG

Pan-Fried Shunde Chicken & Macchie Santa Maria Campania Aglianico

Pan-Fried Shunde Chicken & Macchie Santa Maria Campania Aglianico