选择哪款葡萄酒杯?每一场合的最佳酒杯选项

选择哪款葡萄酒杯?每一场合的最佳酒杯选项 | 完全指南

由于葡萄酒杯种类繁多,选择合适的酒杯便让人感到一头雾水。现今,每一葡萄品种均有不同的酒杯用以搭配,但各种葡萄酒杯却看似无异。

不用担心,我们将带您一起探索葡萄酒杯的主要款式,找到适合您需求的几款酒杯,同时我们也将向您普及持杯的姿势、洗涤方式以及平时如何充分使用酒杯的方式。这些都是您可投资的款式,您应该在考虑预算及可用储藏空间的情况下,选择一款与您生活方式及饮酒习惯相符的酒杯。

非高脚酒杯

首先我们要说的是非高脚酒杯目前的趋势——这些酒杯的通常类似于您可手持的玻璃酒杯,尺寸不一。由于您手持非高脚酒杯时,手温将影响葡萄酒的温度,此外,若您的双手或手腕涂有带香味的乳液或喷了香水,那酒杯太过靠近您的鼻子,您将无法正确地辨别出葡萄酒的香味,因此本人不推荐这类非高脚杯。如果您本身中意此类酒杯,大可忽略此条建议,但这类酒杯并不适合正式葡萄酒品鉴。

非高脚酒杯

起泡酒杯

起泡酒杯主要分为两大类——香槟碟型杯(Coupe)和长笛型杯(Flute)。长笛型杯外观窄长,香槟碟型杯则平而浅。尽管香槟碟型杯是用于饮用香槟和起泡酒的传统选项,但其实长笛型杯更为适合。长笛型杯可将这类酒的微妙香气和气泡集中于窄口,您的鼻子可直接闻到酒香,而香槟碟型杯宽平的表面则会使气泡更快地溜走。香槟碟型杯适用于香槟鸡尾酒,但如果您着实想细细品味葡萄酒,我本人始终偏好长笛型杯。

起泡酒杯

波尔多酒杯

波尔多酒杯是大众所知的一款典型葡萄酒杯——一种微圆形的高脚酒杯,杯体略微向上变窄。波尔多酒杯的常规容量是530 – 620ml,在葡萄酒杯中属于大型杯。标准的酒杯形状让氧气与葡萄酒些许混合,随后释放出香气和风味,而该款酒杯的锥形形状则使得香气能在您的鼻子下集中且更容易地体现。

波尔多酒杯适用于波尔多混合、赤霞珠和其他高单宁、酒体饱满的红葡萄酒,因为更大的酒杯会让您的鼻子保持距离感,当您将鼻子凑近酒杯时,您可以闻到葡萄酒的芳香,而非通常所闻到的缓缓上升的酒精味。乙醇会灼伤您鼻子里的组织,如果您最先接触到了酒精味,则它会扰乱你的嗅觉感受。

波尔多酒杯

勃艮第酒杯

勃艮第酒杯与标准酒杯的不同之处在于,它的杯体更圆更平,边缘也更宽。这种杯子通常用于比较口感精致和气味芳香的葡萄酒,通常是红葡萄酒,如瓦坡里切拉(Valpolicella)、内比奥罗(Nebbiolo)、黑皮诺(Pinot Noir)和勃艮第红葡萄酒,但我本人也喜欢用它们来饮用勃艮第白葡萄酒。

酒杯的设计使得葡萄酒可大面积与氧气接触,释放出复杂的香气。较小的杯口将这些香味全部集中,为饮酒者带来了最佳体验。有些杯子可能会逐渐缩小到一个小杯口,但会留有一个开放处,类似于郁金香杯,其可帮助释放集中的芳香。这些酒杯可名为大勃艮第酒杯(Grand Cru Burgundy glasses)。

勃艮第酒杯

白葡萄酒杯

白葡萄酒酒杯与波尔多酒杯的形状相同,都为“标准型”但其体积和容量更小。这类酒杯适用于各种风格的白葡萄酒,但正如上面提到的,对于更高级的勃艮第白葡萄酒,我更倾向于勃艮第酒杯。

理想情况下,您应该使用较小的白葡萄酒杯,这类酒杯比较大酒杯更能使白葡萄酒保持低温和其酸度。高脚可以防止您触碰杯体,使得酒温升高。尽管葡萄酒的温度很低,但酒杯离你的鼻子更近,因此更容易闻到芳香。随着温度的升高,香味愈加突出。我也钟情于用白葡萄酒杯饮用玫瑰气起泡酒。

白葡萄酒杯

餐后甜酒杯

餐后甜酒杯用于饮用波特酒(Port)、马德拉白葡萄酒(Madeira)、苏玳贵腐酒(Sauterne)和雪利酒(sherry),类似于小型长笛型杯。此类酒杯很小,适合这类餐后甜酒的小容量,并且有一个窄口以防止酒精蒸发。除非您尤其喜欢喝餐后甜酒,否则您可能没有必要专门准备这类酒杯,但这是一项很好的投资,因为标准酒杯实在太大,不适合用于饮用此类甜酒。

