何为超级托斯卡纳葡萄酒?

何为超级托斯卡纳葡萄酒?起源及最受欢迎的超级托斯卡纳

作为托斯卡纳葡萄酒中的另类,超级托斯卡纳通常是指在托斯卡纳用赤霞珠、品丽珠或美乐等国际葡萄品种,而非传统托斯卡纳葡萄品种桑娇维塞酿制而成的葡萄酒。上述葡萄酒的酿酒葡萄可能含有桑娇维塞,但通常这并不是用于混酿的主要葡萄品种。

这些风格大胆的混酿葡萄酒曾一度沦为“佐餐葡萄酒”,如今却价格高昂,深受世界各地葡萄酒爱好者的喜爱。也许有人会问,究竟为何如此?让我们来一一揭秘!

起源

何为超级托斯卡纳葡萄酒?起源及最受欢迎的超级托斯卡纳
Bolgheri Wine Region, Tuscany

故事要从马里奥侯爵(Mario Incisa della Rocchetta)开始说起,他是一位农学家。第二次世界大战结束后,马里奥侯爵和妻子克拉丽斯离开罗马,接管并重建了其妻子家族位于托斯卡纳的圣圭托酒庄。作为一个专心致志且颇具远见的农业发展学家,马里奥决定在庄园中建立葡萄园,但并不种植传统的托斯卡纳葡萄品种桑娇维塞,他坚信周边地区可使用赤霞珠和品丽珠等波尔多葡萄品种酿造出优质葡萄酒。

其首瓶波尔多葡萄酒于1945年出产,但直到1968年才推出第一款葡萄酒商品。此款葡萄酒由85%的赤霞珠和5%的品丽珠酿制而成,被称为“西施佳雅”,如今已成为世界上最受欢迎的优质葡萄酒之一。

为何称为“超级托斯卡纳”?

由于西施佳雅及随后几年生产的类似葡萄酒皆非由意大利本土葡萄酿造而成,因而此类葡萄酒不符合任何现有的葡萄酒等级分类,只能以最低等级“餐酒”出售。

尽管如此,在其首次上市10年后,1972年份的西施佳雅在《品醇客》杂志举办的葡萄酒大赛中击败其他33位竞争者,成为世界最佳波尔多混酿葡萄酒。与此同时,其他生产商开始注意到圣圭托酒庄通过这些法国葡萄大有所获,并开始跟风酿造此类葡萄酒。1974年,安蒂诺里酒庄的首款天娜露葡萄酒上市,成为另一款享誉国际的葡萄酒。这些托斯卡纳葡萄酒中的佼佼者开始被誉为超级托斯卡纳。

尽管如此,这些葡萄酒在意大利葡萄酒分级制度中并无法定名称或地位。直至1992年,地区餐酒(IGT)级别建立后,这些葡萄酒才摆脱餐酒标签,地位开始上升。如今,托斯卡纳地区的宝格利法定产区和玛尔玛托斯卡纳法定产区都允许使用国际葡萄品种酿造葡萄酒。西施佳雅甚至拥有自己独一无二的产区,名为宝格利西施佳雅法定产区!

何为超级托斯卡纳葡萄酒?起源及最受欢迎的超级托斯卡纳
Tuscany Wine Map

现代超级托斯卡纳

如今,许多托斯卡纳生产商都推出了自己的超级托斯卡纳混酿酒,已成为世界上最受欢迎和喜爱的葡萄酒之一。许多混酿酒中融合了波尔多品种与桑娇维塞或西拉,已成为真正独一无二的葡萄酒。这些葡萄酒的陈年潜力极佳,年轻时酒体饱满,单宁浓郁,但随着陈年时间的增长,逐渐熟成为口感浓郁、圆润、芳香迷人的葡萄酒。

这些葡萄酒散发成熟黑色和红色水果的风味,并伴有香草、烟草、雪松、焦糖、烘焙香料和干花的香气。每一款葡萄酒的独特口味取决于混酿采用的具体葡萄品种,但绝佳葡萄酒拥有清爽酸度和来自海岸附近多石葡萄园的淳朴矿物风味。

最受欢迎的超级托斯卡纳

何为超级托斯卡纳葡萄酒?起源及最受欢迎的超级托斯卡纳

由于此种葡萄酒大获成功且深受饮酒者喜爱,许多托斯卡纳生产商开始酿造自己的混酿酒,并获得了国际认可。这些特酿葡萄酒并非按照通常的意大利习惯,以产地或主要酿酒葡萄的名字来命名,而是被冠以独具特色的美妙名字。以下列出了部分最受欢迎的超级托斯卡纳:

  • 圣圭托酒庄西施佳雅
  • 花思蝶酒庄奥纳亚
  • 安蒂诺里酒庄索拉亚
  • 布比耶酒庄Saffredi
  • 嘉雅酒庄歌玛达园
  • 安蒂诺里酒庄天娜露
  • 麓鹊酒庄Luce
  • 科里玛莎丽酒庄格拉达马克
Banfi Centine Toscana IGT

如果你想领略超级托斯卡纳的风味,但又对其高价望而却步,班菲酒庄的仙庭托斯卡纳红葡萄酒乃推荐佳品。此款葡萄酒由桑娇维塞、美乐和赤霞珠混酿而成,风味成熟且酒款多样,完美展示了此地区的特色与风格。

结语

超级托斯卡纳在过去50年中发展迅速,从无等级的地区餐酒发展为深受众多收藏家喜爱的顶级葡萄酒。因其具有丰富复杂的特性和良好的陈年潜力,其高端品质可与最佳波尔多和巴罗洛酒庄出产的葡萄酒相媲美。

从未尝试过超级托斯卡纳的葡萄酒爱好者,绝对不可错过其绝妙风味!许多赫赫有名的酒庄都生产超级托斯卡纳的同款副牌酒或三牌酒,价格适中。这是一款所有人都会爱上的葡萄酒!

