tpl_newsletterWine

新冠病毒如何影响2020年份的葡萄酒——国家概况

众所周知,目前新冠病毒正席卷全球,这对整体葡萄酒贸易产生了巨大的消极影响。酒吧、餐厅纷纷关张大吉,大多消费者也面临囊中羞涩的状况,较预计营收来看,无数厂商损失高达50%,甚至更多。旅行禁令、禁止入境,航运物流也因此变得极其复杂。由于执行隔离、封锁以及其他安全措施,葡萄酒厂商因此无法正常运营。

然而,在每个人都有充分理由担心当前影响的同时,思考目前状况将如何对2020年份葡萄酒产生影响这一问题也至关重要。此时,南半球的葡萄酒生产商正值收获季中期,而北半球春天的刚刚开始,葡萄园里工作繁多,许多工作等待处理,形势已刻不容缓。现在完成的工作量将直接影响葡萄收成及葡萄酒产量,随后在今年晚些时候将影响欧洲及美国的葡萄酒质量。

我们将为您介绍全球几大主要葡萄酒产区的概况,以及目前新冠病毒正在对2020年份葡萄酒相关工作产生的影响。

意大利

目前意大利新冠病毒死亡人数记录引发了全球担忧,国家已处于严密封锁状态近一个月。随着葡萄树发芽、葡萄园的工作需要进行,所有这一切将变得越来越重要。

到目前为止,葡萄生产商表示他们将继续运营,但会减小规模。酿酒厂和葡萄园的工人是必不可少的,他们可以继续工作,但必须遵守安全预防措施,并尽可能避免相互交流。

随着病例数量的持续攀升,若是熟手们生病,却找不到替代人选,酿酒厂可能会面临难题。由于旅行限令和禁止入境的政策,这些酒厂也将无法像往常在种植和收获季节那样,聘请外国工人和酿酒师来作为帮手。

https://www.facebook.com/TenutaTalamonti/videos/235455937843427/
Rodrigo Redmont, owner of Talamonti winery.

法国

尽管目前病毒还没有广泛传播,但法国的情况与意大利大致相同。各大葡萄酒产区的酿酒厂仍继续保持运营,但产量有所下降,并采取了严格的安全措施。

随着季节的推移,若工人生病,法国各大酒庄将不能承担相应的后果,因此,对葡萄园的密切关注也变得越来越重要。目前,工作仍在继续,但生厂商将确保其员工单独工作,以免他们在工作量增加的情况下生病。尤其值得注意的是法国东部,比如阿尔萨斯,该地区的新冠病例已升至惊人数量,可能导致更为严格的商业运营限制。

新西兰

新冠病毒如何影响2020年份的葡萄酒——国家概况
Day 1 of Covid 19 lockdown in Martinborough, New Zealand

与此同时,南半球正值如火如荼的收获季。除公民和永久居民外,新西兰已限制其他所有人入境。许多新西兰酿酒厂,尤其是那些生产量巨大的酿酒厂,其无法雇佣通常能在收获季节提供帮助的许多外国工人。劳动力不足必然会导致产量下降,也极可能影响今年酿造的葡萄酒品质。

更糟糕的是,葡萄酒并为列为重要产业,这也就意味着在一年中其最为繁忙的季节,各大酿酒厂将面临诸多运营限制。在次此外紧要关头,由于资源及劳动力不足,对新西兰的葡萄酒产业而言,2020年将是困难重重的年份。

阿根廷

目前,南非还未受冠状病毒的全面影响。但病例数目仍在增长。此外,在一些医疗条件本就落后的地区,若新冠病毒疫情加重,局势将难以掌控。

目前酿酒厂正值收获中期,我们希望在新冠病毒全面爆发之前,所有工作可全部完成。若收获季未结束,新冠病例数量攀升或成为灾难。酿酒厂在收获季节夜以继日地不停工作,并雇佣额外的员工来处理工作,若工人生病或需要照顾家人,收获季节将面临挑战,将葡萄酒安全且准时地移送至酿酒罐或橡木桶中也将十分艰难。