餐后甜酒杯

选择一款标准的葡萄酒杯

除非您常喝各种类型的葡萄酒,您可能会想买一套好酒杯,可以用来搭配多种风格的葡萄酒。您选择哪种杯子取决于您喝的最多的酒款、您的预算和你的生活方式等等。水晶酒杯是大多数葡萄酒饮用者的高端选项,但如果您很容易打碎杯子,或者不经常喝高端葡萄酒,买这种酒杯毫无必要。

购买玻璃而非塑料酒杯,塑料并非完全惰性的材料,因此没法提供最佳饮酒体验。水晶酒杯也需手洗,若您不想每次手洗酒杯,那便放弃购买此类酒杯吧。

有几家公司生产通用款酒杯,通用款式,适合大多数葡萄酒。如果您只想买一套,不妨试试这类酒杯。我也喜欢仙粉黛(Zinfandel)酒杯的款式,这是一款不错的标准型多用途酒杯。它的大小、深度等都处于中等范畴。我用此款酒杯来搭配红、白葡萄酒和玫瑰起泡酒。我还用勃艮第酒杯来搭配我的高端芳香型葡萄酒。对于这些葡萄酒来说,我认为购入一款适合您所喝葡萄酒的酒杯非常值得。

选择哪款葡萄酒杯?每一场合的最佳酒杯选项 | 完全指南

正确使用葡萄酒杯

如果您不知道如何正确使用或保养酒杯,那么买一套昂贵的酒杯毫无意义,所以让我们快速回顾一下这方面的一些要点:

  1. 拿酒杯时请勿接触杯体,而应拿起高脚,因此我并不推荐您购买非高脚酒杯,这类酒杯您会接触到它的杯体。
  2. 使用完后立即清洗,杜绝只是冲洗,因为剩余的葡萄酒残留物会影响下杯葡萄酒的风味。
  3. 确保冲洗充分,以除去肥皂残余物。
  4. 高级酒杯请手洗!若是洗碗机洗坏了您的水晶酒杯,那您会伤心欲绝。
  5. 请勿用温度过高的酒杯乘酒。确保你的酒杯处于室温,若房间很热,需把酒杯稍微冷却一下,尤其是当您想要用它饮用冰镇酒款时。如温度太高,用冷水冲洗便可降低温度。

虽然该酒杯及正确使用方法指南并非详尽无遗,但您可通过此份指南了解最适合您需求的酒杯款式以及保养方法。记住,您所购买的酒杯款式首先要符合您的饮酒习惯和预算,所以无需着急购买您能找到的高昂水晶酒杯,若此款酒杯并不适合您的生活方式。祝您选到一对好的酒杯,尽情享受美酒之妙。

Cedar Stoltenow

作者 Cedar Stoltenow

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

发表评论

头像

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

2021年中国葡萄酒市场大趋势

2021年中国葡萄酒市场大趋势

何为超级托斯卡纳葡萄酒?起源及最受欢迎的超级托斯卡纳

何为超级托斯卡纳葡萄酒?

Learn About Winetpl_newsletterWine

Which Wine Glass? Find the perfect glass for every occasion

Choosing wine glasses can be a confusing task due to the sheer number of options available. These days there appears to be a different type of wine glass for every single grape varietal, and many of the glass options appear almost identical. 

But have no fear, we are about to explore the main styles of wine glass, which ones are the ones you really need to have, how to hold your glasses, how to clean your glasses, and generally, how to make the most out of your wine glass options. These are investment pieces and you should choose a type that suits your lifestyle and drinking habits, as well as your budget and available storage space.

Stemless

First of all, let’s address the current trend of stemless glassware – these wine glasses are basically small glass bowls that you hold in your hand, and come in varying sizes. I do not ever recommend stemless glassware because the heat of your hand will change the temperature of the wine, and if you are wearing scented lotion or perfume on your hands or wrists, the aromas will be much too close to your nose and you will be unable to properly smell the wine. If you like the look of stemless glassware, by all means use it, but it is not suitable for serious wine tasting.

Stemless Wine Glass

Sparkling

There are two main types of glass used for sparkling wines – the flute and the coupe. The flute is tall and narrow, while the coupe is flat and shallow. Though the coupe is the traditional glass for serving Champagne and sparkling wines, the flute is actually best suited to the task. The flute concentrates the delicate aromas and the effervescence of these wines in the narrow mouth, right under your nose, whereas the wide, flat surface of the coupe allows the bubbles to escape much faster. The coupe is beautiful for serving Champagne cocktails, but my preference is always for the flute if you want to really appreciate the wine.