Cedar Stoltenow

作者 Cedar Stoltenow

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

发表评论

头像

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

选择哪款葡萄酒杯?每一场合的最佳酒杯选项 | 完全指南

选择哪款葡萄酒杯?每一场合的最佳酒杯选项

New World Wine Brand Hardys Year of the Ox Special Edition Gift Box. Credit: Hardys

在中国市场脱颖而出的8个葡萄酒包装秘籍

What is a Super Tuscan Wine?

What Are Super Tuscan Wines? Origins and Most Popular Super Tuscans

Known as the rebels of Tuscany, Super Tuscan wines are generally considered to be wines that are made in Tuscany with international grape varietals, such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, or Merlot, rather than the traditional Tuscan grape, Sangiovese. These wines may include some Sangiovese but this is not normally the main grape in the blend. 

Once relegated to “table wine” status, these bold blends now command high prices and are popular with wine lovers around the world. How did all this happen, you ask? Let’s find out!

Origin

What Are Super Tuscan Wines? Origins and Most Popular Super Tuscans
Bolgheri Wine Region, Tuscany

The story really begins with one man, Mario Incisa della Rocchetta, an agronomist. Following the Second World War, he and his wife Clarice left Rome to take over and rebuild her family estate of Tenuta San Guido, located in Tuscany. Being a dedicated and visionary agricultural developer, Mario decided to develop vineyards on the estate, but rather than using the traditional Tuscan grape, Sangiovese, he became convinced that the surrounding region could produce high quality wines from the Bordeaux varietals, such as Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc.

His first Bordeaux-style wine was bottled in 1945, but it wasn’t until 1968 that the first commercial vintage was released. Made from 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Cabernet Franc, the wine was called “Sassicaia”, and is now one of the world’s most sought-after premium wines.

Why “Super Tuscan”?

Because Sassicaia, and similar wines made in the following years, were not made with indigenous Italian grapes, the wines did not fit into any existing classification and could only be sold under the lowest classification as “Vino da Tavola”, or table wine. 

Despite this, 10 years after the first release, the 1972 vintage of Sassicaia beat 33 other competitors in a Decanter magazine competition to find the world’s best Bordeaux blends. Meanwhile, other producers had begun noting the success of Tenuta San Guido with these French grapes, and had started creating their own wines. In 1974, the first vintage of Antinori’s Tignanello, another wine that has gone on to international fame, was released. These superstars of Tuscany started to become known as Super Tuscans.

Still, these wines had no legal appellation or status within the Italian wine classification system. It wasn’t until 1992 that the IGT (Indicazione Geografica Tipica) classification was created, allowing these wines to move up from table wine status. And today both the Bolgheri DOC and Maremma Toscana DOC appellations within Tuscany allow for the use of international varietals in their wines. Sassicaia even has its own appellation, called Bolgheri Sassicaia DOC!

Tuscany Wine Map
Tuscany Wine Map

The Modern Super Tuscan

Today, many producers in Tuscany have their own version of Super Tuscan blends, and these are some of the most popular and sought-after wines in the world. Many of these blends incorporate Bordeaux varietals with Sangiovese or even with Syrah, making them truly one of a kind. They have fantastic ageing potential, full-bodied and tannic in their youth but maturing to rich, rounded, intoxicating wines with time in the cellar.

The wines have ripe black and red fruit flavors, with touches of vanilla, tobacco, cedar, caramel, baking spice, and dried flowers. The exact flavor profile of each wine will depend on the grapes that went into that particular blend, but the best also have refreshing acidity and an underlying minerality from stony vineyards close to the coast.

Most Popular Super Tuscans

What Are Super Tuscan Wines? Origins and Most Popular Super Tuscans

Due to the success and popularity of this wine style, many producers in Tuscany have started making their own blends, which have gained international recognition. Their cuvées were often given fantasy names, rather than following the usual Italian convention of naming a wine after the region in which it was produced, or after the main grapes used in it. Some of the most popular are listed here:

  • Sassicaia by Tenuta San Guido
  • Ornellaia by Frescobaldi
  • Solaia by Antinori
  • Saffredi by Fattoria Le Pupille
  • Ca’Marcanda by Gaja
  • Tignanello by Antinori
  • Luce by Luce della Vite
  • Grattamaco by ColleMassari
Banfi Centine Tuscan Red

If you are interested in exploring the Super Tuscan style without committing to the high prices these wines can command, I highly recommend Banfi Centine Tuscan Red. A blend of Sangiovese, Merlot, and Cabernet Sauvignon, this ripe and versatile wine is a perfect introduction to the region and style.

Conclusion

Super Tuscans have developed rapidly over the past 50 years, going from unclassified, regional wines to super-premium status, sought by many collectors. Their rich and complex profile, along with their ageing potential, make them serious wines, capable of standing alongside the best Bordeaux and Barolo producers. 

If you have never tried a Super Tuscan, be sure to pick one up and give it a try. Many of the most famous producers make second- or even third-label wines in the same style but at much more affordable prices. This could be your next favorite wine!

Cedar Stoltenow

Written by Cedar Stoltenow

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

Leave a Reply

Avatar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Which Wine Glass? Find the perfect glass for every occasion

Which Wine Glass? Find the perfect glass for every occasion

New World Wine Brand Hardys Year of the Ox Special Edition Gift Box. Credit: Hardys

8 Ways to Make Your Wine Packaging Stand Out in the Chinese Market