加利福尼亚

加州葡萄酒业似乎已经做好了应对冠状病毒疫情的准备,几乎没有持续的问题,至少就2020年份的葡萄酒确实如此。酿酒厂的品酒室宣布对外关闭,但酿酒厂和现场的工作是必不可少的,因此可以继续进行。

尽管加州的冠状病毒病例数量持续上升,但到目前为止,主要的葡萄酒产区并未受到太大影响。在很早之前,加州便在全州范围内实施了严格的社交距离方案,再者,加州城市地区的人口密度也没有纽约那么高,而美国大部分冠状病毒死亡病例源于纽约。预计在未来10天内,美国将迎来冠状病毒疫情的高峰期,因此,在对加州2020年份葡萄酒未产生显著影响时,病毒便将离去。

2020年各国的葡萄酒情况各不相同

新冠病毒如何影响2020年份的葡萄酒——国家概况

总体来看,冠状病毒疫情对全球各国2020年份葡萄酒的影响不尽相同。如同生活中的大多数方面,病毒到达的时间和政府采取的应对措施将影响各国受冠状病毒侵袭的后果,以及病毒接触者的数量或由此无法继续工作的人群数量。

与北半球相比,南半球今年可能遇到的问题更多,因为他们目前正处于收获的中期,这是今年最为关键的节点,尤其是在受到严格限制的情况下。

在北半球,欧洲受到的打击比美国更早,也更严重。欧洲的行动限制将会持续多久?这一点还有待观察。美国的人口更为分散,尤其是加利福尼亚州,由于在早期便采取了安全措施,其似乎处于乐观态势,可以相对无损地度过新冠病毒疫情期。

由于销售量减少、旅游行业受到重创而导致的金融危机将变得十分棘手,但我们希望这次危机不会直接影响到2020年的葡萄收成和葡萄酒的质量。与此同时,尽您所能支持您喜爱的各大酒庄,一些酒庄会为居家隔离的朋友们提供各种各样的虚拟和在线品酒会,您也可以在此时期尽情享受。

Cedar Stoltenow

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

相关文章

One Comment

  1. 想知道隨著不能延後的的季節工作與收成vs.銳減的工人數量下,將怎麼運作 ><""
    例如收成但無法進入精釀階段的葡萄…?
    或是葡萄酒釀成卻滯銷等的問題…?
    這麼艱辛的時節,大家都辛苦了!!

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Back to top button
newsletter-signup-img.jpeg
接收最新消息

订阅我们的时事通讯

注册即可获得最新的葡萄酒新闻和小窍门,以及特别优惠和大师课程邀请。

EN
Home » How Covid-19 Will Affect the 2020 Vintage – Overview by Country

How Covid-19 Will Affect the 2020 Vintage – Overview by Country

It’s no secret that the Coronavirus pandemic which is currently sweeping the globe has had a massively negative impact on the wine trade in general. With bars and restaurants closed, and many consumers concerned about money, many producers are losing 50% or more of their expected revenue. Travel bans and borders closures have made shipping logistics extremely complicated. Quarantines, lockdowns, and other security measures make it impossible for wine producers to operate normally.

But, while everyone is quite rightly concerned about the immediate impact, it’s also important to consider how the current situation will impact wine production for the 2020 vintage. Right now, wine producers in the Southern Hemisphere are in the middle of harvest, while Spring is just kicking off in the Northern Hemisphere and there is work to do in the vineyards that won’t wait. The work done now will directly impact the harvest and wine production, and thus the wine quality for Europe and the US later in the year.

Let’s take a look at some of the biggest wine producing regions of the world, and the impact of COVID-19 on the 2020 vintage work going on there now.

Italy

Italy currently holds the extremely concerning record for number of COVID-19 deaths in the world, and has been under a tight lockdown for nearly a month. All this, as the vines are budding and work in the vineyard becomes more and more important. 

So far, winemakers say they continue to operate on a reduced scale. Winery and vineyard workers are considered essential, and are allowed to continue operations, but they must observe safety precautions and avoid interaction as much as possible. 

