如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

葡萄酒品鉴 – 对很多人来说,这是项神奇的能力,即在葡萄酒中探索大多数人无法辨别的香味及风味。另一些人则嗤之以鼻,认为这是爱卖弄学问的酒客们异想天开的表现,或是作为保持葡萄酒鉴赏领域中精英们声誉的一种方式。但两者兼不是。葡萄酒品鉴是项由艺术、科学融合而成的技能,跟任何技能一样,您也可以通过学习、练习进行提升。掌握这门技艺需要时间,但一旦您学会了这项技能,便会为您的品鉴之路增添一个全新的层面,同时大大丰富您的葡萄酒鉴赏历程。那么,该如何学习这门技巧呢?

了解葡萄酒品鉴的组成

葡萄酒品鉴由三大部分组成。我们所说的品鉴即对葡萄酒进行分析评估,以确定其质量、产地、类型和陈年潜力。

1. 外观 – 葡萄酒品鉴的第一部分其实就是观察葡萄酒的外观。它是朦胧,酒色不足,满是沉淀,还是清澈的呢?葡萄酒的外观可以反映出葡萄酒可能存在的缺点,也能让我们了解手中葡萄酒的类型和年份。

如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

2. 气味 – 葡萄酒品鉴的第二步仍非品尝。嗅觉,是与味觉联系最为紧密的人类感觉。了解葡萄酒的气味也能提醒我们葡萄酒可能存在的问题。还能提供与葡萄酒酿造工艺有关的线索、所用的葡萄品种、葡萄酒的生产国以及最终葡萄酒在您口腔中释放的风味。

如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

3. 口感 – 最后便是“葡萄酒品鉴”中真正品尝的部分。 最后一步便是将从这三种感觉中得知的信息结合起来,得出最终的评价。这款葡萄酒是什么类型?它产自哪里?它是什么年份的?它的品质如何?它是否存在问题呢?

如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

当然,我们的评价会带些主观性,比如说我们认为这款葡萄酒的品质如何之类的。而使用分析方法品鉴葡萄酒有助于得出更为客观的评价。在盲品的情况下,我们需要弄清楚这是哪款葡萄酒,而分析方法也可以帮助我们缩小可能的范围。

练习葡萄酒品鉴

与所有技能类似,想要成为一名优秀的品鉴家也需熟能生巧。在很大程度上,这是因为您需要品尝大量的葡萄酒,以便在头脑中形成一个衡量或评分的系统。经验丰富的品鉴家已品尝过成百上千瓶葡萄酒,当品尝一瓶新的葡萄酒时,他们可以在脑海中将其与其他的葡萄酒进行比较,选出相似性,并根据相似性得出有关当下品尝的葡萄酒的线索。

您可以尝试用以下方法进行练习。也请记住细细品尝不代表大饮特饮。大多数专业人士吐出的口水远比品尝的葡萄酒多得多,因为即便酒精度很低也会影响您的感觉。

1. 与朋友共同品鉴。约上三五好友,开几瓶葡萄酒,一起品尝,一起聊聊互相的看法。这会帮助您调整自身的感觉,因为您的一些朋友可能会提出您不曾提出过的见地。

如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

2. 把控好种类。品鉴由同一葡萄品种酿造的但来自不同葡萄园的同年份葡萄酒。品鉴由同一葡萄品种酿造的但来自全球各个产区的葡萄酒。品鉴来自同一葡萄园但年份不同的葡萄酒。这会帮助您真正找准特定因素产生的差异。

如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

3. 参加一门课程。市面上有许多有关葡萄酒证书的课程,或是为葡萄酒爱好者开设的兴趣课程。参加一门课程,您会形成一个扎实的框架,这样您在练习中才能有所提升。

如何掌握葡萄酒品鉴

开发味觉与词汇

用具体词汇描述您所品尝到的口感、嗅到的气味以及看到的外观,这一点至关重要。若您不知道您感受到的是什么或无法用语言进行描述,那么一切皆是徒劳。

试着通过接触各种各样的气味和口感,以开发您的嗅觉和味觉。准备好香料、水果、鲜花、石头等,试着熟悉每一种气味与口感。学习相关词汇来描述您的感受。

阅读。大量阅读。阅读品酒笔记和葡萄酒评论,了解人们如何谈论葡萄酒,以及他们用什么样的词汇来描述不同的概念。这并非表示您得使用完全一样的词汇,但词汇会帮您传达您的感受。

停止思来想去,立即行动

学会品酒最为重要的一点便是迈开步,开始做。品尝、谈论、分享您的感受、从经验丰富的品鉴家处学习更多知识。就葡萄酒而言,最好的学习办法便是立即着手,开启这段旅程。

您的看法是?