Sparkling Wine Glass

Bordeaux

A Bordeaux glass is a large version of what most of us consider to be a typical wine glass – a stemmed glass with a slightly rounded bowl, tapering slightly towards the upper part of the glass. A Bordeaux glass will usually hold 530-620ml (18-21 oz). of liquid, which is on the larger side for wine glasses. The standard wine glass shape allows some oxygen to mix with the wine, releasing aromas and flavors, and the tapered shape focuses and concentrates the aromas under your nose so that they are more readily apparent.

A Bordeaux glass is used for Bordeaux blends, Cabernet Sauvignon, and other highly tannic, bold red wines because the larger bowl holds wine further away from the nose, meaning when you put your nose in the glass you get the aromas and not the ethanol of the often elevated alcohol levels. The ethanol will burn the tissues inside your nose and confuse the aroma receptors if it is the first thing to hit your nose.

Bordeaux Wine Glass

Burgundy

Burgundy glasses differ from standard wine glasses in that the bowl is rounder, but also flatter, and the lip curves in drastically. These glasses are used for more delicate and aromatic wines, generally red wines such as Valpolicella, Nebbiolo, Pinot Noir and Red Burgundy, but I also like to use them for White Burgundies. 

The glass design means the wine has a large surface area, facilitating oxygen contact which will release the complex aromas. The smaller glass opening then concentrates all these aromas and offers the best, most concentrated experience for the consumer. Some glasses may taper to a small opening, but have a lip that opens out, similar to a tulip glass, which is meant to help release the concentrated aromas. These may be known specifically as Grand Cru Burgundy glasses.

Burgundy Wine Glass

White

White wines glasses are made in the same “standard” shape as Bordeaux glasses, but are smaller and hold less liquid. These glasses are suitable for many styles of white wines, but as mentioned above, for higher-level white Burgundy wines, I prefer to use a Burgundy glass.

Ideally you would use the smaller white wine glasses because they maintain the cool temperatures and acidity of white wines better than a larger glass. The stem keeps your hands from touching the glass and warming the wine. The wine is closer to your nose which makes it easier to perceive the aromas, despite the low temperature of the liquid. Aromas become more prominent as the temperature rises. I prefer white glasses for rosé wines as well.

White Wine Glass

Dessert

Dessert wines glasses are used to serve Port, Madeira, Sauternes, and sherry, and resemble smaller flutes. Glasses for dessert wines are small, in keeping with the reduced pour size suitable for these wines, and have a narrow mouth to prevent alcohol evaporation. Unless you drink a lot of dessert wines, it’s probably not necessary to have glasses specifically made for them, but they can be a good investment since standard wine glasses are really too large to properly serve them.

Dessert Wine Glass

Choosing a Standard Wine Glass

Unless you drink copious amounts of wine, of many types, you’ll probably want to invest in a set of good wine glasses that you can use for many styles of wine. Which glasses you choose will depend on what you drink the most, your budget, your lifestyle, etc. Crystal glasses are the high-end choice for most wine drinkers, but if you break glasses easily or do not often drink high-end wines, these are probably not necessary. 

Do purchase glass, not plastic, as plastic is not completely inert and will not offer the best wine-drinking experience. Crystal glasses will also need to be handwashed, so do not buy them if you are not willing to handwash them every time.

There are several companies that make universal wine glasses, which is a generic style meant to suit the majority of wines. If you only want to buy one set, this can be a very good option. I also like the Zinfandel style as a good standard glass. It is of medium size, depth, etc. I use Zinfandel glasses as a good all-purpose style for reds, whites, and rosés, and then also have some Burgundy glasses for my high-end aromatic wines. For these wines, I think it’s really worthwhile to have a glass adapted to what you’re drinking.

Wine Glasses Guide

Proper Use of Wine Glasses

There is no point in buying a set of costly wine glasses if you don’t know how to properly use or care for them, so let’s review quickly some of those important points:

  1. Do not hold your wine glass by the bowl, take it by the stem. For the same reason I don’t recommend stemless glassware, do not hold your glass by the bowl.
  2. Always wash your glasses after use. Do not just rinse them, the wine will leave a residue that could affect the taste of the next wine you put in the glass.
  3. Make sure you rinse the glasses well to remove any soap residue.
  4. Handwash your best glasses! Imagine how sad you will be when the dishwasher ruins your best crystal glasses.
  5. Do not put wine into hot glasses. Try to make sure your glasses are room temperature, or cool them down slightly if the room is very warm, especially if you are serving chilled wine. Rinsing the glasses in cool water can bring the temperature down if it is too high.

While this is by no means an exhaustive list of wine glass styles or their proper usage, this should help you figure out which type(s) of glasses will best suit your needs and how to maintain the ones you buy. Remember that the exact type of glasses you buy will need to fit your drinking habits and budget above all else, so don’t rush out to buy the most expensive crystal glasses you can find if they will not work for your lifestyle. Best of luck in choosing your next set of glasses, and cheers to many years of drinking pleasure!

Cedar Stoltenow

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Close
Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends, plus special offers and invitations to MasterClasses.