As the number of cases continues to climb, wineries may have problems if their skilled staff fall ill and cannot be replaced. Travel restrictions and border closures mean that they will also be unable to bring in foreign workers and winemakers to help, as is usual during the growing and harvest seasons.

Talamonti stands by you

As COVID-19 spreads around the world, now is the time to Celebrate Life! Talamonti stands by you during this challenging moment.

Posted by Talamonti on Tuesday, 24 March 2020
Rodrigo Redmont, owner of Talamonti winery.

France

In France, the situation is much the same as in Italy, though for the moment the virus has not spread as widely. Wineries continue to operate in the major wine producing regions, but with reduced capacity and strict safety measures in place.

French estates cannot afford to have their workers fall sick as the season goes on, and as close attention to the vineyards becomes increasingly important. For the moment, work continues, but producers are making sure to keep their staff separated so they do not risk them becoming ill as the workload increases. The east of France in particular, such as Alsace, has seen an alarming number of cases which could well lead to tighter restrictions on business operations.

New Zealand

Day 1 of Covid 19 lockdown in Martinborough, New Zealand

In the Southern Hemisphere meanwhile, the harvest is in full swing. New Zealand has closed its borders to everyone other than citizens and permanent residents. Many New Zealand wineries, especially those with a large production capacity, are unable to bring in the many foreign workers they would normally expect to help them through harvest. This lack of manpower will certainly be felt in both the quantity, and quite possibly quality, of the wines produced this year.

Even worse, wineries are not considered to be essential businesses, which means they are subject to many operating restrictions during their busiest time of year. New Zealand could find 2020 to be an extremely difficult vintage due to a lack of resources and manpower at a very crucial moment.

Argentina

For the moment, South America has not yet experienced the full impact of coronavirus. But cases are increasing, and in a region which already struggles with healthcare, a severe outbreak will be very difficult to handle.

Wineries are in the middle of harvest right now, and hopefully they will be able to finish before a full outbreak takes off. If the harvest is not finished, a big rise in cases would be a disaster. Wineries work round the clock during harvest, and take on extra staff to handle the work – if workers are out sick or home caring for family, it will be very difficult to bring in the harvest and get all the wine safely into tank or barrel in time.

California

The California wine industry seems poised to come out of the coronavirus pandemic with very few lasting issues, at least concerning the 2020 vintage. Tasting rooms at wineries are closed to the public, but winery and field work is considered essential business and is allowed to continue. 

Though the number of coronavirus cases in California continues to rise, the main wine growing regions have not been greatly affected so far. California implemented strict social distancing protocols across the state quite early on, and urban areas are not as densely populated as New York City, where the majority of US coronavirus deaths have taken place. With the peak of the pandemic in the US expected to arrive within the next 10 days, it seems likely that the virus will pass without significant effect on the 2020 vintage in California.

Vintage 2020 will be a mixed bag

Overall, it looks like the effects of the coronavirus pandemic on the 2020 vintage will vary across the world. As is the case for most aspects of life, the timing of both the virus’ arrival and the government measures taken in response will affect how badly the country suffers and how many people contract the virus or are otherwise unable to work. 

The Southern Hemisphere could experience more issues with this vintage than the Northern Hemisphere, since they are currently in the middle of harvest, one of the most crucial points of the vintage, and are under severe restrictions.

In the Northern Hemisphere, Europe was hit earlier and harder than the United States, and it remains to be seen how long restrictions on movement there will last. The United States, where people are more spread out, and California in particular, with early safety measures taken, appears to be in a good position to come out of the pandemic relatively unscathed.

The financial crises due to loss of sales and tourism revenue will be hard to handle, but hopefully will not directly affect the 2020 harvest and quality of the wines produced. In the meantime, support your favorite wineries as best you can, and enjoy many of the virtual and online tastings that wineries are producing for those stuck at home.

Cedar

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

1 comment

  • Challenging time, indeed. It looks like it may take a while for us to get back to where we were. Until then, my hopes are high that we’ll get through this. Cheers!

Get it first!

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends in Asia, plus special offers and wine tasting invitations.
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

Join the New Wine & Spirits Lovers Community in Asia.