Cedar

作者 Cedar

西达·司徒特劳位于芝加哥,是一位葡萄酒作家兼顾问,她对所有食物的热爱使她在科技行业呆了一段时间后,又回到了葡萄酒行业。她特别关注的是,如何让消费者更容易获得葡萄酒,以及培养消费者对小众葡萄酒品种的兴趣。西达目前从事葡萄酒零售工作,写作葡萄酒的资讯文章,以及为小酒庄品牌发展提供咨询。

Jeden komentarz

Leave a Reply

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Loading…

0
意大利陳醋脆果肉

意大利陳醋脆果肉

黑松露焗鸡

黑松露焗鸡

EN
Home » How to Master Wine Tasting

How to Master Wine Tasting

How to Master Wine Tasting | Taste Wine Like a Pro

Wine tasting – To many, it seems like a magical capacity to find aromas and flavors in wine that are indiscernible to most people. Others dismiss it as the overactive imagination of pedantic wine aficionados, or as a way to maintain the elitist reputation of wine appreciation. But it is neither.

Part art, part science, wine tasting is a skill that can be learned and practiced and improved, like any skill. It takes time to acquire it, but once learned this skill can add a completely new dimension to your tasting experience and greatly enrich your appreciation of wine. So how do we learn this?

Understand the Components of Wine Tasting

There are 3 main components of tasting wine. And by tasting we mean analytically assessing a wine to determine its quality, provenance, type, and aging potential.

1. Sight – the first part of wine tasting is actually just looking at the wine. Is it hazy, clear, discolored, filled with sediment? How the wine looks can indicate possible faults in the wine, and also give us an idea of what type of wine we have and how old it is.

2. Smell – the second part of wine tasting is also not tasting. It is the smell, the human sense most closely linked to taste. Smelling the wine can, again, alert us to possible problems with the wine. It can also give us clues as to the winemaking process, the type of grape used, which country the wine comes from, and what the wine is going to taste like when you finally put it in your mouth.

3. Taste – finally we come to the actual tasting portion of our “wine tasting.” This last part is where we put together the information from the three senses we have used to make our final assessment of the wine. What type is it? Where did it come from? How old is it? How good is it? Is there anything wrong with it?

While some of our assessments will, of course, be subjective, such as how good we think the wine is, using an analytical approach to wine tasting will help us to be more objective in our assessment. It will also help us to narrow down the possibilities if we are blind tasting and we need to figure out what the wine is.

Practice Wine Tasting

Like all skills, becoming a good taster takes practice. A large part of this is because you need to taste a lot of wine to develop a scale or ranking system in your head. An experienced taster has tasted hundreds and thousands of bottles of wine, and when they taste a new wine, they are able to mentally compare it to many other wines and pick out the similarities which will give them clues about the wine they are currently tasting. 

To practice, try some of the following methods. And don’t forget that tasting does not have to mean drinking. Most professionals spit far more than they drink, as even a little bit of alcohol will affect your senses.

1. Taste with friends. Get together some friends, open a few bottles of wine, taste them, and talk about what you experience. This will help you calibrate your senses, and your friends may have some insights that you did not have.

2. Control your variables. Taste many wines with the same grape and same year, but from different vineyards. Taste wines made from the same grape grown in different regions of the world. Taste wines from the same vineyard but different years. This will help you really pinpoint the differences that come from specific factors.

3. Join a class. There are many wine certifications available, or even just hobby classes for wine lovers. A class will give you a solid framework to move forward in your practice.

Develop Your Palate and Your Vocabulary

Naming what you taste, smell, and see is very important, and it’s impossible to do that if you don’t know what you are sensing or don’t have the words to explain it.

Try to develop your nose and palate by exposing yourself to many, many smells and tastes. Get spices, fruit, flowers, rocks, etc. and try to familiarize yourself with the smells and tastes of each. Learn to put names to what you experience.

Read. Read a lot. Read tasting notes and wine reviews and learn about how people talk about wine and what kind of vocabulary they use to talk about different concepts. This doesn’t mean you have to use exactly the same words, but it will help you communicate your own impressions.

Do, Don’t Try

The most important takeaway for mastering wine tasting is just getting out there and do it. Taste wine. Talk about wine. Share your impressions. Learn from more experienced tasters. With wine, the best way to learn is to just start doing.

Cedar

Cedar is a Chicago-based wine writer/consultant whose love of all things edible brought her back to wine after a brief stint in the tech industry. Her particular focus is on making wine more accessible to consumers and developing interest in lesser known varietals. Cedar currently works in wine retail, as well as writing informational wine articles and consulting on brand development for small producers.

1 comment

Get it first!

Sign up to receive the latest wine news & trends in Asia, plus special offers and wine tasting invitations.
|en_USid_IDjako_KRthvizh_CN

Cellar & Friends

Join the New Wine & Spirits Lovers Community in Asia.